We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but some issues.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Arcata Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Arcata Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Arcata Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   4827 Valley W Blvd, Arcata, CA 95521   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Not bad, but some issues.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed at this motel for one night. It is the older style of lodging where the guest drives up and parks in front of their room. The hotel is close to the highway, and close to food and the university. The rooms are redone: new flat screen TV, new bed, new shower, coffee maker, microwave, and small fridge. The rooms are clean. They serve a continental breakfast. It is basic, but satisfactory.

The down side was that the internet was not working. An effort was made to fix it but they were not successful. I was given a 15% refund on my bill, but the manager made it out to be big favor. She said that free internet is a extra service and is not part of the room price for a guest. I did not want to argue with her but this reason is ridiculous. Internet service is a staple of the hotel industry now. The entire world utilizes the internet, and a majority of people use the internet for work. If the internet is down, it can effect productivity and business. To say that internet service is a bonus is not appropriate. I am sure that if internet service would not be provided at all, many guest would not even stay at this hotel.

Overall, this facility is fine. I will give them another chance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    172
    47
    11
    7
See reviews for
158
145
29
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
146 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This property is an old motel style (all exterior hallways and stairs, 2 stories) that has been renovated and is quite acceptable. Room was clean. Breakfast was typical and price made the night a decent value. Indoor pool/hot tub was OK but again, working from old starting point. In April it was a good value and it has been renovated well. Parking was tight and the neighborhood was shopping area so no ambiance to speak of.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here July 22nd through July 28th. Our room was very clean and everyday we left and came back it was cleaned again. The beds are very comfortable and the hotel is quiet too. The front desk personal are very friendly and helpful. The location is good too as it is right by Highway 101, has a grocery store across the street and restaurants too.

We have stayed here before and will continue to choose it as our place to stay while visiting up North.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband & I were traveling from Seattle to Sonoma CA and decided Arcata wad a good stopping point after 11 hours of driving. Checking in was fast and friendly. The room was very large and clean. The king bed was comfortable. The hotel is located near fast food, gas stations and grocery store. The only downside was our room was near the street entrance so we had lots of street noise. If you request a room further back in the complex that should not be an issue.

Room Tip: Request one away frlm the street entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We picked this for price over the nearby Eureka. Located in an area that looks like it is struggling to survive. Isolated location had plus and minus: strip mall nearby had fast food, a full breakfast place, and a great family run Mexican restaurant for evening meal. Our upstairs room was large, comfortable, clean. Ample grounds for walking our dog. I was leery to walk very far due to presence of people with large backpacks coming out of the vacant lots nearby. One even joined us for the breakfast in the morning. Another couple took over one of the picnic tables on the hotel grounds one evening. To be fair, I was aware that the Eureka area is known for attracting free spirits.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Idaho
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Pool, hot tub, nice outside area with bbq and picnic table. Good basic breakfast choices, waffles, biscuits and gravy and fruit, yogurts, juices. Room was big and clean. All of the rooms enter from outside, with no interior corridors. Good location with restaurants nearby. Front desk staff was very nice. Overall good value!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was the place I was looking for. It has a very nice bed, a fridge and microwave, the room is very clean and the staff are GREAT. The breakfast in the morning was good and your standard fare with waffles, bread items, fruit, and cereal. We stayed here two nights with a great stay. Stay here, stay here. It is very close to a small mall and grocery store across the street and is right off of hwy 101, they also have a Pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata
10.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Arcata
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 10 in Arcata
3.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Arcata Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Arcata Inn

Address: 4827 Valley W Blvd, Arcata, CA 95521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Arcata Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN Arcata Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Arcata Hotel Arcata
Arcata Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Arcata Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.