We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hampton Inn Hotel : Great For Families, Buisness, or just a Get Away.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Los Angeles / Arcadia / Pasadena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Los Angeles / Arcadia / Pasadena to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Los Angeles / Arcadia / Pasadena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   311 East Huntington Drive, Arcadia, CA 91006   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Arcadia
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester Area, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Great Hampton Inn Hotel : Great For Families, Buisness, or just a Get Away.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2007

This hotel was a fabulous hotel. When we were booking, we were a bit worried whether it was a good hotel for a family and because we couldn't see any traveler pictures. I'm glad I went against my instinct this time.
The hotel a tad hard to find. It is in a plaza type set up in which they have tall signs on the road that leads to the hotel. I believe that road is called Gateway. If you are coming from the major freeway that is about .5 miles away from the hotel (134 or 210, cannot remember). Anyway, if you have stayed at a hampton inn before, it is very simular to them. The beds at this hotel are really nice, the sofa bed so-so like all sofa beds. In the room, there is a college-dorm type refridgerator, a microwave, a 32 inch or so television with okay channels. They also have a furnature piece in which you can have on your lap while you are in bed to write something or put a plate on or whatever you do with it. The bathroom was nice, with marble counter tops and a neat curved shower rod, which they rave about as a major feature on their site. It actually does make a difference.
The full buffet breakfast is actually very good. The eggs could be better, but hey, it's free. They changed what they had once in a while, but they had muffins, bagels, english muffins, mixed fruit, yogurt, juices, and 3 types of cereal every morning, regardless of the main entree'. The breakfast area is nice, with about 10-12 tables and 4 or 5 arm chairs, in which two face a flat pannel television with CNN or the like, on it.
The staff was very friendly and gave us directions to the laundry mat down the street. (no, they do not have their own laundry facilities). They have 2 computers down in the lobby area which have internet access, which is a nice touch for buisness travlers or for the families to check their e-mails. They also have a pretty good pool, but the hours are a set back, I believe it opened at 9 or 10 am and closed at 10pm.
There were a plethora of resturants around the hotel. Accross gateway street, there is a plaza with a chinese restaurant, a dentistry place, coinvinece store, fed ex store, etc. A short walk accross huntington avenue (its also historic route 66) and you find yourself with a olive garden and many other places to eat. There is also a steak house sort of place on the hotel complex side of huntington aveneue.
I do reccoumend that if you want to see the sights in LA, that you rent a car. It is much cheaper that way. And if you want a easy drive to your hotel and the day you come in, use Ontario airport, and it will be a hop, skip, and a jump away. This is a great hotel!

  • Liked — Staff, Free Breakfast, Free USA Today, Safe Neighborhood, Comfortable, Good Pool, Internet Computers, Wireless Internet.
  • Disliked — No Laundry Services
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    125
    36
    15
    6
See reviews for
127
88
28
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

Problem started when I called the day before to find out about getting distilled water for my room. I travel with a BiPAP to help with sleep apnea. Usually, if I call enough in advance, they can have a bottle ready. The desk clerk told me I would have to find someplace local to get it.
After I arrived, I was sitting at the desk working and someone just came walking into my room, mumbled something and then left.
I had to call the front desk who did not know what was going on. They changed my key (which took two tries) and then finally told me the maintenance guy grabbed the wrong list. Great.
Carpet was dingy and not as nice as other Hampton Inns I've stayed at.
When I asked for the manager at checkout, I was told they were not in and would be in later. No question as to why I was asking.
I did send the manager an email and now have a certificate for a free night stay should I find myself in Arcadia. Not that I'm going back that way any time soon.

  • Liked — Proximity to client and price
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

We spent one night in a 2-queen room here in August 2007, after reading the previous reviews.

First, though the address is Huntington Ave., the hotel is located off the street. Do follow the direction from the hotel web site or the previous review.

As mentioned in the previous review, this hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants, which is convenient.

Our room was on the top floor. The décor inside is ok, not feeling old, with microwave and refrigerator. Free internet was offered. The space between one of the queen beds (the one away from the window) and the wall is a kind of narrow, but didn’t really bother me. There are only hooks, no racks, in the bathroom for hanging the towel, but this was ok, too.

What bothered me were:
1. the noise from the A/C. Each room has its own A/C unit. It’s a kind of old and loud.
2. the refrigerator generated a click sound when it switched between on and off, which bothered my sleep the most.

