We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steer Clear” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wood Ranch BBQ & Grill

Wood Ranch BBQ & Grill
400 S Baldwin Ave, Ste 905, Arcadia, CA 91007-1948
626-447-4745
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 209 Restaurants in Arcadia
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Princeton, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Steer Clear”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Ate there twice recently. First night, I had the baby back ribs. Not bad, but definitely not "fall off the bone". Second visit, ordered the "slow cooked, fall off the bone" beef rib which was allegedly so good that they used to serve it only on Thursdays but it became so popular they now offer it every night. It was so bad I had to send it back. Asked for the brisket instead and that was very fatty. If you want expensive fat, this is your place. Otherwise, steer clear.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ben at wood ranch is unbelievable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We recently went to your establishment for the first time and had the pleasure to be served by Ben. He was on top of it. He has such confidence and strong presence. He let us know how the food is cooked, the process and that everything is delicious and boy was he right! As well as is a very handsome young man. We bothered him so much and he did everything with a smile! He is very attentive, very! We had a minor mishap occur while we were there that wasn't Ben's fault but he quickly found a resolution and very well made up for it. His demeanor is perfect for woodranch his personality suits the restaurant. When we took our left overs to go he even threw in some bread rolls, nice NICE guy! He went out of his way and we are very thank full! Good luck ben!( Sorry I always write long reviews)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“We love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We don't go there too often because it is at the mall and parking can be a witch, however our favorite waitress PIM was working on that Friday night, so we went. They do have valet parking there but don't like to use it.

When we passed by the Cheesecake factory there were people out in the sidewalk and probably about 50 people would not be stretching the estimate, and when we got to Wood Ranch it wasn't much better. We were given the little flashing thing and told about an hours wait.

Normally I will not eat in a bar area but we were hungry and I saw an empty table so we did eat there, we had a very nice waitress and fast service and fantastic food.

Buttered puffy rolls come with each order. The peanut coleslaw is great, try it u will like it I am sure, however sometimes more flavorful than other times. In all the years I have gone, I have never had anything bad.

It worked out as it was so busy we couldn't have enjoyed our time with PIM, and frankly all the waiters and waitresses were actually running when they passed the table area, so not sure if they were understaffed or busier than the expected, but the kitchen seemed so busy there might not have been room for more staff, maybe one of those i-pad things some places use might lessen the burden so orders go straight to the kitchen.

We really like the food there, and will go soon, hopefully when it is not so busy.

It is an extremely clean polished restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bladenboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Sweet Potatoes Ever !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I went to Wood Ranch while visiting California last week, went for lunch, and had the lunch special. It was BBQ sliders, a delicious salad, but the sweet potatoes were to die for. The restaurant was attached to the mall, it was a beautiful day and we sat outside. Service was excellent. If you see one of these restaurants, don't pass it by'

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Top Steaks and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

What a combination. This particular restaurant is in a massive shopping mall next to a really excellent shopping mall where there is a very good cinema. As you would expect with this being a steak house the steaks are well prepared, but it isnt just about steaks.
Service is excellent, restaurant is clean and all the staff are very attentive well presented and extremely polite.
Went there with only a 35minute window before my film came on and me and my two friends made the film because of the excellent service. Previous to this I went when there wasnt any pressure and again without rushing the service was again excellent. In a nutshell you will not go wrong here for 1 person or for a large party.
Hope this helps.
Peter Miller.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wood Ranch BBQ & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Wood Ranch BBQ & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wood Ranch BBQ & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.