We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff needs improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seascape Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Seascape Resort to your Saves list
Seascape Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Seascape Resort Dr., Aptos, CA 95003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Aptos
Davis
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Staff needs improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

We spent a weekend at the Seascape Resort . We got a great online rate. There was an additional "resort" fee which may be common at other resorts. But since everyone has to pay it, seems like they should just include it in the rate. Our check-in time was listed for 4:00 p.m. We got there ten minutes early and were reprimanded for asking for our room so early. We were "allowed" to check in, and asked to give our cell phone number so they could call when the room was ready. An hour later, they had not called us, so at 5:00 p.m. I returned to the front desk to ask whether our room was available. They wanted to check us in again, although I told them I had already checked in. Our room was ready at that time, and I asked why I hadn't received a phone call informing us that our room was available. I did not receive any answer. The deluxe studio was very clean, but dated, with peeling wallpaper. The small kitchenette was also clean and well-stocked. Although we didn't need it, there was a standing fan available since the unit did not have air conditioning. The resort's gardens and beach were very nice. We especially appreciated the hotel providing transportation to and from the beach, which is handy if you have lots of beach towels, toys, cooler, etc. Unfortunately, the driver wasn't friendly and seemed annoyed. Very convenient to a small shopping center.

  • Liked — close to the beach
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    123
    50
    38
    20
See reviews for
138
89
3
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

We just came back from three nights there with our kids. Service was bad - was directed to the wrong wing when we got there. The kids and I were schlepping our bags all over and could night find our unit. Found out it was all the way on the other side of the property. The staff member at the desk had given us a map with directions to the wrong place so we had to schlep everything back again. Very annoying. One day we came back from a busy day at the boardwalk and was looking forward to a nice clean room and the room was never serviced! Appalling! I've stayed at some expensive hotels in my time and never did I have to remind them to clean my room! And the unit had ants. We paid a LOT of money to stay here and it was definitely not worth what we paid. Very poor value.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

We just got back from another family trip to Seascape and it was just as fabulous as last time. We were lucky, the weather gods smiled on us and it was sunny and gorgeous the whole time but for a little bit of morning marine layer a couple of the days.

We stayed in the same room as we did last time and enjoyed the same spectacular view. Our check in was a breeze, the desk clerk was kind enough to give us two logins for the wireless internet (as we brought two laptops with us) and was friendly and efficient.

The beach is long, clean and un-crowded, at least at this time of year. We walked for ages taking lots of photos and enjoying the sunshine and the fresh ocean breeze.

We had take-out twice from the Village Host Pizza (a family favourite) which was just as yummy as we remembered and spent a lot more time relaxing on the resort instead of taking a lot of day trips elsewhere.

This place certainly is pricey even in the off-season but you are paying for location and the amazing views, not the room decor. We consider it money well spent and would most definitely make a return trip.

  • Liked — The Views!
  • Disliked — Could use an upgrade to the furnishing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2008

I stayed at the hotel for a corporate event so I didn't get a chance to use all the facilities but with that caveat here's the run-down.

First be aware that this is more a condominium property than a hotel... that's neither good or bad it's just not what I would have expected

The good... location right at the top of the cliffs overlooking the ocean, fantastic wide sandy beach, friendly staff, clean and very well maintained rooms, great views from the rooms... I could see the waves from the bedroom... food was tasty

The average... most of the hotel is decorated circa 1989... pastel colors and vertical blinds in the rooms, funky multi-building layout, and small yet two-story "villas" that are frustrating to move around, little ambiance... just had a sterile feel for such a spectacular location

Bottom line: don't go here for anything other than the beach. A good place for a family weekend with kids. Several pools. IMHO ot for a romatic getaway or a special weekend away.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

I've stayed at Seascape a few times before and enjoyed it, but noticed many differences this time around.
We were lucky enough to get an end room which is nice for the extra windows in the rooms. The downfall to this, though, was because of the cool weather, the room was cold due to the single-paned windows. Given the size of the living area, running the heat made the room too hot no matter what temperature we chose, so it was a constant battle of turning the heat off and on. A resort hotel of Seascape's calibre should not have these problems and I wouldn't be wrong in saying that double-paned windows are a must given the location.
Another big problem was parking. Since we had an end room situated close to where you drive in to the resort, we wanted to park somewhere near our room. Friday night we managed to find a place in the garage. Saturday night when we returned from dinner (burned pizza from across the street) there was literally no where to park on the entire property. It might have been 6:30 PM or so and the lot was filled to capacity! There was no indication of a large event taking place and by 8 AM the next morning the majority of the cars were gone. We finally opted to park in a loading zone and take our chances. Why are there not any assigned parking places? This is a huge problem. Paying top dollar as you do at Seascape, guests should not have to circle 'round and 'round looking for a parking spot even remotely close to their room.
Like others, I feel the prices are very high for what you get overall. Even at the winter special rates, it's a stretch.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

With the many foggy beaches we have in Northern California us bay area beach lovers are hard pressed to find a weekend retreat for sun and sand-if there's any exception to the
San Francisco Fog on the water ...this is it.

