We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dinner House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Severino's Bar & Grill

Severino's Bar & Grill
7500 Old Dominion Ct, Aptos, CA 95003-3807
831-688-8987
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 62 Restaurants in Aptos
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Continental
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Aptos, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Food is consistently good. Friday happy hour with appetizers is a must.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Granite Bay, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Living on Borrowed Time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Ate two meals: lunch and dinner and both were so-so quality with slow service. Lunch was fish and chips and it was greasy. French fries were out of the package spicy fries very trite. Dinner was the "Special" swordfish which came with a baked potato and veggies. The potato was good and the veggies were very good. The swordfish was below average, probably frozen, and had a strong fishy taste. Fellow diners at dinner had chicken breasts, ribs, and shrimp and crab salads. All said their meals were good although the service was slow and the servers overloaded with tables.
This used to be a great restaurant but over the years has fallen back on it's reputation and let the food quality and service go downhill. The dining room is understaffed and the service is too slow. $30 per person with gratuity was a little steep.
The live music in the bar started at 8PM and the noise level in the dining room is unbelievable; way too loud for conversation. There should be some sort of divider between the bar and dining room to control the noise.
I won't ge going back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Live Music”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Great live music, ok food good atmosphere. Nice patio with waterfall pond fish tranquil.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Less than expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

The food was cold. Our server came to us before we were half way through our dinner to ask if we want desert so she could let "the desert guy" go home. We were rushed out! We spent almost $80 for 2 and did not have a great experience.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I am not sure how their food is prepared or their supplier. The prices are great but i have had two prime ribs that i could not cut through and that were not good quality. In fact, the cartilage grossed me out. I am told the fish is fresh but why a crabmeat "mouse" in it with unknown ingredients. I would like crabmeat not a mouse. Desserts are typical ice cream heavy sugar syrup classics.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Severino's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Severino's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Severino's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.