We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you expect it to be and more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Din Tai Fung Dumpling House

Din Tai Fung Dumpling House
1108 S Baldwin Ave, Arcadia, CA 91007-7508
(626) 574-7068
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 176 Restaurants in Arcadia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Everything you expect it to be and more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We ordered vegetable dumplings, soup (can't remember the kind) and taro buns. Delicious, fast, and not to expensive! Definitely coming back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    88
    22
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding and Unusual Dim Sum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I do not profess to be a dim sum expert, but in a recent visit to L.A., a friend insisted that I try these. We were there for lunch and there was no wait, although I understand that this place can get crowded on weekends. There were four of us and we sampled as many different items as we could. The crowd favorite was the soup dumplings; just like it sounds, when you bit into it, there is soup inside along with a solid filling. The ambiance is unassuming, to say the least, and this is not "leisurly dining." It's very good, fresh food (you can see the dumplings being made through a window in the vestibule), and, if I lived in L.A., I could see this place becoming an addiction. Just go.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Restaurant in Arcadia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We eat here on a regular basis since we have the good fortune to live nearby - the dumplings are the best because of their delicate skin and excellent flavor. The juicy park dumplings are our favorite. We also love the shanghai rice noodles and the vegetables. Service is always great. The only drawback is the long wait on weekends, so come here during a weekday.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fresh ingredients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

There's a reason why it's more expensive than other dimsum places and why the wait is long: the quality of the food is EXCELLENT. You can really taste the freshness of the ingredients.

We arrived on a Saturday at 3:30 pm and there was still a 30 min wait.

Food is worth the wait. Vegetarian-friendly. Parking is quite a challenge. Spinach with garlic is the bomb! Restaurant is very busy and noisy.

Tips: come at an odd hour esp. on weekends (3-4pm, 830pm-ish). Also they don't seat big groups (6+ people) unless everyone's present

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This place is always crowded and always worth the wait. I eat here every time I come to visit family. I'm vegetarian so I like the veggie dumplings and vegetarian fried noodles, but my dining companions rave about the juicy pork dumplings. The green beans with garlic are also fantastic!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Din Tai Fung Dumpling House also viewed

 

Been to Din Tai Fung Dumpling House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Din Tai Fung Dumpling House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.