We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Our new home away from home"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1184 Church St., Angels Camp, CA 95222   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Angels Camp B&B and Inns
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Our new home away from home"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My parents stayed at the Cooper House many years ago. They talked about it for many years after... Rob and Tey are the new owners! Good job you two! Quality linens, fantastic mattress, nice pillows, spotless rooms. We really loved the green soap shaped like a frog. The free beer, wine and bottled water is a nice touch. Direct TV and the flat screen is really cool too! We could have sat next to the large fire place all night. Tey takes care of the breakfast, "yummy" then runs the upscale candy store downtown, "yummy". Downtown is a nice easy walk from the Inn. Sidewinders is the best place for lunch. When we go wine tasting in the foothills, the Cooper House will be "our new home away from home".

Room Tip: Book the Chardonnay room. It has a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teycross, Owner at The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review. As a small veteran operated business it is very important to us that our guest enjoyed their stay. Your support and business is also very important to us and we truly appreciate it. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
42
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
247 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

5+ stars for Rob and Tey - the incredible hosts at Cooper House. They were so gracious, friendly, and truly took care of us during our stay. I even have a very unusual food allergy, and they went out of their way to make sure that was taken care of so that my breakfasts had all the "parts," too.

My husband and I were at Cooper House for 3 nights. It was very nice to be able to choose what we wanted for breakfast from their menu; the menu included both cold breakfast items as well as hot dishes. Tea and coffee are available all day long, along with soda, wine, and beer. We were treated to freshly baked cookies in the afternoon.

We loved that Cooper House is close to wonderful old downtown Angels Camp. We walked easily down and enjoyed the shops, restaurants, and also the theater on the main street!!! All the shop keepers were so friendly.

The Inn was very clean - and since we were the only guests during our stay, we were able to really enjoy the living room and fireplace completely. We felt very comfortable laying on the carpeted floor in front of the fireplace. It was very relaxing - just what we needed. It was very quiet and no noise distraction of any kind.

The front porch was very inviting with a couple sets of chairs; the weather was such that we didn't sit out there but . . it would be lovely in warmer weather.

There are board games for guests to play; we'd planned to do that - but . .just relaxed instead!

Cooper House in Angels Camp is centrally located so that day trips can easily be made - in all directions.

Robes are provided. In that this is, as shared previously, an older home - the former home of Dr. Cooper, while each room has a designated private bathroom, the bathrooms are not part of the bedroom. Again, the bathrooms were spotless and very nice amenities (soap, shampoo/conditioner and lotion).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teycross, Owner at The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. As a very small veteran operated bed and breakfast your business and support is so very much appreciated. We strive very hard to assure each and every guest needs are met and I'm glad we were able to accommodate your special needs. Again, thank you for reviewing your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 3-night stay at the Cooper House, and we loved it! Rob and Tey were warm, welcoming hosts, and if we are ever staying in the Calaveras/Amador area again, this will be our first choice!

The house itself is darling ... house of Dr. Cooper, former doctor in Angel's Camp. It has all of the charm of an older house, but with modernized amenities that do not make it feel like a rustic experience. :-) Since we were there in December, and it was chilly, we didn't really take advantage of the amazing front porch OR our own private deck outside of our room (one of the perks of the Chardonnay room), but if we come back in a warmer season, would love to enjoy a cup of tea or glass of wine out there.

As it was, we got to enjoy the main sitting room instead, which had a wood burning stove going all the time, ... great place to sit and read your book, or play some of the board games that they have available for guests to use. You can even pour yourself a glass of wine or beer, or make a cup of coffee and have a fresh homemade cookie to go with it. :-) Every. Day. :-)

It is very QUIET. We enjoyed that. Just what we were hoping for!

The breakfast was so good, and I really appreciated the attention to local and organic foods. I know that is not easy or cost-efficient for hotels and restaurants to do, no matter how much better it is for you than conventional. What separated Cooper out from other B&Bs that we have stayed at is that you get to choose what you'd like for breakfast, every day. There is a nice variety of selections, and it was fun to get to try several delicious things. Since our last morning was New Year's Day, Tey even brought out champagne and poured us mimosas (fresh squeezed OJ, of course!). :-)

Can't go wrong with Cooper House! Thanks for a lovely weekend! :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teycross, Owner at The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your encouraging review. We are a very small veteran operated bed and breakfast and truly appreciate your business and support. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at Coopers recently and thought it was a very pretty, comfortable and of old-fashion quaintness!
Location is lovely with a beautiful garden and porch area.
Comfortable quiet bedroom with good quality linen.
The bathroom was a bit quirky with the old fittings but everything worked well.
We found the breakfast menu a bit confusing but we could of asked for clarification.
Tey and Rob were friendly and helpful with suggestions.
We did find it was a bit pricey when we compared it to similar B & B's in California otherwise it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at The Cooper House with our grandchildren and we would highly recommend this B&B. The breakfast is excellent with numerous choices that appealed to the whole family. The late afternoons on the front porch with wine (provided by the owners) was a restful break in our sightseeing.

We found the location to be ideal to see the surrounding area. Our grandchildren enjoyed the local horse back riding and swimming in the downtown stream.
We had a great vacation and the owners could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teycross, Owner at The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We throughly enjoy our guest reviews and work very hard to maintain excellent reviews. It was a pleasure having you and your grand kids. We are very pleased you all enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you back inthe future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Love staying at cooper house but all rooms were booked, Rob suggested renting their rental house on Main Street in murphys. Three bedrooms / 2 baths, large deck area for lounging and having meals. The location was so perfect, could walk to many wineries, places to eat and shopping of-course. The house has a wonderful sounding creek that is so relaxing, kept my window open at night to hear it. I'm a caregiver for my father (85) and this house was great for his needs. One level, large kitchen for me to make his special meals and he enjoyed eating outside. A girlfriend came with us so we each had are own room. I missed Teys and Robs yummy breakfast but hey, "you can't have everything!" Thanks guys for letting me know about your murphys rental!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teycross, Owner at The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property/vacation rental. We truly appreciate and enjoy hearing back from our guest. We strive to make all guest feel comfortable and welcome. We are pleased you had such a wonderful relaxing stay. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I already knew I loved Cooper House but this review is all about Murphy's House. I'm spending a wonderful morning and afternoon on the back porch listening to the musical creek and I can't believe how relaxed I am. I slept better here then I have in months. I want to send out a huge thanks to Tey and Rob for renting this palace to me. Right on Main St. It's convienence cannot be beat. I'll spend the afternoon trolling through the town, drinking wine, buying spices and teas, and enjoying the cute little shoppes in town. The best part is that if I want to take a break I can stop into Murphy's House and enjoy a nice lite lunch on the porch. It doesn't get better than this. Well, maybe if I could have the Cooper House breakfast here as well.

Room Tip: Rent the whole house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teycross, Owner at The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very pleased you had such a wonderful time and was able to just relax. We strive very hard to provide top notch properties for our guest to enjoy. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angels Camp
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites
6.3 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.8 mi away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Robin's Nest
The Robin's Nest
#1 of 3 in San Andreas
5.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
12.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
17.4 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 1184 Church St., Angels Camp, CA 95222
Location: United States > California > Angels Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Angels Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cooper House is one of Angel Camp’s most unique homes. Built originally in 1910 the house has been lovingly restored to reflect today’s desired standards in hospitality. We invite you to come and experience our relaxing and romantic inn. Come for a weekend and you may never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cooper House Bed And Breakfast Inn
The Cooper House Hotel Angels Camp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.