We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This restaurant no longer exists - but see Booka” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Barolo - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ristorante Barolo
8041 Soquel Dr, Aptos, CA 95003
(831) 688-8495
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Aptos
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“This restaurant no longer exists - but see Booka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Ristorante Barolo has closed down and has been replaced by Booka Restaurant. So far, we've only tried Booka for dessert and it was really excellent. We'll review some more after giving it a try for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    5
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
92 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A somewhat disappointing experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We've been to Barolo both before and after the makeover by "Restaurant Impossible". After the makeover, the decor had improved as well as the menu which is well documented in other reviews. A recent trip proved to be somewhat of a disappointment. We dutifully maid a reservation, but it was certainly not required (they don't even bother to write them down). Service has reverted back to the old standard...only one waitress and few tables occupied on a Saturday night at 7PM. It was so quiet it was eerie. We started with an arugula salad which was fresh and tasty although it took a very loooong time to arrive even though we placed our orders when the waitress first arrived at our table (hoping to avoid the delays predicted in other reviews). I ordered the Pollo Alla Voldostana (chicken with prosciutto and cheese) but the chicken was more burnt than cooked and quite dry and salty. My sweetheart ordered the Salmone al Gamberoni (salmon stuffed with prawns) which means they put a few prawns on the salmon before it is served. She was happy with her entree. The wines by the glass were pricey and it was almost impossible to get the attention of the waitress as there were about six occupied tables (with many more empty) and she was the entire waitstaff. Of course, parking was no problem with few patrons to deal with. I wont be back until the next "Restaurant Impossible" makeover....there's always Cafe Sparrow across the street.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good and Bad...what to say?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went to Cafe Barolo before they were featured on Restaurant Impossible and it was strange and not very good (food or service). We went again in November and were pleasantly surprised that the service was great and the food was very, very good. I had a creamy spinach pasta and my husband had a chicken pasta primavera dish. We both ate all of our food. They did not have a children's menu, and suggested instead that the kids share a regular dish. It was more expensive to do it that way, but it was all we could do since we had to feed the kids. It was a bit of a waste of money, because the kids couldn't eat that much. I have heard bad things about this place, but found my second experience to be OK.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa clara
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“TV Program "Restaurant Impossible" Overvue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We visited the restaurant after watching the TV program "Restaurant Impossible".
This eatery is part of the historic Bayview Hotel, Aptos. What we found was a complete redo by the TV program and a friendly, pleasant atmosphere and welcoming environment by the staff. The owner devoted time to explain to us about the remodel, the new menu and the history of Aptos and environs.
Our lunch was good, however the kitchen need to deliver food more promptly. Overall, this restaurant is on the way towards recovery and we are confident they will again be successful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you like butter...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had been to this restaurant several years ago and thought the food was good but, overall, not worth the price. We had a Groupon this time and decided to try it again since we had heard of the t.v. makeover. I was glad we had a a discount. The service was fine. According to our waitress the menu we were ordering from had just been put in place. We ordered penne pasta with italian sausage and urugala. It was laden with cream and butter. It said red wine on the menu so I was anticipating a pomodoro-red wine sauce to complement the stronger sausage and urugala flavors, but any unique flavor combination was overpowered by the cream and butter. We also ordered the lamb chops. We had asked for medium and they came out bloody. It wasn't even close to medium. The vegetables and potato were cooked nicely but were slathered with butter.

We are more fans of food that is prepared so the flavor of the food takes the stage and sauces are accents. We left with stomach aches from so much fat. We didn't finish the plates which were certainly not overloaded with food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Barolo also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Barolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.