We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the trip” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Forest of Nisene Marks State Park

Forest of Nisene Marks State Park
Aptos, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Aptos
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Backpacking, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The location of 1989's devastating earthquake.
Hercules, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

First off, it's difficult to find. There are no signs pointing to the park until you're already on the road to the entrance. My Nav system led me miles away to a closed road that may at one time have gone into the park. The only way I found it was to put the name of the road it was on into the nav system.

Long story short: the only road into the park is unpaved, and no matter how slowly you drive on it, you'll kick up a bunch of dust. The plants along the way are so covered with dirt that they look like papier-mache models.

The trails are poorly marked, and don't have any directions along the way. It's like the park was started but never finished, and then abandoned. The park ranger didn't even know how to get to the loop trail - he just said "I think it's over there."

My wife and I spent our whole time in the park trying to find the trail. This place may be great if you want to get lost and pretend you're in unspoiled wilderness, you might like this. But if you'd like a nice environment with fun hikes and well-marked trails, avoid this one at all costs.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    15
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ceres, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing forest in the midst of a citiy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

It is a deep dark forest with trails, bridges, huge old-growth trees, undergrowth that begs exploring, and un-paved roads with steel bridges over incredible crevases! It has picnic spots and hiking trails woven throughout the surprising large park area. This part is a destination - plan to spend the entire day there, which is weird being so close to the ocean!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Mountain Biking and Hiking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Little hidden gem in Aptos. Just go and see for yourself. You will thank me.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Easy Walk in the Redwoods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We walked our dog and enjoyed the coolness of the forest. It isn't far to see a picturesque creek, bridge, and gorge. It was on a quiet weekend- lucky us.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, CA
Level Contributor
196 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Hike or bike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is a wonderful state park. I often bike in to some trail head and then hike deep into the redwoods along a trickling waterway. When really ambitious, I've biked up the incline to Sand Point Overlook, a true workout. However, there area many beautiful trails starting from the park entrance and leading down to the river and through the thick forest.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forest of Nisene Marks State Park also viewed

 

Been to Forest of Nisene Marks State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest of Nisene Marks State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.