We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Garden” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7500 Old Dominion Court, Aptos, CA 95003   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Aptos
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Lovely Garden”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I recently stayed at this Best Western attending a wedding. There were over 25 of us staying at this hotel, there were several other weddings going on in the area so the hotel was completely packed. The staff at the hotel and restaurant provided good service at all times to our large group. The rooms are a good size, decent decoration, clean and comfortable. The hotel is built around a big garden and pool, several 2 story buildings are situated around the garden, so all rooms have a nice view of the garden. I would imagine the buildings near the restaurant and pool may hear the noise from the pool or the restaurant/bar area. Our rooms were at a good distance so no issues there. This is a family place so expect to see kids running around. Overall it was a very pleasant place to stay at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacliff7500, Manager at BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear mali2007,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent to stay with us! We are glad you enjoyed our friendly service and property grounds. We hope to see you again soon!

Cordially,
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    137
    49
    17
    12
See reviews for
159
101
17
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aptos, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We visited this hotel in July of 2013. Everything about the hotel itself was great. Clean rooms, nice pool, quiet space. The only issue we had was the horrible, rude customer service. Upon arriving at the hotel, I only had my debit card with me, since my husband had the credit card a few miles down the road at a conference. The staff never informed me that my debit card was an IMMEDIATE withdraw of funds and since we were traveling on business I was really hoping to use our business credit card. The manager, Dolores, did NOTHING to ease my frustration. She just kept repeating hotel policy and shrugging her shoulders. She had no emotion whatsoever. No apology. Nothing. She either needs to be fired, since I witnessed a few other squabbles concerning her and other guests upon my check out, or she needs to take a serious class on customer relations. Unacceptable!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacliff7500, Manager at BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Matthew/ Amy M,
Thank you for your detailed review. We love hearing both good and bad from our customers so that we can improve on their next stay. I am sorry to hear that your check-in process was not up to our usual standards. At the Seacliff Inn, we pride ourselves on our high levels of service, great food, offering great value for money and giving our guests the home away from home experience. Part of our mission at the Seacliff Inn is having fast, friendly, and effective service, so that our cutomers leave here feeling great about their experience.

We take comments such as yours very seriously and care about the quality given to our guests. Pleased be assured your comments will be shared with our entire team and will certainly assist us in our ongoing improvements throughout the hotel. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others and giving us the opportunity to better serve all of our guests. We again extend our sincere apologies that you were not completely satisfied and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome her back in the near future!

Cordially,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Nothing special to the 'hotel' at all. Rooms are old. Showers barely spray water. And definitely not worth the price of $200+ a night we paid. Plan in advance and book a rental property for the same price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacliff7500, Manager at BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. It was unfortunate to hear your stay was not as positive as most of our guests experience. Our rates are aggressively priced in comparison to surrounding hotels with similar or less amenities such as: complimentary hot breakfast, full service restaurant and bar, room service, heated pool & Jacuzzi, fitness room, laundry room and much more. You may be able to find a motel for under $200 on a summer weekend but it won’t compare to all the amenities we have to offer. Thank you again for your business and for allowing us the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

Thank you again,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the last 5 years and enjoy it every time. The pool area and room are very nice and the restaurant/bar are both good and convenient. It is close to many attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacliff7500, Manager at BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Kristina H,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We certainly hope to see you again on your next trip through our city. Wishing you safe travels!

Cordially
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, CA, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Best Western Seacliff Inn is a pleasant place to stop for a night, but is not an outstanding place to visit and is rather isolated from anything to do (except for one state beach out of sight on the other side of the freeway). The grounds are large and nicely planted, with a swimming pool and a koi pond, and the free breakfast is extensive. But the room was not particularly attractive -- large but sparsely furnished (refrigerator, bed, dresser, and one upright, armless wooden chair), with rather dreary decor. The bathroom is small, the towels scratchy. The wireless connection would drop out from time to time. Nothing terribly objectionable -- a reasonable place for an en-route stop--but definitely not a destination hotel or one I'd want to spend much time in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacliff7500, Manager at BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Greetings Judith F,

We appreciate when guests take the time to share their experiences at our hotel with others, whether it’s positive or areas for improvements. Although it distresses us to learn of any shortcoming at our hotel it gives us an opportunity to continually better serve our guests. I’m sorry that you felt our location and rooms were not outstanding. We are definitely not walking distance to the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk but we are centrally located to all the adventures Santa Cruz has to offer. A common theme we hear from our guest is that we are in a prime location. We are right off the freeway, 6 miles south of the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, 1 mile from the beautiful redwood forest Nisene Marks State Park, 5 -10 miles away from award winning wineries, 35 miles away from the Monterey Bay Aquarium and much more! We truly appreciate your business and hope you may consider us the next time you visit the area!

Cordially,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a well kept property and in a good location for visiting the Santa Cruz area. We have been staying at this motor lodge for 5 years and it is always pleasant. We come up to visit our son who lives in Aptos and no matter what the season it always is a comfortable place to stay. They have a great breakfast which is part of your hotel rate. The staff is pleasant and we have stayed a number of times at Christmas and they always make you feel welcome. The grounds around the pool are lovely with grass and plants. I would say this is very family friendly, walking distance to the beach as well. There is a market across the street which makes it handy with kids. You are right off the frwy however you do not hear any street noise. Easy to park and access your room.

Room Tip: We like the rooms facing the garden and pool. Nice to sit out with coffee on the balcony or your li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacliff7500, Manager at BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear JudySanClemente,

We are so glad you had a fantastic stay with us! Thank you for highlighting the various amenities we offer to our guests here on property! We are thrilled you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and look forward to seeing you during future stays.

Cordially,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We've lived in Santa Cruz County for 30 years and have gone to Severino's restaurant at the Seacliff Inn a few times, but we never stayed at the Inn or knew anyone who did. We spent a weekend there in June because it was close to our daughter's wedding venue. We were surprised at the size of the place, the very nice pool and lawn area and the size and comfort of our one-bdrm suite. The complimentary breakfast was good. the staff were pleasant and helpful, and overall this was a great stay. It'd be ideal for family get-togethers and kids.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacliff7500, Manager at BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hello ACW86,

Thank you so much for your feedback! I am pleased to hear that your stay was a pleasant surprise. I am thrilled to see that our rooms, hotel grounds and staff exceeded your expectations. We are certainly a family friendly destination and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn

Address: 7500 Old Dominion Court, Aptos, CA 95003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Aptos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Aptos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty of northern California's beaches and lush natural landscape from the comfort of this luxurious Aptos hotel near the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk! Located just minutes from Seacliff Beach, this charming Aptos hotel offers easy access to the area's many attractions. The famed Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk is just a short drive away, as is exciting whale watching, kayaking, sailing and more. Outdoor lovers delight in hiking through the majestic redwoods and other local flora at the nearby Wilder Ranch, Henry Cowell, and Nisene Marks State Parks. Go back in time on the historic Roaring Camp Railroads, sample some of California's finest wines at Santa Cruz wineries or get a glimpse of life under the sea at the world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, less than an hour away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Seacliff Hotel Aptos
Best Western Seacliff Hotel
Best Western Aptos
Aptos Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.