We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and miss” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bittersweet Bistro

Bittersweet Bistro
787 Rio Del Mar Blvd, Aptos, CA 95003-4727
+1 831-662-9799
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 60 Restaurants in Aptos
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Californian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Recognized by locals as one of the top restaurants in Aptos and Santa Cruz County, Bittersweet Bistro offers an American Bistro Cuisine style dinner menu with Mediterranean influences. Outstanding dessert menu and an award-winning wine list are served in a casual, relaxed atmosphere in the dining room, heated outdoor patio and new lounge.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Some days this is really good and others not so much, I don't know how a place can put out great food one day then really miss the mark the next. The bar tenders are good, but sometimes I feel they don't see me. Happy hour is always a good value and I can take my dog on the patio. I'll go back if friends say they want to go, but it's never my first choice.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    17
    11
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sun City West, Arizona
Top Contributor
472 reviews 472 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot, but food needs some work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Lovely, lively patio - with very good daily specials. This may be the best deal.
We ate inside and had full dinners. Service was extremely professional and capable.
There is a wide variety of things on the menu - and love the option of small portions of anything.
But food was not top-notch. Fish was OK; vegetarian pizza was good, but was luke-warm. Not my favorite.
So grab a friend or family (dogs included) and head for the patio on a nice summer day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corralitos
1 review
“crowded dogs allowed food mediocre”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

nothing is more unappetizing than animals next to what is suppose to be a better dining experience. the food was substandard. however , the staff was excellent. for the price ,as a local, i can think of many better venues. my memory has it that it was more enticing in the past...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

couldn't get much better than this place... the food was amazing, the service was great. we will definitely be coming back!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We took a friend out to dinner here for his birthday. We had a perfect table in the corner of the dining room that was nicely decorated with balloons and streamers. The service and the food could not have been better. We had fish dinners, and the fish was perfectly cooked and delicious. Don't miss this place, it's wonderful!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bittersweet Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Bittersweet Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bittersweet Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.