We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Thai is a special treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Special Thai Restaurant

Special Thai Restaurant
511 S Brookhurst St, Anaheim, CA 92804-2415
714-635-2920
Improve this listing
Ranked #235 of 694 Restaurants in Anaheim
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Utah
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Special Thai is a special treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Our family went after Disneyland and it was awesome. Everyone was happy. Adults and kids. Portions were huge! Went back a second night. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Thanks for the memory”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Those of you who remember this place from the 1990's, cherish how lovely it was.

Special Thai has now become some kind of Halal buffet. The menu is limited and matrix oriented --- 5 curries, pick tofu chicken or beef, mild medium spicy, repeat for all the offerings and there aren't menu. I wonder if there is an SE Rykoff for Thai food now, feeding all the kitchens in the hinterland.

Didn't try the buffet. Seeing the grim little squid rings under the glare of heat lamps presaged the LED harshed rest room tiles sure to follow. Buffets should be avoided, except the smorgasbord at the Grand Hotel in Stockholm.

We were able to navigate the menu for a decent meal, so all is not lost if you find yourself here. Just, no reason to go. What worked for us is ordering vegetarian. The waiter was clear that the broths were vegetarian and not fish parts in chicken juice. Halal and Kosher and Vegetarian places tend to be much more conscious about their ingredients.

But there are a lot of creative halal and vegetarian and kosher places in the world...just not this one...

Oh, well, it was swell while it lasted.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A really special meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This little gem is almost obscured by the surroundings. You would think that it is just a tiny little place in a strip mall. The food and service were wonderful! And the price was great, given that we had spent half the day at Disneyland buying t-shirts and mouse ears and so on. The buffet opens at 5pm and our arrival was around 4pm. That was no problem, as we were seated and able to order off the regular menu, which turned out to be less expensive. We had wonderful curry and Pad Thai! The servers were able to answer all our questions about what was gluten free. We ordered an extra Thai iced tea after enjoying the first. I would have loved to try the buffet, and had such large portions, that we were just happy with our entrees. The only glitch was that they had run out of brown rice and had to substitute jasmine (with a sincere apology for this minor issue). We will definitely go back, on our next vacation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“ABSOLUTELY SPLENDID!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Food service decor all fulfilling and great!! Headed back tonight with family!! Better than the Thai Restaurants in Los Angeles!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Thai food I ever had !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The food quality you can taste.. Makes me drool even thinking about this place right now.. Definitely going back here for another dinner ! And they got buffet on weekends, where else can top this great deals ?!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Special Thai Restaurant also viewed

Anaheim, Orange County
Anaheim, Orange County
 
Anaheim, Orange County
 

Been to Special Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Special Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.