We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kirk Conner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7500 Old Dominion Court, Aptos, CA 95003   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Aptos
Lake Arthur, Louisiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kirk Conner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is the "BEST " Best Western we have ever stayed at ! AWESOME PLACE The staff is excellent in ever aspect. Restaurant had a good menu with good prices. Bar had good drinks with good service. Just cannot beat this place !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacliff7500, Manager at BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Kirk C,

Thank you so much for this fabulous review. We are so glad to hear that our hotel exceeded your expectations! I will share your kind words with our team. Thank you also for making us your first choice for future stays in the Santa Cruz area. We can't wait to have you back!

Best wishes,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    141
    50
    17
    12
See reviews for
164
106
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed here several times years ago and was not disappointed this visit. I requested a 2nd floor room with a pool view and got the perfect room, not too close so it wasn't noisy. Everything was clean and updated and had down pillows (as well as others) and comfy bed. Full great breakfast included every day.
Only issue were a couple a ragged towels, think they need a new laundry service.
Close enough to the beach to walk there!

Room Tip: (stay in building 4 or 5 if you don't want to be too close to the pool but still have lovely vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacliff7500, Manager at BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello woofygirl,

It's our pleasure to have you visit us again at the Seacliff Inn. We are pleased you had a wonderful experience and thank you for taking time to write such a nice review! I do apologize about the towels looking a bit old during your stay with us. Your experience is very valuable to me and my team, and we will certainly be using it to improve our standard of excellence. We hope you come back and visit us again soon!

Best wishes,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Seacliff Inn for a wedding in July. It is just off the freeway and not within walking distance of much besides a strip mall and a grocery store.

I didn't expect something amazing for less than 200/night in Santa Cruz in summer. Really, much about the inn is pretty nice. The room was nice as was the pool area. I also really liked the little balconies that were attached to all rooms.

Now, for the poor experience...What was really difficult for us was that Severinos, their bar and restaurant plays super loud music LATE each night. I was actually pretty shocked that in my "quiet room" of a family-friendly hotel, we could hear loud music until about midnight or later each night. I called the front desk our second night, a Friday, after the music had played late on Thursday. I was told that it would just play until 11:00 or 11:30 on Friday. All to say, I don't think you can have it all--don't bill yourself as a family hotel and then have music that can be heard inside rooms throughout the property until after midnight.

I was also frustrated that I never received a call from the manager that I was told would come when I asked for a discount on the room (they did offer me a small discount based on my experience but said that the manager would call to follow up). AND THEN, our credit card does not get charged for the room until this past week--SIX weeks later! Pretty poor business, if you ask me. I guess it boils down to the fact that I felt like there were a lot of really nice, helpful people who worked at the Seacliff Inn, but the management decision-making was pretty bad.

Room Tip: Get the quietest room possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacliff7500, Manager at BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear roaminrose,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We were saddened to learn that your experience with us at the Seacliff Inn was not all that you hoped for. Although it is rare for us to hear a negative review, it is an opportunity for us to improve our service, facilities, or the way we communicate our offerings so future travelers will have a clear understanding of what they can expect from the Seacliff Inn.

We apologize about the noise in the hotel on your weekend. On summer weekends we have a number of vacationing families and wedding parties enjoying the live entertainment. Again, we're really sorry for this disruption and inconvenience.

We are also sorry you did not receive a call from our front desk manager the following day. Our management makes it a priority to return calls regarding complaints. Unfortunately, due to a miscommunication, your message was not passed on to management. I do apologize, as I know myself how aggravating a situation like this can be.

In regards to your credit card not being charged for six weeks, we had a glitch in our computer system and a batch of credit cards did not close out that week. Our night auditor noticed this a few weeks later and closed out these accounts. I hope the additional discount you received from our supervisor made you feel better about this situation.

Please know that I have discussed your comments with the General Manager of the hotel, and she also appreciates your letting us know about these issues. We hope that you will reconsider staying with us in the future. Thank you once again for your correspondence.

Best wishes,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Nice and clean rooms but could use a little updating. BUT, the grounds are lush and beautiful. Especially the Koi pond and waterfall!! Really Beautiful.! The gardener should be congratulated for a job well done Nice pool and hot tub.too. Go to Happy Hour for great drink and appetizer prices and sit outside by the Koi pond. PERFECT! Away from the high prices of Santa Cruz and Monterey but just a short drive away. Nice location. Nice staff Nice hotel. We'll be back for sure...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacliff7500, Manager at BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you so much for such a nice review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our Koi pond and waterfall, the happy hour and the landscaped grounds are always a treat. I’m sorry you found your room to be a bit outdated. We are constantly making improvements to our property and I’m excited to announce that we will be installing granite counter tops in all of our guest room bathrooms in the next few months! I hope you enjoy the upgrades to the bathroom during you next visit. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!

Cordially,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Beautiful landscaping, excellent bed, awesome breakfast! We went to visit family and this Best Western was close by. It turned out to be a really great location and a very enjoyable experience! We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacliff7500, Manager at BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Julianne L,

Thank you for taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind comments and are delighted you had a wonderful experience during your visit. Thank you for acknowledging the property grounds, our comfortable beds and awesome complimentary breakfast buffet. We hope to see you again soon!

Cordially,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding in the area. Found the hotel clean and well kept with a friendly staff. Saw many families enjoying the pool and the breakfast was a good American Style with hot and cold fare. Close to beaches and the shopping areas of Santa Cruz and Capitola

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacliff7500, Manager at BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear chumash,

Thank you for taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and feel honored that we could accommodate you during your visit to Aptos. We strive hard to provide a very welcoming staff and atmosphere. Our housekeeping department works diligently to provide service which sets us apart from other hotels. We strive to provide many options for breakfast including waffles, eggs, sausage, a variety of fresh fruit and cereal, pasties, yogurt and more. Please know the comments will be shared with everyone. We hope you will return to the Seacliff Inn again very soon.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I used this hotel for wedding rehearsal dinner several years ago and keep coming back. Convenient location near beaches and tourist attractions, along with a great pool area, make it one of my favorites for a relaxing weekend getaway. Just wish they would upgrade the mattresses in the rooms!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacliff7500, Manager at BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for such a great review! We appreciate your kind comments and are delighted you had a wonderful experience during your visit. Thank you for acknowledging our convenient location and great pool.

We apologize if the bed wasn’t to your liking. Bed types can be tricky because they are all about personal preference. All of our guest rooms feature Serta Cheshire III plush pillow top mattresses, a lot of people absolutely love this type of bed but they are not everyone’s cup of tea.

Pleased be assured your comments will be shared with the GM and will certainly assist us in our ongoing improvements to our hotel. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others and giving us the opportunity to better serve all of our guests.

Cordially,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn

Address: 7500 Old Dominion Court, Aptos, CA 95003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Aptos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Aptos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty of northern California's beaches and lush natural landscape from the comfort of this luxurious Aptos hotel near the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk! Located just minutes from Seacliff Beach, this charming Aptos hotel offers easy access to the area's many attractions. The famed Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk is just a short drive away, as is exciting whale watching, kayaking, sailing and more. Outdoor lovers delight in hiking through the majestic redwoods and other local flora at the nearby Wilder Ranch, Henry Cowell, and Nisene Marks State Parks. Go back in time on the historic Roaring Camp Railroads, sample some of California's finest wines at Santa Cruz wineries or get a glimpse of life under the sea at the world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, less than an hour away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Seacliff Hotel Aptos
Best Western Seacliff Hotel
Best Western Aptos
Aptos Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.