We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaia Hotel & Spa, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gaia Hotel & Spa, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
Gaia Hotel & Spa, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4125 Riverside Place, Anderson, CA 96007 (Formerly Gaia Shasta Hotel & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Anderson
GreenLeadersGold level
rochester, ny
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Welcoming Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We returned to Anderson for the funeral of a close relative. From the moment we a arrived, the Gaia staff to a person made us feel welcome in kind, considerate and cordial ways. The rooms are efficient with clean lines, comfortable beds and a fairly quiet environment. It's located conveniently near Interstate 5, but we heard very little traffic sound. The grounds were well-maintained and the restaurant offered a varieties menu at average prices. We plan to return there when we next visit Reddng

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience and giving us your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. On behalf of our entire team we want to say sorry for your loss. We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    80
    51
    16
    11
See reviews for
81
102
18
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The good:
Amazing king size bed, very comfortable.
pet friendly
nice grounds
The bad:
TV wouldn't turn on.
Staff's attitude

We checked in late one night stopping for a night of sleep during a long drive. Check in went fine. Had a little trouble finding which building our room was in. Not much signage that we saw, but it was dark. TV would not turn on or stay on. I just wanted a little down time watching tv after a long drive. Then at approx. 2:15am the phone rang, ignored it. It rang again at 2:27am. It was a wake up call. We NEVER asked for a wake up call! Breakfast was good.
Check out was not good. When we told the desk clerk that the TV didn't work, she said "you have to make sure its on channel 3 and jiggle the cables sometimes"
When we said we got to wrong wake up calls in the middle of the night her response was "sorry' and a shrug, she just let it go. It was barely an apology.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you so much for giving us your feedback. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I have passed on your comments about the customer service you did not receive to my front desk manager to ensure situations like this does not happen in the future. I also let my engineer manager know about the television issues you had so he can fix it. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junction City, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Most amazing bed ever! Originally we were put in a room next to a really barky dog that the owners left alone in their room. The staff was super courteous and gave us a new room without any problems. the room was spotless. We love this strange oasis!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you so much for leaving your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I would have easily given this hotel/spa 4 stars but there are some things they could do a whole let better which would make anyone's stay much more enjoyable. But first, the good stuff. This is a pet-friendly place that is in a very nice setting. They did a great job in ensuring that all natural plants and trees remained and did so very nicely. We rented a suite and it was very comfortable, well furnished. Loved the fact that they had water saving toilets. Being so close to Shasta lake & the Sacramento River, I am sure they realize the importance of water conservation more than most.
-If you have bad knees, are confined to a wheel chair or are otherwise mobility challenged, make sure you request a first floor room. There are no elevators in this hotel and although it's only two floors, for some people even one flight of stairs can be a challenge.
-There is no lounge until after 5 pm. That's really not terrible, but something people may want to be aware of
-Sunday morning buffet: Terrible. Very, very slow service. Not very friendly service. Seemed a bit unorganized. Bill arrived at one table before the food. Mediocre food, at best
-The master bedroom in the suite was only separated from the rest of the room by a wall about halfway across the room. Did not allow for much privacy for a room that had a capacity of 4 adults. Again, may not be important for some.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I have passed your comments on to the management team so we can improve on these issues you listed. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The web site indicates that it is under new ownership. It is said to be light impact on the earth. It is a spa and convention center. The rooms are

either first or second floor and in groups interconnected with walk ways. Though it was lightly booked we were given a second floor room. This

meant that we had to carry our bags up two flights of stairs as there are no elevators. When we entered the room, it was very dark withn as the

room has very dark colors. There were lights on each side of the bed for reading. However, there wattage was about 40 watts and not enough for

my eyes. In fact, one of the lights was unplugged. A second light in the room was also unplugged. Even with all the lights on, it was very dark. We

sat by the window during the afternoon to be able to see our books.

The bed was large and firm and provided a good nights sleep. The bathroom has a skylight which was a circle about 15 inch across which was a

primary source of light. The amenities are provided by pump bottles which does indeed reduce the presence of small plastic bottles.

Wi-Fi was easy to connect to, but not secure and worked well.

If you like spartan atmosphere with minimal light, these rooms are the place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinuba, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was a pleasant surprise. We booked through a third party so we did not know what to expect. The rooms were very nice. Lots of little details that we appreciated. The staff was overall nice, we called ahead to place a request and the girl was very friendly. The grounds were the best part. Loved the Swans!!
The only issue we had was the service in the restaurant for breakfast. There was only one server working who was also seating and bussing tables. Someone had called in sick apparently. She was doing her best but we waited 35-40 minutes and she never took our order. We had to leave and several other people walked out as well. I went to the front desk and let the girl know that they should get her some help but I got the impression that it wasn't a priority for her.
Other than that we had a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. I wanted to let you know I passed on your comments to our restaurant manager so this issue will not happen in the future. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We only stayed there as a pit stop on the way from southern California to Portland, Oregon. We got in late (10:30) and there was NOTHING open anywhere around for something to eat or drink. I don't know how they did it, but there was a crane's nest in the middle of our "cluster" of rooms that were hatching eggs. The toilets have the option of 1/2-flush or full-flush. THERE IS NO ELEVATOR!!!! We had to lug up our rolling suitcases. On the plus side, the bed was phenomenally comfortable but has a very strong smells of clean, as in Clorox. If you're a green type of person who wants to stay for more than 10-hours then this might be a great place. For us, we wanted a place to spend the night comfortably (had hoped to get a bite) and it served that purpose. We chose not to stay there again on our drive back to so. Cal.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaia Hotel & Spa, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Spa, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 4125 Riverside Place, Anderson, CA 96007 (Formerly Gaia Shasta Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Anderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Anderson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Spa, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Spa, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel Anderson
Anderson Gaia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaia Hotel & Spa, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.