We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Beach Resort Get-Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Sands Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rio Sands Hotel to your Saves list
Rio Sands Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 Aptos Beach Drive, Rio Del Mar Beach, Aptos, CA 95003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Aptos
Woolwich, Maine, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perfect Beach Resort Get-Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were immaculate. Great little pool -- staff was very helpful and accomoodating. Breakfasts were delicious --- it was the typical continental breakfast but wirh some nice details like fresh hard boiled eggs.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartfieldGroup, Owner Representative at Rio Sands Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Blueberry B,

Thank you so much for your fabulous review! We pride ourselves on delivering the best customer service possible to ensure your vacation will reach above and beyond your expectations. Your opinion means the world to us.

Thank you for sharing! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    40
    18
    9
    7
See reviews for
62
35
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I went with a group of people. It is very convenient to the beach. It is convenient to Safeway and gas stations and freeway. About 2 mile away so no freeway noise. The small coffee shop and restaurant near the hotel is limited but convenient. New Brighton Beach State Park is also close drive off the freeway.We were visiting family that was camping there.
It is located in a neighborhood setting.
The people staying here might be loud. The parties by the pool end around 10:30pm and some continue to the room. You can hear the noise.
We were in a room where you have the bedroom when you walk in and the kitchen and couch in the back. Kitchen with small stove and small refrig., sink,etc.. You can see on other people's photos.The vinyl couch was comfortable. I removed the three cushions to sleep on since the roll away bed was awful. Large dent in the mattress. You cannot sleep on the roll away. Well removing the cushions you notice that the couch needed much vacuuming. Nice to have extra pillows and blankets to use on the floor with the cushions.
The TV was a nice size. Balcony looked out on the pool with a table and two chairs. The breakfast as mentioned in previous reviews. I thought nice to have a variety of breads to choose from. Cold cereal, hard boiled egg, banana, orange slices, waffle maker, pastries. Basic starch fair. Orange juice and coffee and hot choc. and tea. There was no trays to bring the food to your room. I guess they discourage bringing food to the room. Pool with hot tub. Our family enjoyed the time at the pool area since the fog was in at the beach. Remember only one car per spot at the hotel. You need to park in the neighborhood to not get cited. By the end of the night spots are taken.

Room Tip: No elevator if that is a problem for you. If multiple cars only one car per room. Roll away bed unco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartfieldGroup, Owner Representative at Rio Sands Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Irishtea3,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so pleased you picked the Rio Sands for your coastal getaway! Our hotel and the surrounding area is one of relaxation and the quiet neighborhood definitely lends to that. Though we only provide one parking space per room, the neighborhood makes it possible for guests to safely park on the street without worry. We’re happy you were able to utilize our central location; it is quite helpful to have Safeway and other great shopping and restaurants just a hop, skip and a jump away.

We do our very best to keep the atmosphere mellow and do not consider our property a party hotel in any way. We have the pool and barbeque area available for use throughout the day but we close up the pool at 9pm and the barbeque area promptly at 11pm so our guests can enjoy uninterrupted peace and quiet during the night.

We sincerely apologize if you found your sleeping arrangements in the room to be less than desirable. Our rollaway beds are a great option for people travelling with kids or those who are trying to maximize the space available. We understand that some families choose to stay in one room to cut down on costs while on vacation and we do our best to provide a variety of sleeping options.

Thank you again for taking the time to post such a thorough review! We look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,
The Staff of the Rio Sands Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

attentive, corteous front desk, spacious rooms, breakfast included, small pool and pation on the back of the building. we were really please and enjoyed our stay thoroughly. we have 2 young children (3 yers and 6 months) and the small, fully furnished kitchen area inside the room was a great plus to manage their meal time and cook something for oursleves as well. of course, despite being a motel category, rooms are a bit pricy, but the overall package is definitely worth the bill. the beach is litterally 2 min walking distance from your hotel room. we will get back next time that we travel to California.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartfieldGroup, Owner Representative at Rio Sands Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear LondonGabriele,

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review!

We are excited that you and your family had such a pleasant stay with us!

Hope you’re able to come back for a California getaway sometime soon! Give us a call if you need any vacation planning tips for the area, we’re happy to help.

Sincerely,
The Staff of the Rio Sands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Always a pleasure to stay here. Great spacious rooms, pool, spa and patio area, free breakfast, and a one block walk to the beach! Love all the renovations they have done! We are looking forward to the next time we can visit!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartfieldGroup, Owner Representative at Rio Sands Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Idf1973,

Thank you so much for your fabulous review!

We value the opinions of our guests very highly and are always so pleased to receive positive feedback. It means the world to us.

We are excited for your next visit!

