We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT worth the money, go somewhere else!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Seascape Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Seascape Resort to your Saves list
Seascape Resort
1 Seascape Resort Dr., Aptos, CA 95003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Aptos
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“NOT worth the money, go somewhere else!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

For several years, we have enjoyed going to the Seascape Resort. However, this trip has been a huge disappointment. The Front Desk service is non-existent, and they are as unhelpful as humanly possible. We waited over 4 hours for our room once we got to the hotel; however, we had a hungry and tired 1 year old, and were still forced to wait for "housekeeping to complete their job." With that said, when we asked for a late check out, they said they have high turn over, so we can't stay later. So we couldn't check in early, we couldn't check out late when we departed, which means they need over 5 hours to clean the room. RIDICULOUS. In addition, the walls are paper thin, so we could hear the family upstairs and the family next door. I'd expect more for a $600/night villa. I agree with the other users, the decor, etc is a joke. But I don't care about any of that. I just want professional customer service who have answers to questions, and can accommodate simple requests. Even though we have been coming for years to Seascape Resort I think we will be trying a new resort in the future.

Room Tip: If the reservations dept gives you a room, please know that you will NOT get that room upon arrival...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeascapeManagement, Manager at Seascape Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry we were not able to accommodate your request for an earlier check in and that your room was not ready until 3:10pm. As you have experienced in the past, we make every effort to accommodate requests for early check ins and late check outs. Unfortunately this was not possible during this visit due to other guest requests. Please know that we take your comments to heart and we will share your feedback with all of our staff members. We do hope that you reconsider and will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    107
    42
    33
    17
See reviews for
122
77
1
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new york
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We went for a family reunion. The positives were that the rooms were nice, spacious and very comfortable! The pools were small for a resort and not very warm. The beach was very pretty, although freezing. The lunch we ordered one day was very good. The bonfire at the beach was a highlight for the kids and adults!

The Negatives: Most resorts will offer a private room or section of a restaurant for you to hold at least one gathering. We had a dinner in a private room the first night. The prices were out of control and I am used to NY City prices. The food selection in the buffet was not only poor, but horribly over cooked. The kids buffet consisted of frozen or what seemed like frozen pizza for about $30 per child. Although the beach was pretty, they did not offer chairs for hotel guests. That was very disappointing. I don't know how we were expected to bring our own beach chairs from New York. I would not recommend this resort for a large group. They should have put our rooms closer together and arranged some activities for us.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on a lower level if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeascapeManagement, Manager at Seascape Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for selecting our resort for your family reunion. Many of our guests enjoy our spacious rooms and beach bonfires. Our pizza is made in-house and is not frozen. The children had the option of enjoying the pizza in addition to all the other buffet options that were available for your family. Our Concierge is always happy and available to assist with arranging activities such as golf, tennis, wine tasting, whale watching, spa services, etc. Beach chair rentals are also available through our Concierge. We appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with all departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We rented a two bedroom place. The beach was awesome for our 2 year old and the grounds are nice and well kept. As other reviews note, the decor is TIRED - very outdated, 80's beachy themed. Rooms were nicely sized and I thought the overall cleanliness was very good. We liked having a full kitchen, dishwasher, grill and washing machine, which we had to unexpectedly use.
Overall, perfectly acceptable place for a weekend family getaway. One note: DO NOT ORDER ROOM SERVICE! We decided to splurge for breakfast in and the food was awful, parts of our order were missing - not worth $80 for three of us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeascapeManagement, Manager at Seascape Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. While we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the beach and amenities in the two bedroom villas, we are disappointed to hear that your Room Service order was not up to our standards. We will contact you directly to get more specific information regarding the problems you encountered with your Room Service order. This fall, we will start renovations in our North Bluff Villas. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you are looking for a quite romantic resort where you hear the waves crashing don't stay here.

The rooms look like they have not been renovated since the 70s. Dark dingy rooms totally dated. Dated wood furniture, totally dated interiors and washrooms. Paper thin walls; heard someone snoring and it was not my partner. The snoring was from another room. She too heard it.

The resort is built well above and well back from the ocean. We had an partial ocean view room but from inside the ocean was not visible.

It is a cluster of buildings and after checking in you drive to your building and drag your bags up at least one flight of stairs (perhaps 4 if you are on the top floor).

Not well maintained. Dirty dishes from room service were outside beside our door from the moment we arrived until the next morning.

The pictures on their website certainly did not look like the room we were staying in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have stayed at the Seascape a couple of times. I used to live in the area so maybe that negatively taints my review. The location is spectacular and the views are the best avaiable in the area. The restaurants across the street are good and the restaurant on property is really good. The service at the restaurant is good but the service at the hotel is okay and not very inviting. I have stayed 3 times, Both vacation and business, and found the customer service to be haughty. The rooms are a little dated and this last time loud. If you are coming for vacation this is really the best spot in the area for family and friends. I commute back to the area once a month and will probably not stay there for business again. I just can't justify the expense for what you get. If you have never been to this area and are coming for vacation I recommend staying in Monterey and making a day trip to Santa Cruz. The lodging offerings in Monterey are much better and there is plenty to do within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Seascape Resort for a couple days while visiting central California. I love the location between Santa Cruz and Monterey as we visited both towns while we were there. Enjoyed the beach bonfire service that you can order for an additional charge. That was a family favorite. Our room was dated and could definitely use a major upgrade. However, I was presently surprised that I never heard any surrounding guest with the suites being close to each other. Really liked the seascape market area but again the fitness center is really out dated. The suite price is reasonable but would hope they can begin to update their rooms and fitness center. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, Ca
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The customer service is amazing and they were able to provide anything that was requested(sugar, toothbrush, more pots). We rented the villa with partial-ocean view and it was so beautiful. We were able to sleep with the slider open and fall asleep to the waves. The room was comfortable for 6 (4 adults & 2 teens). While we've stayed in hotels with more comfortable beds, we were still able to sleep restfully. We did do the bonfire one evening and it was worth the price. Everything was provided and ready to go so all we had to do was enjoy the evening. We did ours at 8:30pm which was perfect since it started out light then we got to enjoy the fire in the darkness. The entire stay we never felt like it was crowded even though the resort was full. Usually towards the end of vacation, we are ready to go home but none of us wanted to leave and could have used more time. I highly recommend this resort and our family will be back next year.

Room Tip: Ste.18 & 19 had great partial-ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seascape Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Resort

Address: 1 Seascape Resort Dr., Aptos, CA 95003
Location: United States > California > Aptos
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Aptos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Seascape Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seascape Resort Aptos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seascape Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.