We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fine bed, below par breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lady Anne

The Lady Anne
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arcata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lady Anne
Save Saved
You added The Lady Anne to your Saves list
902 14th St, Arcata, CA 95521   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Arcata B&B and Inns
Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very fine bed, below par breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

We stayed in one room of the Union Suite, a lovely, sun-filled room with a peek of the bay. It has a fabulous, tempurpedic bed on a raised, canopy bed and felt like sleeping on a cloud. The small bathroom has a shower door that could use new caulking(moldy) and a pedestal sink that drained VERY slowly. The room and common areas of the B&B had lovely period details in both furnishings and decor. The home's location is very convenient and walkable to the University and shopping/restaurants. The owners, Jennifer and Bryn, are pleasant and helpful, but with a 4 week old baby when we were there, they didn't have the gregarious, conversational tone we have come to expect at most B&B's. Breakfast was tasty enough, but much less filling than any other B&B we have ever stayed at. It consisted of waffles and a couple of fruit slices. No protein to help get through the day.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
10
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

I'm not sure who these people paid off to get ANY decent reviews. We were on a 14 day trip and stayed at 3 b&b's, 3 hotels and a goat farm - this place was so far below anything else that I just had to write a review. The house has good bones, but the decorating is tacky and tasteless. The bathroom shower was dirty, the gas "woodstove" had a big hose trailing along the floor from the wall to the stove. The single bed (which is a daybed) squeaked and was so lumpy that my daughter slept with me in the king bed. The whole house smells musty and made our sinuses stuffy. In the morning we went down to breakfast (8-9 am) at 8:30 and the dining room was completely filled with guests. No other seating, not even a cup of coffee to be had. Since we had to be somewhere at 9:30 we left and paid to eat breakfast at a diner nearby. Don't stay here! This place is a rip off.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arcata hotels

Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

The Lady Anne is a Victorian house in a mostly Victorian neighborhood of Arcata. It's a quick walk down into the town, which is a lovely small college town: excellent bookstores, cafés, clubs, restaurants.

The Lady Anne is not -- but does not pretend to be -- an antique-filled "inn" of luxury and 5 o' clock wine on the veranda. It would require a lot of remodeling and more than a staff of one to make it so.

But you do get a warm welcome, a clean, bright room (yes, the carpets are a bit threadbare, but our rooms were spotless) and a pretty good breakfast in the morning.

Is it good value? It worked for us because a) we wanted to be in walking distance of the town center and b) did not want to stay at a souless chain motel on the highway for just one night.. If your main criterion, though, is "just a place to stay passing through" or you need to spend several nights in Arcata, you might well want to consider a chain.

This is not a "weekend getaway with pampering" place; it's by no means a "romantic inn." But for the price and location, I found it adequate, clean and hospitable.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvbsofca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

A beautiful setting with horrible customer service, dirty rooms and an absolute knuckle head roaming around lost. The man of the house was about as engaging as a dead snake. The beds were comfortable but another word for quaint is dump. Needs a lot of repair and is really not a good place. Arcata is a nice town as long as you can deal with the panhandlers and the odd people roaming about. It has actually gone down quite a bit over the years. I would not stay here if I ever go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Room was not clean...
Breakfast was lovely....

Arcata is my favorite place to visit but this room was overpriced and not worth the money. The room design was hokey not what I thought a Victorian would be at all..

Loved the breakfast....but the stay...not so much...sorry...
Money is too hard to come by these days....
and I cannot recomment this B&B...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colton, Ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

We stayed at the Lady Anne during the Humboldt State University family weekend/homecoimg weekend. It was my first time staying at a B&B and cetainly won't be my last at the Lady Anne. We stayed in the Blue room. It was perfect. Greg, our host was wonderful. He has a great knowledge of the local area.

The breakfasts were great. Coffee was always on and the house was spotless with lots of antiques in the parlor and music room. We felt as if we were at home.

The Lady Anne doesn't raise their rates for the weekends or special events such as HSU's homecoming weekend. An extra bonus, as some other hotels do.

A perfect getaway or a quick stop to see a child at HSU. We love this B&B and will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central states
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

The outside of this grand Victorian house is beautiful. However, the rooms are not clean. We stayed in the Rose room. It was dusty, cobwebs hung in the corners of the ceiling, the bathroom had hair all over the floor and the room smelled musty. It was extremely unpleasant. I have stayed in many B&Bs and have yet to experience one that was so ill kept. We moved to another room for the second night. The next room was a bit cleaner. The bed was very comfortable which made the room much more bearable.
The innkeeper gave us a discount on the rooms. The person checking out after us also got a discount.

A review in 2007 said that the innkeepers were going to improve the rooms. We were told the same. I do not think this will happen. This is a shame. With some intense cleaning and a drop in the rates, this would be an adequate place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lady Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lady Anne

Address: 902 14th St, Arcata, CA 95521
Location: United States > California > Arcata
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Arcata
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lady Anne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.