Sincerely,
The Staff of the Rio Sands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, Ca
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel itself is average at best but you are definitely paying for the location. Just over 1 short block to Rio Del Mar beach. We stayed in the Junior Suite and it was OK. The previous reviews state that the motel was remodeled but it didn't seem like it. The staff was friendly and courteous, the pool and jacuzzi area clean, and the breakfast was decent. We only ate their breakfast once and had fresh waffles,fruit and coffee. The wifi was definitely poor. Our girls couldn't get internet service on their phones since the wifi was hit and miss. We count on it to get directions when we are somewhere new. The laptop had better luck. The beds were comfortable and we had some restful nights but make sure to get a fan to put in your room. They get really stuffy when closed up and there's no a/c. We would stay here again just for the convenience of the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My family of four stayed here for 3 days during the week. The location was great; just 1 block from the beach and 1 mile from a Safeway. Most motels in this area are very old and run down. Riosands is also old but it's clean and comfortable. They remodeled their front office. I am only giving them 3 stars because their wifi did not work in the room despite the front desk constantly restarting the router. Also, we did not care for their breakfast (more details below) and the noise level from some loud guests close by penetrated the walls easily making it difficult to get a good night's sleep.
ROOM: We stayed in a family suite on the 1st floor. We loved the separate rooms where the kids had a bunk bed and their own TV and my husband and I had our room with our own TV. The vinyl sofabed was great to lounge in. I only wished that the front room's window had sheer curtains (as did the back room) for more privacy when people walked by. It became a choice between getting enough lighting vs. privacy. The back room exited into the patio where we could also walk to the pool.
KITCHEN: It's small but well equipped for making simple meals. There's a large refrigerator/freezer and a free standing stove/oven. No garbage disposal. The light on top of the stove had a weak fan. The kitchen was situated in our room with the king sized bed. A 30" round dining table was squeezed in between the bed and the kitchen along with 2 chais. It really could not fit 4 people unless you moved the table into the walkway between the bedroom and the kitchen. There's also a patio outside with a table and chairs for eating. The dining area is dark as there are only 2 lights in the room on the opposite wall on both sides of the bed.
BATHROOM: It was small (about 5 x 7). There was no shelf space to put your toiletries on, other than the toilet lid. Ventilation was poor where the small window could not vent the shower steam properly due to the tightly fitted curtain. As a result, the lighting fixture and mirror were rusty.
BREAKFAST: By our 3rd morning, my kids were dreading the breakfast. It mainly consisted of starchy carbs (Belgium waffles, bread for toast and coffee cake/pastry), cereal (only Cheerios and oats), fruit cocktail (from a can - yuck), banana halves, orange slices, hard boiled eggs (the only protein), milk (slim or whole), coffee and orange juice. I would have appreciated some different fresh fruit, yogurt and sausage/bacon. The dining room only had 2 large dining tables, otherwise, the rest of the tables were for 2 people. There's only one person manning the dining room.
I would consider staying here again, but I would check around for a place that had quieter rooms and working wifi in the rooms. A healthier breakfast would be nice too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rio Sands Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear TwinMommie,

We truly appreciate your feedback! Here at the Rio Sands, the guest is
our top priority and if there is anything we can do to make your stay
more pleasant while you're here, please don't hesitate to ask!
We sincerely apologize if your stay with us wasn't up to your
expectations. Each room is different and, more than anything, we want
to help create the best environment for your stay. For instance, if you
were unsatisfied with the lighting in the room, we would be happy to
give you an extra lamp if that's what would provide you with the utmost
comfort. Just ask! If there is no communication between the guest and
the front desk, it's difficult for us to improve upon your experience.
Our wifi is in the process of undergoing an upgrade. This will provide even better connectivity for our guests and is just one of the many amenities that we are constantly improving.

Sincerely,
The Staff of the Rio Sands Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The motel has some upgrades but our room was in an older building (without air conditioning or elevators) and appeared clean but tired. The bathroom is very small. The bedroom was large enough with a king bed, nightstands, table, two chairs, microwave, mini frig, desk and tv/dresser combo. The bed was okay. The pillows were way too soft for my comfort.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioSands, General Manager at Rio Sands Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear gloriousfood 10,
We’re sorry that you were not happy with your room at the Rio Sands Motel. We are a little mystified by your description of the room being “Tired” though.

Our entire motel was redone last year. We remolded the exterior, enlarged the lobby, and refurbished all of our rooms, including the rooms in the building you stayed in. In those rooms in particular we repainted, put in new carpet, tiled the bathrooms, updated light fixtures and mirrors and put in granite vanity tops and new sinks.

It is true that we do not have an elevator, it’s only a two story building, and being on the coast where the year round mean temperature is only 65 degrees, with August being the warmest with an average high temperture of 75 degrees, doesn’t necessitate having air conditioning.

Unfortunately beds and pillows are like wine and art – it all depends on personal taste. All of the “ KING” room types , including the one you stayed in, have Temper-pedic mattresses and we have chosen middle of the road pillows in our attempt to please as many guests as possible.

We strive to make all of our valued guests stays with us as comfortable as possible and your feedback will help us evaluate what we can do better to accomplish this.

Sincerely,
All of us at the Rio Sands Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rio Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Sands Hotel

Address: 116 Aptos Beach Drive, Rio Del Mar Beach, Aptos, CA 95003
Location: United States > California > Aptos
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Aptos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rio Sands Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Sands Hotel is by the beach. Just a 2 minute walk to 20 miles of walkable sea shore. We have rooms with fully stocked kitchenettes, a BBQ area, pool heated to 80 degrees year round. Enjoy our continental breakfast served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rio Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Sands Hotel Aptos
Rio Sands Aptos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Sands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.