We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not perfect, but charming.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arcata

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arcata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Arcata
Save
You added Hotel Arcata to your Saves list
708 Ninth St., Arcata, CA 95521   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK HERE FOR BEST RATES
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not perfect, but charming.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I enjoyed my stay here. My room was large, clean and very comfortable. The bathroom had a rooftop bath and brass shower, which worked really well. The staff was helpful, and the hotel well kept. The room was a little noisy, but it's a noisy location, and I still slept very well. Arcata is an odd place, nice to look at but with a lot of bars opening onto the central square opposite the hotel (the town needs to sort that out!). It's a little unnerving when you arrive seeing lots of drinkers smoking in the same street s the hotel, but I felt safe. I would recommend it, especially if you prefer staying in interesting places (rather than bland chains) and I thought the price reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    28
    22
    14
    20
See reviews for
14
43
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I love historic hotels, but not for the chintzy antiques or 5-star Victorian haughtiness that seems to come with hotels with character. This hotel has neither. Yes, there are quite a few transients in the plaza and around 11pm there can be unsavory sounds from the bar next door- but the interior of the hotel has an upscale feel, the characters (both staff and guests) have actual character and the room itself was nicer than any we've stayed at along the Northern Coast. You don't come here expecting a hotel chain, sanitary-but-too-generic experience. You come here for the claw-foot bathtub and tiled entry. You stay here because it is truly located in the heart of the city- a city whose heart actually still beats.
Great place- far exceeded both expectations and the amount of time we had originally budgeted.

Room Tip: Second floor with windows facing off side street off plaza was quite and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Every time I find myself in Arcata, I always stay here. The staff is friendly, the hotel is located right in the town square, it's really convenient if you're looking to go out and explore the cute town. The sushi restaurant located in the hotel is really delicious! Love this place!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Set in the charming, historic town of Arcata in Northern California, the hotel is a bit rustic but still a very nice place to stay and right across from the downtown in the center of the city. Be sure to spend some time walking around this cute little town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelter Cove, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Get ready for a noisy and overpriced experience. The building is a historic building and located right on the most beautiful Arcata town square and the Japanese restaurant in the hotel Tomo is delicious and has excellent service and many vegetarian options too and that unfortunately is where the good experience ends. The hotel is historic and on the National Register and it has that going for it to be sure and there are NO other hotels in downtown Arcata and none of the hotels in the larger area are particularly good so your options are incredibly limited and none of them are great either. The rooms are musty and smallish and are not very soundproofed, the patrons at the hotel can be very loud and if you get a room on the lovely plaza you will be kept awake by the very noisy bar patrons next door (not from the restaurant) and woken up early by the sometimes noisy early morning plaza people The hotel like many hotels has a most unfortunate habit of grouping all the people staying there right next to each other, even if the hotel is basically empty (i guess it makes it easier for the cleaning staff but seems very un-service oriented to me). If you are a heavy sleeper or one of the loud and late people than you'll likely be fine, otherwise-caveat emptor!

Room Tip: good luck! am told the inside suite (away from plaza is the best of the options here)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fran
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Very cute and clean hotel for enjoying the night life in Arcata. I got an interior executive suite well away from the street noise

Location is great and the staff was very accommodating Free wifi is always a bonus as well.

When in town be sure to visit the restored theater/lounge just down the street


Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed here on a Thursday night, and I got a taste of the night life in Arcata. The hotel is right on the square, and there are several restaurants and bars immediately outside. Apparently, the hotel is pet-friendly because my first room (#311) smelled like cat piss, so I requested an alternative room. The second room (#316) put me above the alley on the north side of the building. As someone mentioned before, the garbage truck comes through at 4 a.m. to pick up three dumpsters; I kept waiting for them to be done. I still am semi-pleased with the hotel only because the alternative was to stay at a cluster of chain hotels outside of the center, but then I couldn't have enjoyed a nice meal down the street or the short stroll to the small movie theater.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the north side alley on a Thursday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata
2.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Arcata
2.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 10 in Arcata
3.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
8.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arcata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arcata

Address: 708 Ninth St., Arcata, CA 95521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
historic hotel ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arcata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.