We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graduation Day Class of 2013 - Arcada High” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lady Anne

The Lady Anne
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arcata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lady Anne
902 14th St, Arcata, CA 95521   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Arcata B&B and Inns
Mukilteo, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Graduation Day Class of 2013 - Arcada High”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I spent three days at The Lady Anne and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The proprietors are so friendly, breakfasts were delicious and the other guests lovely to meet. I would suggest you read the other reviews and consider them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
9
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

From the outside, the house is charming with a lovely front porch. Two cats and a dog roam around the grounds, which is nice for those who miss their own pets. My friend and I, not being a couple, wanted two beds so we chose the Sun Room with a king Temperapedic and a day bed. The price was 1/3 higher than a room for a couple which seemed pretty steep for what you get. The owners Sam and Sharon are nice and try to take care of the grandson, pets as well as the B and B too. It's convenient to the historic downtown and Sam gave us tips on where to go eat. The breakfast was pretty slim: a spoonful of eggs, a half a waffle, juice, coffee, and some fruit sliced. Some sausage or bacon would've been nice for more protein. I had to go get more food afterwards and I'm not a big breakfast eater. In retrospect we should not have stayed 3 nights.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you're in Arcata, perhaps visiting Humboldt State University, the Lady Anne B&B offers clean, friendly, charming, eclectic accommodations. Two blocks from a local supermarket and in a nice, safe residential area, the Lady Anne is a comfortable refuge, built in 1888. It is packed with memorabilia, almost like an antique store. It is not sophisticated, certainly the opposite of a big-chain hotel or motel. But for what it is, and where it is, you cannot go wrong. Sam and Sharon couldn't be more helpful; they fix a tasty and varied breakfast that they like to serve sometime between 8 and 9 AM. There is a small frige in the dining area where you can keep your beer and wine chilled. My wife and I routinely stay there when visiting our daughter and son-in-law.

Room Tip: Ask if the Sun Room, a spacious bedroom in the back on the second floor with lots of light and space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our one night in the spacious sun porch at the back of the second floor was quite satisfying. Good breakfast from friendly hosts Sharon and Sam. Also enjoyed the other guests and the proximity to downtown. Good dinner advice as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weed, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Apparently a change in ownership left this Victorian beauty with new life. My "suite" - a living room with a gas wood stove, an astounding bed in terms of artistic craftpersonship as well as a good mattress, a clawfoot bathtub, and well, a balky shower (but hey, the tub works great). Spectacular garden. In the suite you have your private garden and outdoor stove. It's got a real stereo if you can figure how to work it, and a TV. so it's not one of those B&Bs that force you to be alone with yourselves. If you've never been to Arcata, it's located in a good spot - far enough from the machinations of the town square, but easy to access those machinations if you want. A couple decent restaurants at Jacoby Square. No end of bars available. Usually live music in several venues on weekends. Anyway, the house is incredible, and now, with Sharon and Sam, it's clean and welcoming. And a pet is happy there too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Stayed here in September 2011. The house is amazing, and has great potential. As with some of the other reviewers, I thought some small details were overlooked. Whilst 'clean', the place could do with a good dust. Some additions such as the bathroom in the room in which I stayed were economical in their quality, and the toiletries provided could have been nicer - and not made in China. Overall, a good vibe and reasonable for the money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed in the Rose Room. Vanity mirror so dusty you couldn't see your image. Room hadn't been dusted in quite awhile. Repairs also needed.
Bathroom mirror still dirty from previous guests.
Owners very pleasant but interior of B&B needs a serious cleaning!
Very disappointing and expensive for amenities provided.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arcata hotels

Been to The Lady Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lady Anne

Address: 902 14th St, Arcata, CA 95521
Location: United States > California > Arcata
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Arcata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lady Anne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Lady Anne to your Saves list