We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food that has become rather pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Grill

Plaza Grill
Eighth and H Streets, Jacoby's Storehouse, Arcata, CA 95521
+1 707-826-0860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 90 Restaurants in Arcata
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Arcata, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Good food that has become rather pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have been going to Plaza Grill for years. It had become our default restaurant for Saturday night. The food is good to very good, and service is also good. Its always a full room. Beer selection has always been a serious shortcoming, as they only have two on tap. The rumor was that they were going to get a decent selection of regional beers, but I haven't seen that happen yet. The 3rd floor location on the Plaza is great, and there are nice views out the windows. The massive Wallace and Hinz bar is beautiful. The issue is that the food has become more expensive. Used to be you could get an an a la carte $8 or $9 plate, and now those same plates are $17+. A regular entree is ~ $25 per plate. I'm not convinced Plaza Grill is a good value any more, and thus we don't go there as much.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    23
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
northern california
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not their best day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

always a plus on atmosphere....... the bar was slow getting drinks out and one of them was wrong and an upscale restaurant that says we don't carry grey goose vodka when their drink
specials advertise that they do? hmm? oh well! food was above average but spendy for what you got. Trip Advisor shows $ @ 7-17... not many main courses at that number (only 2). 1-$16 and 1@ $17 Owner/manager Bill was not in this night and it clearly shows. We'll come back . But
being ranked @29 of 46 restaurant in Arcata, as an owner, they should try to right the boat before it sinks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, in a good location, but mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Plaza Grill is in a nice building, right on the plaza. The view is not of the plaza, however . . . though, considering the people that frequent the plaza at night, that may not be a bad thing. The service was fine. The atmosphere and cleanliness was fine. The only complaint would be the mediocre food. My meatloaf was dry, and the mushroom gravy was tasteless. The place filled up pretty quickly around dinner time on a Friday night.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good food late at night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Plaza grill was super to our large group, keeping the kitchen open as we were coming in late from a sporting event. Good hot food at a reasonable price. Waitress was friendly and kept water and drinks filled. Try the hamburgers, juicy and all kinds of trimmings. Fish ahd Chips were also excellent.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice dinner option in the town square.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Had a good dinner at the Plaza Grill. Nice variety on the menu. Fish tacos are excellent. Good selection of beers and wine. Friendly service and nice atmosphere. Would return when visiting Arcata again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Grill also viewed

Arcata, Humboldt County
 
Arcata, Humboldt County
Arcata, Humboldt County
 

Been to Plaza Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.