We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and close to everything.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7500 Old Dominion Court, Aptos, CA 95003   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Aptos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very nice and close to everything.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed 4 days and 5 nights in July when our daughter got married nearby.The hotel is situated close to the highway, so you can make a quick trip to Monterey, Santa Cruz or other oceanfront tourist spots. Our room was very clean and well appointed with a balcony overlooking the pool area. The heated pool, hot tub and koi pond made it extra special. We appreciated the great buffet breakfast each morning with its more than average choices. If we go back to this area again, we'll definitely stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    162
    56
    19
    12
See reviews for
185
123
20
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Came here because my other rental I was at was not up to par, so I had to leave. Best Western had great service, nice pool. Room service was good. Bed was EXCELLENT. I have always like BW & this was again a great place to stay

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

This hotel has really nice grounds, with a good size pool and spa. There's a koi pond that the hotel seems really proud of, but is not anything to crow about. The free breakfast is okay, nothing special and it would be a good idea if they shampooed the carpet in the restaurant sometime.

The room itself was a standard hotel room, two beds, a television, etc. The balcony overlooking the pool was nice.
However, the walls in this hotel are paper thin. We discovered this when we could hear the guest next door snoring during the night ( over music playing in our room). We even heard the zipper of his luggage when he packed at 5 a.m.
My recommendation: If you want somewhere quiet, and a decent nights sleep, stay here off season or stay somewhere else with thicker walls during the summer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

I'm not sure who's crazier -- the person who decided this dump should cost $180 per night, or me for paying it and not demanding my money back.

Even for 1/3 of the price, it would NOT have been worth it. Call me crazy, but I expect to be able to sleep in a relatively quiet room. But the only room they had was right across from the laundry room. And with paper thin walls, this was a huge issue in the morning. Actually it was a huge issue at night as well, since other guests were playing loud music outside until midnight.

When they say Best Western Plus, I they don't mean it's any nicer than a regular Best Western. The plus means "Plus a bunch of weird rules." At the front desk we had to sign a long contract agreeing not to make noise, or they'd charge us extra! Guess those rules didn't apply to whoever was making all the racket at night, or the maids doing laundry while gossiping, or the people who got up at 7AM(!!!) for breakfast and shouting at each other across the patio.

The other rule we had to agree to was not to bring alcohol anywhere except my room and the restaurant. Yet in spite of this rule, the bar was happy to bring beer and cocktails straight to the hot tub for other guests. Again, perhaps nobody else had to agree to these rules but me?

But to end this on a positive note, the hotel's river had a lovely collection of koi fish, and their hot tub was fantastic after pulling a muscle in my neck earlier in the day. I'd never even consider staying here again, but maybe I'd sneak in and use the hot tub.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington d.c.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

What a surprise! For a BW, this is a nice place. The grounds were beautiful. It was so nice to sit on the patio with coffee and a book and look out at the garden. The pool is much smaller than it appears on the website, but very relaxing. The restaurant service was not great, but sitting by the waterfall and koi pond makes it seem not so bad.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnelian Bay, Ca
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We have stayed at this property several times. The main draws for us are the lovely grounds, pool and location. Severino's, the onsite restaurant is a close second.

The staff varies from friendly and helpful to less so.; housekeeping is inconsistent but generally good.

Compared with any other property in the area in high season, this is a great value.

Room Tip: Don't think they have elevators in the 6 free-standing buildings; ask for first floor if that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Went for a wedding, left in a rush leaving behind fairly new running shoes and iPad. Called back two days later. They claimed they never saw the iPad, and had already donated the shoes (because they donated items left behind on a "regular basis") Although, they had items (including a different pair of running shoes) from over two months before which hadn't yet been donated. I was able to use an application which tracked my iPad's location. To the hotel...not enough. When we stopped by, there weren't even any notes that we had indeed spoken to a housekeeper who did say the shoes had been donated, and never saw the iPad. I thought it strange how fast my stuff was "donated"...to a Seacliff Inn employee assumably. Even providing the name of the housekeeper wasn't enough. I have been visiting Seacliff Beach for 25 years. I have been soured on the area, and now give my generous business elsewhere. I disabled the iPad, and hopefully no one was able to use it again (doubtful). Good luck with Karma. Stealing is wrong. As is lying.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn

Address: 7500 Old Dominion Court, Aptos, CA 95003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Aptos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Aptos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty of northern California's beaches and lush natural landscape from the comfort of this luxurious Aptos hotel near the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk! Located just minutes from Seacliff Beach, this charming Aptos hotel offers easy access to the area's many attractions. The famed Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk is just a short drive away, as is exciting whale watching, kayaking, sailing and more. Outdoor lovers delight in hiking through the majestic redwoods and other local flora at the nearby Wilder Ranch, Henry Cowell, and Nisene Marks State Parks. Go back in time on the historic Roaring Camp Railroads, sample some of California's finest wines at Santa Cruz wineries or get a glimpse of life under the sea at the world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, less than an hour away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Seacliff Hotel Aptos
Best Western Seacliff Hotel
Best Western Aptos
Aptos Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.