We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rio Aptos

Cafe Rio Aptos
131 Esplanade, Aptos, CA 95003-4501
+1 831-688-8917
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 60 Restaurants in Aptos
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Californian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Local Favorite! Amazing views of the Monterey Bay, this restaurant has food for everyone...including Gluten Free Pastas, Steaks, Fresh Seafood, House made Desserts. You can also bring your tail wagging friend because the spacious heated patio is Dog friendly.
Merseyside
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Called here for dinner on spec, and were delighted with both food and service. Town itself has a bit of a "throw back" feel but this restaurant located adjacent the beach provided an uplifting dinner for both of us. Food was excellently cooked and presented, and the restaurant area itself was pleasant, despite the presence of a bar area at the rear of the room.
Not the cheapest food but well worth the money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    25
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Good food again! Our server bummed us out though.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Rio has come through some hard times over the years.
Like many tourist dependant businesses in our area they need the locals to get through the slow months. For the Rio, it seems they get a few good years and then a few not-so-good years.

Two of us walked in on a thursday night (6/13/13) about 7pm and the place looked pretty full. We wern't too surprised because it's that time of year for our area. The last few times we came here was about 2 years prior, and the food was not, repeat, was not worth the high prices. Though we did have a pretty good time, mainly because of our server.

This time though, the food was really good (seafood and steaks,, mmm mmm good) but our server, Cristina (impatient, snippy and unattentive) was not. Crappy service will kill repeat business instantly.

The Rio just can't seem to get it ALL right. There are so many good places in our area that consistantly give you their all (The Hind Quarter, The Point Chop House, The Cafe Cruz, The Crows Nest and more) theres no reason to gamble $75+ on a night out. We're out to dinner a minimum of 3 to 4x a month and we always appreciate (and reward) sincere service.

Just one local family's opinion.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were debating whether to go here after reading some of the past reviews on trip advisor but there were also some excellent reviews so we decided to try it. As another reviewer put it, the sand dabs were excellent! My husband had the seafood special which was shrimp raviolis with opah ( a nice white fish), sun dried tomatoes, and spinach. Also delicious! The waitress was very friendly and competent. I would highly recommend this restaurant. I hope to come back sometime and sit outside with one of the $10 special nights- it was rainy so we couldn't do that this time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bar and Patio Menu worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Nightly $10 specials. My wife is a devotee of Liguini and clams with a glass of wine on Tuesday night, I like the burger and brew on Monday.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“UNhappy hour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hadn't been the Cafe Rio in a long time...last experience was less than stellar. Did re-con by trying the $10 Bar Menu on Tuesday evening. We both had the Linguini w/White Clam Sauce which comes with a glass of house wine. The linguini was very good, no oil slick at the bottom of the bowl like other places, the wine was o.k. Anyway, you can have the bar menu in the bar or out on the patio. If the weather is nice,opt for the patio. We made the mistake of eating in the bar-bunch of old local bar flies standing around slamming their bar dice cups betting on who would buy the next round. They seemed like they're "too at home" as if they were at someone's house & we felt like we were intruding on their turf. There was a TV on, but you couldn't hear it because of the loud noises from them. It seems that it's a bar first & the restaurant was an afterthought. The atmosphere was better at the Wild Buffalo Wings Sports Bar we went to last week. It really detracted from the overall upscale look of the restaurant and quality of the food. Might try again but only in the restaurant at the farthest table away from the bar or out on the patio.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rio Aptos also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Rio Aptos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rio Aptos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.