We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, quiet, nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3535 Janes Rd., Arcata, CA 95521   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Port Hadlock, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, quiet, nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Very clean, comfy rooms, mattress very firm but comfortable. Nice linens. Off the highway so quiet. Friendly staff, easy to get to. Next door to a really good Mexican restaurant. Well worth the reasonable price. Would definitely stay there again without hesitation. Decent Continental breakfast with juices, toast, English muffins, waffles, fruit, hard boiled eggs, yogurt. Only disturbing feature was that back entry doors were not locked. Anyone off the street could come into the hotel. They even warn you not to open your door unless you know who it is. Why on earth would they not have security entrance requiring your room card to get in?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    48
    33
    15
    7
See reviews for
33
37
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

First of all, please note, if you are the least bit allergic to pets DO Not stay here. The first thing I encountered when I entered the lobby to check in was a cat crawling around on the sofa near the front desk. I love cats but I'm also so allergic to them. The next morning the cats were in the breakfast room. Anyway, that aside let's talk about the hotel itself. The rooms were clean but very run down looking. The TV in the first room was an old analog that would have been in it's prime during the Nixon administration. The curtains in both rooms were more like worn out rags poorly hanging over the windows. The windows were filthy and crusted by salt water fog. Room 232 was a 'deluxe' room, which meant it did have a flat screen TV and an ugly but very comfy lounge chair. Most importantly the 'deluxe' room had a micro/fridge. The shower in the standard room had poor water pressure vs. the one in the 'deluxe' room that had a great hand held shower device and good pressure. Suffice it to say if you must stay here, pony up for a deluxe. The hotel does have a swimming pool outdoors and an adjacent tennis court both of which are shared with the trailer park next door.
All in all this is an OK place to flop for one night but their rates reflect what should be a better kept property.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

THIN walls. Spotty wifi. Mirror in 112 hung with many extra holes in wall. Faucet made lots of noise and sprayed a huge circle. Shower curtain holder coming out of wall on both ends. Bath tub took way too long to fill. The swimming pool and hot tub was shared with a RV park. Hot tub empty one of two days after being serviced . Room was clean. Bed mattress was 5 on scale of ten. Breakfast was not bad.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This was our second stay at this motel. We have always gotten very friendly service. They are very laid back, with a cat in the lobby (since we are not allergic, it was not a concern). We did not need to use the pool or tennis courts. They did not have a problem with our request to be downstairs by an exit and a room with a microwave/refrigerator. They are also very close to the beach, so I could take my service dog to run early in the a.m. and get on with our day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

My husband and I are allergic to cats and dogs so worried about staying here. No other place had rooms so we decided it couldn't be that bad. Well, our allergies were fine. And we had a very pleasant stay--and fast wireless. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Not the newest hotel in the area, but they were so friendly when we arrived and the breakfast was great! They accept pets, so that made us happy. If you want great service at a decent price, try this place out!

Room Tip: Call them yourself and chat with the ladies on staff, you will get a great deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

No major complaints except that their advertised "high speed internet" had such a weak signal that it was useless for my basic work needs. When I called the front desk to complain, I was told that everything was locked in the office and the front desk had no access to the router/modem until the morning. This apparently is a frequent complaint: in the morning the clerk said she would write "another note to the owner about this" because usually a reset didn't help anyway.

Don't stay here if you expect to get any computer work done. I was very frustrated and not offered any compensation for an unproductive night. So between that and the poor night's sleep I got on the overly-firm mattress, I left an unhappy customer.

On the upside, if you're in the area, try the wonderful family run Greek restaurant in the shopping center across the street from this place!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 3535 Janes Rd., Arcata, CA 95521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Arcata
Quality Inn Arcata
Arcata Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.