I've heard a couple of theories of why this place clinging to a cliffside in Aptos seems to be less prone to fog and overcast skies that HMB, Santa Cruz. Monterey or Carmel-one being that they way it is situated on the coast it is inset and the mountains behind ther resort somehow keep the bog at bay-who knows?

What I can say for sure is that we had a Valentines Day at this resort that was like a San Diego summer day. When we arrived it was bright and sunny w/o a cloud in the sky and it stayed that way until our beach fire picnic at sunset-what a dream.

The golf carts that caddy you up and down the hill are convenient and they will take a couple of beach chairs down for you for $5 each (we brought our own since were up and down so often and had a TripAdvisor heads-up.)
Angelo the bellman was very personable and accomodating-very nice guy.

They will make a beach side fire in their cement fire pits for you for $70. I thought that price was a little high to make a fire -i read elsewhere on TripAdvisor that someone advised to bring a Duraflame log so we did and made a fire in the cement pit on the beach-perfect for the cost of the $3 log.

This place is pricey for the facilities and rooms-you're paying for the location for sure- but this is said to be the best beach in Nor cal and I agree. I do see what other TripAdvisors meant by the dated rooms. The downsides are the whitewashed birch furniture that looks like it was consigned from the set of the Golden Girls, the brass fixtures thoughout, the drab and dated painting of the exterior of the whole facility. A bellman told us this place was built in 1995-what?! I KNOW that some of this dated hotel room and pool furniture was NOT even still manufactured in 1995-they must have bought alot of furnishings used.

The upsides of the facility itself are a plasma TV and DVD/Cd player in every room, killer views in all 3 rooms we occupied (we extended our stay a bit:)

Oh-word to the wise about views...You can pay one set price for a 2 bedroom (299.00 in february w/ a promotional $50 room credit used toward dining) and the views from a 2 bedroom can vary GREATLY. The front desk automatically booked us in a 2 bedroom waaaay back and when I asked if there was one with a better view they moved us forward about 5 units where they view was FANTASTIC- that was suite 58...so ask if you have the best available room for the price you're paying.

Also-upon booking our reservation for a One Bedroom (not studio) the extra helpful Celia in reservations offered that her favorite rooms are actually THE STUDIOS (about $10 less expensive than one bedrooms per night) since those ones are on the top floor and have vaulted ceilings. She was right -I figured if anything can make a room feel "not Motel-ly" it would be vaulted celings- the room was great and still had a balcony, couch and sitting area and kitchenette...that was room 300-an end unit- great for limiting noise.

If this place put a few million into updating those dollars would be best used painting the outisde or re-doing siding, keeping up with the industry by offering better than standard beds and pillows, changing out a few of the most 80's pieces of furniture. Grounds are impeccible, staff was very nice, beach is super clean-shocking I know.

Before I had the impression that Seascape and Aptos were entirely made up of Anglo Retiree's, but over the weekend I saw many families, some with small children, and alot of diversity-nice...a really great family resort feel.

Food was excellent at Palapas (homemade tortillas) and really great at Sanderlings and at the coffeshop/cafe across the street (very inexpensive breakfast) -all 3 times.

Pool areas were simple but nice but not quite the 80 degrees they bragged about- since the fog definitely rolled in the 3rd morning of our stay it was definitely too cold to swim in them or put my 1 year old in, but the hot tub was nice & HOT for the grown ups.

I almost forgot to mention when we checked in early to the two bedroom (on the last day when our family joined us) the common area of the room wasn't cleaned yet-not too bad of a mess at all but it was a little annoying that I called Scott at the front desk and his response was "Ok-thanks for letting us know." When someone else called back to offfer a housekeeper to come I said we had already cleaned up (wiped down tables and counters, threw out trash) no biggie -but he said he could not adjust the price of the room at all. (hmm-again a little pricey for that kind of service) I guess people just expect more from a $300 room, you know?

Overall, this place could be an awesome gem that would frequently be chosen over the Ritz in HMB (Northern California's true coastal gem) if they would update the afrorementioned -but if you can afford the price and adjust your expectations a little for a $300 room-this place is overall totally satisfactory with an outstanding location.

Pack your beach chairs, Duraflame, smores supplies and ENJOY!

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location!
  • Disliked — A bit pricey for the dated nature of the resort
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2008

We only stayed one night as we were moving our daughter back into UC Santa Cruz, but had a very nice split-level, 2-bdr unit in one of the northern-most buildings...and we liked it. Only wish we'd had more time to explore the property. It was on a special they offered their email list recipients, a little more than we like to pay, but thought we'd give it a shot. Ate at the Mexican restaurant across the street and it was very good. Would stay there more if the prices were a bit more reasonable. The staff were very friendly, helpful and answered all our questions completely.

  • Liked — Unit was spotless with amenities galore
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aptos
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn
2.0 mi away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitola By-the-Sea Inn & Suites
5.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz-Capitola
10.1 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Resort

Address: 1 Seascape Resort Dr., Aptos, CA 95003
Location: United States > California > Aptos
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Aptos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seascape Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Seascape Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seascape Resort Aptos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seascape Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.