We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful state park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest of Nisene Marks State Park

Forest of Nisene Marks State Park
Aptos, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Aptos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Backpacking, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The location of 1989's devastating earthquake.
Bay Area, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful state park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This park is HUGE and filled with tall redwood trees, creeks, and challenging trails that you can't find anywhere else but in California. It's a dirt road to get in, but it's still pretty easy to get there.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    15
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cameron Park, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just a great place to hike. Nice trails and few people. Lots of trees and quiet. Great place to commune with nature.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Feel away from everything in your local neighborhood.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Beautiful, dense foilage with great trails to cover while biking or hiking.
Just minutes away from local townships and shops but you can feel like you are a world away in those few minutes.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just for biking or hiking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Like most State Parks, you have to pay to park here (it is $10.00/day now). This park does not offer camping or any other organized activities (like Ranger programs or wildlife hikes), but has pretty extensive trails for walking/hiking or mountain bike riding. I'd say the bike riders love this place, and if that is what you want to do here, this is a PERFECT place to come. Sometimes while walking the trails you feel like you are in the way of the bikers since the trails are narrow and one must yield since both cannot abide at the same time. The bikers have been polite and go slow around folks on foot, but you can still feel a bit in the way on a busy day. The bike trail goes way up over the SC mountains and over to Los Gatos, so that is very cool for the riders. I am a hiker/walker, and take my kids or dog on the leash, so my perspective is limited. One year some hikers had been by the water and were attacked by a nest of yellow jackets (which happens in the wild), so I am wary of the trails by the water and watch for in-ground nests when I go there. It is beautiful and is very close by town. Super easy to get to and to leave.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Bay
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Access and ambiguous directions led to a destination that had very little to see or do. At one time it was possible to see what was considered the "epicenter of the Loma Prieta Earthquake", if we were there, we didn't know it.

And the roads were not in very good condition.

Maybe a result of gov't budget cuts, but still disappointing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forest of Nisene Marks State Park also viewed

 

Been to Forest of Nisene Marks State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest of Nisene Marks State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.