We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B in a Magical Garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Rock Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aptos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sand Rock Farm
Save
You added Sand Rock Farm to your Saves list
6901 Freedom Blvd, Aptos, CA 95003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Aptos B&B and Inns
Tucson
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous B&B in a Magical Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Sand Rock Farm and loved every minute of it. The house is beautiful...full of wonderful treasures. Our room (one of the least expensive) was lovely and comfortable and had everything we needed including fresh flowers from the garden. The house has a great enclosed sunporch which we adopted as our special place to read and relax after a day of hiking.

Even better than the house are the grounds around it. Chris's gardens are a delight with blooms of every kind which in turn attract a wide variety of birds. We began and ended each day with a walk around the grounds enjoying the fresh air scented with dozens of kinds of flowers and filled with birdsong.

And to top it all off, Chris was a wonderful hostess - friendly, attentive and very accomdodating. My husband is wheat intolerant and she very graciously provided him with breakfasts that were perfect for his needs. Meanwhile I enjoyed all the regular yummy things like goat cheese souffle and blueberry coffeecake.

Add to all this that Sand Rock Farm is convenient both to Santa Cruz, Elkhorn Slough area (for birding) and Monterey and it was a pretty perfect getaway.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    6
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
71
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

My husband and I chose Sand Rock Farm for our wedding ceremony and extended stay for our family. The proprietor Kris Sheehan took care of all the wedding ceremony arrangements and was incredibly flexible in handling all the finer details - right down to clipping fresh flowers from her gardens to decorate our wedding cake and a late night pizza run the night before the ceremony. The accommodations were first class - the photos simply do not do justice to the absolute beauty and comfort of this bed and breakfast. The grounds are stunning, the rooms perfectly charming, the staff pleasant and helpful and the food INCREDIBLE. We felt that the service and experience were a tremendous value - we intend to come back just as soon as we can!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed on Valentine's Day. two couples, one downstairs in garden room, one upstairs with jacuzzi. We were out late at night but able to slip in without disturbing anyone, up for late breakfast which was amazing, and took a long walk throughout the grounds and nearby woods. We spent a long time researching for a nice place to stay in this area, other than the usual overpriced and barely acceptable beach places. If the price is right for you, and this place is worth every penny, and you don't want to be in town or on the beach, don't bother looking any further. You can see and experience the love and care that Kris has put into Sand Rock Farm. This kind of attention to setting and guest experience is extremely rare; take advantage of it if you can.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed at Sand Rock Farm for 3 nights and had a truly wonderful stay. We stayed in the Hidden Garden room with the hot tub and loved every minute. The room has its own entrance with an amazing garden. The hot tub was great! Just the perfect temperature! The room also had a front entrance onto a beautiful porch that faced west and we sat there as the sun went down drinking a nice glass of French Rose. The breakfast was amazing with fresh fruits and vegetables from the owner's garden. The landscaping on the property is out of this world! If you are a plant person like me you will love it. This is a very secluded property which is exactly what I was looking for in order to relax and get out of L.A. The house also has so much character. Our stay was truly one we will remember forever! We would definitely stay here again and mostly likely will. Thanks Kris!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

Sand Rock Farm Bed and Breakfast is a magical oasis tucked in the hills of Aptos. The beauty and serenity of the surroundings are compounded by the gentle and welcoming nature of the proprietor, Kris. You can lose yourself walking through the gardens and grounds that surround the house.
Each corner of the house or your room is inviting and warm. Personally, getting out of the luxury of my bed was a hard thing to bare, but consoled by the delectable breakfast.

This was an unexpected discover during my trip in California, and one I will treasure and return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

Great place to get away from it all without much of a drive (from neighboring Santa Cruz or Bay area). Lovely rooms, beautiful walks within the old farm property. Wonderful inn keeper!
Breakfast was delicious!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

I recently visited this place with my boyfriend. We had a perfect time. We were looking for a quiet, relaxing place to get away for a night that was relatively close to San Francisco, and we felt like we struck gold with this B&B near Santa Cruz.

The owner, Kris, could not have been more accommodating. First of all, because this was the low season, she agreed to waive the two-night minimum stay requirement. Then, I asked her to help me surprise my boyfriend with a surprise in the room. I requested a very specific dessert that I thought she would never find, and a bottle of champagne, and wow did she deliver--even though I made the request just a day in advance. When we arrived, the dessert and champagne were arranged beautifully on the table in our room. And she charged only $20 for the whole surprise! Finally, again probably because it was the low season, and because she knew we arrived pretty late the night before, Kris offered to push back our breakfast and check-out time significantly.

Now about the place itself. The room we stayed in, the Honeycomb, was delightful. We loved the seating area and comfortable bed, but the highlight was the private jacuzzi! Plus, the whole place is sooo nice and quiet due to its secluded location away from the highway. In the morning, the dining room was elegantly set up with coffee and juice, and Kris served us the most delicious breakfast of french toast and sausage.

When you come here, make sure you take a walk around the grounds. People rent this place for weddings, and we quickly found out why: it's surrounded by awesome gardens, fountains, and a cool outdoor stage and reception area. We spent a good hour just walking around and exploring.

As we were leaving, Kris recommended that we check out Aptos's beach, called Seacliff State Beach, rather than head to Santa Cruz. We were very happy we did. Seacliff is more beautiful than Santa Cruz (in my opinion) but somehow much less crowded! And the cement ship was very cool.

We will definitely be back to the Sand Rock Farm!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sand Rock Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Rock Farm

Address: 6901 Freedom Blvd, Aptos, CA 95003
Location: United States > California > Aptos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Aptos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate the Art of the Good Life at our turn-of-the-century country estate/former winery. Local produce is incorporated in culinary marvels served at breakfast. Proprietor Kris Sheehan gives insider tips on wineries, antiquing and specialty garden nurseries. Fountains splash, art and artifacts abound, sunlight streams into this glorious Arts-and-Crafts farmhouse, nestled in ten acres of meadows, twisting oaks and towering redwoods on the Monterey Bay. "Simplicity at its best." ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Rock Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.