We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find along HWY49” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   444 South Main Street, Angels Camp, CA 95222   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Angels Camp
Torrance, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great find along HWY49”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed here for a family reunion in Murphys. Clean, spacious room with double queen beds. They don't skimp on amenities like shampoo, conditioner, or towels! Nicely located for side trips to Murphy's, Big Trees Park, and wineries.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    85
    26
    3
    4
See reviews for
77
83
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We did what is known as the '49'er' vacation which is a trip through the Gold Country of California, along Highway 49 in the central Sierra's. This BW was located pretty much in between all the little towns we were to visit. We were glad we chose this.

The room was quite large for a King. We had a nice balcony. The pool wasn't deep (6ft?) but comfortable. The jacuzzi was clean and relaxing. The continental breakfast was quite satisfying We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel exceed our expectations. Concierge was very helpful, bilingual, ready to recommend places and things to do around.
Staff was very friendly and easy going.
Place was clean, room was spacious and the pool was awesome for the kids (I went with two).
Property looks well kept. If I visit the gold towns again, I'll certainly stay there again. (really close to the Angels camp museum!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

This is a nice decent hotel. We stayed here on the way up to Lake Tahoe. The breakfast was even more that we expected. The pool was nice and clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

After a roadtrip to and through the Sierras and Hwy 49, I wanted my elderly father, older brother and I to have some nice digs to retire to, so I reserved a 2-room suite here at BW Cedar Inn. My confirmation printout told me we'd be getting two queen beds and a sofa bed. What we actually got was more than I expected. It was two adjoining rooms with one entrance (a true suite and not two adjoining rooms), two queens AND one king with a sofa (don't know if that was a bed too), two TVs, two a/c units, one and a half bath with two additional sinks. All was very clean with toiletries and towels folded like pretty little fans.

I didn't get a chance to use the pool and spa, but they both seemed very popular with all of the families. The continental breakfast was very nice in my opinion. It offered: cold cereals, oatmeal packets, an assortment of bagels, english muffins, sweet muffins, belgian waffles you could make yourself, yogurt, spreads, juices, coffee, tea, whole fruit (apples, bananas, oranges), and a ham-egg-cheese breakfast sandwich you could warm up in the microwave. The breakfast area and the rest of the hotel was clean and well maintained.

Minor nitpicky things that I feel like mentioning: There was a public laundry room right outside our room, which was quite loud. Anyone having a conversation in the hallway could be heard as well (just fair warning for you light sleepers).

All-in-all, we three found this place comfortable and relaxing and enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: If you have the money to spare, book the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Oh my god, I just stayed here and the manager screamed at me because my bed was broken and it wasn't his problem! Anger issues abound! Never ever stay here, and best western customer service was of little help!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We were leaving Yosemite National Park towards San Francisco and this was a good hotel to spend the night. The room was clean and tidy: the overall best western quality to it. Nothing outstanding but enough for us to relax after a drive. The building looks nice and they offer an outside pool and a small jacuzzi type. Breakfast was a little bit better than your regular BW hotels breakfast because they have yogurt and do-it-yourself waffles. The front desk person was professional handling our check in but not friendly at all. At the start I had a problem connecting to the internet in my room and he really treated my request in a very defensive manner. Without his help I eventually figured out what was wrong and got internet up and going.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms near the staircase leading to the pool. The amount of people going in and out and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites

Address: 444 South Main Street, Angels Camp, CA 95222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Angels Camp
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Angels Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Angels Camp hotel is central to California's historic gold country, with easy access to the Bear Valley Ski Resort. Situated in the heart of Angels Camp, the full-service BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites is convenient to gold rush towns, museums, wineries, galleries, antique shops and Giant Sequoia forest. Nearby activities include golf, skiing, whitewater rafting, boating, fishing, horseback riding and hiking. Guests can choose a well-appointed balcony room with fireplace, or a two-room suite with in-room spa--each room featuring satellite television with free HBO®, high-speed Internet access and mini-refrigerator. The hotel offers complimentary continental breakfast, outdoor pool & spa, exercise facility and guest laundry room. Pets are welcome; must call hotel directly to book pet friendly rooms. The BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites is a short drive from the Moaning Caverns and Mercer Caverns, both offering guided tours and gold panning. Other nearby attractions include Angels Camp Museum, Columbia State Historic Park, Calaveras Big Trees State Park and the Bear Valley Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cedar Hotel Angels Camp
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn And Suites
Best Western Angels Camp
Best Western Cedar Hotel
Angels Camp Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.