I had stayed in the Hilton Garden Inn nearby before. I think this Hampton Inn charges a little more than that Hilton. The Hampton offers free breakfast (including hot scrambled eggs), while the Hilton breakfast is not free (but better, of course). Counting in the breakfast charge, the total charge for these two hotels are about the same. The room décor of Hampton is newer than Hilton, and I don’t think there are restaurants within walking distance of Hilton. I visited Hilton in the winter, so didn’t need to turn on the A/C, but I guess its A/C may be old and loud, too. I don’t recall the clicking sound of the refrigerator in Hilton, so I may stay at the Hilton when I visit L.A. next time.

  • Liked — convenience for dining
  • Disliked — in-room noise, from the A/C and refrigirator
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

This hotel is exceptionally clean (even the hallway carpeting looks and smells like you could sleep on it). The room beds are great. The best part is the buffet breakfast which beats most restaurants hands down. We will stay there again if we go to LA again. It's about 1 hour from Hollywood and downtown LA, but in a great and safe area of LA with other great restaurants. If you want a hotel with a great price, clean, and are willing to drive a bit, then this is the place in LA. Great for families.

  • Liked — Clean and great breakfast.
  • Disliked — A bit out of the way.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

DO NOT TAKE A TAXI FROM LAX AIRPORT. I expected this place to be no more than 30 minutes away but was almost an hour and $105 later. I wish I was prepared for that. But anyhow, once there, makes it all worthwhile. The hotel has only 4 floors....very clean, quiet, spacious and friendly staff. The room iitself....mine had a beautiful mountain view, had everything you would need..a desk with wireless internet access, a comfy chair, sofa with table, AC, TV, a fridge and microwave which I always think is a plus. The best part...the bed! I have stayed in 3 Hampton Inn's and their beds, pillows, sheets and comforters are incredible. The bathroom has all the basics and if you forget something like toothpaste, toothbrush, even shaving cream...ask the front desk. Breakfast is included, no biggie....cereals, yogurt, fruit, bread, muffins, etc etc...the usual continental. They do throw in French toast sticks and sausages....one time they had eggs. But hey...it's included and at least you're off to a healthy start. Self-parking is included also. The location...mmmm....convenient for some I guess. We rented a car and traveled up and down the coast from Laguna Beach to Malibu, and from the mountains up North to Long beach. For others relying on public transportation or want to be close to where all the action is....this is not for you. This hotel is inside a mini center where you have the typical chain restaurants (Tony Roma's, Outback's, BJ's Brewery, etc) -great chinese restuarant across the street, nail/ hair salon, and other stores that can only be useful to residents. The hotel is a few blocks from a main freeway....beware- traffic in LA is like no where I have been. With so many freeways you would think otherwise. Overall, great hotel for a great value!

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

I stay frequently here for business and have tried other hotels in the area and I seem to always come back to the Hampton Inn. The staff have always been friendly and available. The rooms are good sized and the bed is comfortable. Everything is always in the same manner, clean and in order.

Parking was sufficient. They have a free breakfast that seemed ok. They have 2 computers in the lobby along with WIFI available for hotel use that is free. They have a pool, but I haven't used it.

There is no restaurant in the hotel, but it's in a great location close to alot of good restaurants. Tony Roma's is right across the street and is really good. There is also Soup Plantation, BJ's, Outbacks (really good), Derby's, etc.

For the money, you can't beat this hotel. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Bed is more comfortable than some other hotels in the area
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
138 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

This is a good Hampton Inn which is very close to the 210 Freeway. We found the staff friendly and they joked with us about the drive from the Getty Center on Friday afternoon - the traffic was terrible even by Toronto standards.

The rooms are well-appointed and quiet, there is a lot of parking space and a decent pool. The hotel was very busy and, as in many Hamptons, breakfast was very busy and it was difficult to get a table both mornings. Nevertheless, the food was fine.

The hotel is also very convenient for Santa Anita racetrack, the botanical gardens, Pasadena and the Huntington Gallery. For those heading east, there is easy access to the I-15 and Las Vegas.

There are many restaurants within walking distance - all of them very busy during our stay. We had an excellent meal at the Sesame Grill in a plaza almost right across the street - very nice spring rolls and crabcake salad.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Very busy at breakfast
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcadia
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arcadia / Pasadena Area
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Arcadia - Pasadena Area
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pasadena Arcadia
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Pasadena Arcadia
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Arcadia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Los Angeles / Arcadia / Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Los Angeles / Arcadia / Pasadena

Address: 311 East Huntington Drive, Arcadia, CA 91006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Arcadia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Arcadia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Los Angeles / Arcadia / Pasadena 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Los Angeles/Arcadia/Pasadena offers distinctive hotel accommodations, upgraded amenities/features and value packages, just minutes from top Los Angeles' attractions, such as Dodger Stadium, Staples Center, the Los Angeles Convention Center and Disneyland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Los Angeles / Arcadia / Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn, Arcadia Hotel Arcadia
Arcadia Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Los Angeles / Arcadia / Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.