We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's about quantity more than taste” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marri's Pizza & Italian

Marri's Pizza & Italian
1194 W Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802
(714) 533-1631
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 724 restaurants in Anaheim
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“It's about quantity more than taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

While my three star rating looks low, there is a lot to recommend about Marri's. The reason for the low rating was that my food was only okay. The prices are extremely reasonable, the service was top notch, and the quantities were doggy bag required. As an example of all this. I chose the clam chowder as my included starter with my meal. There were more clams in this large stew than I had ever had, even when I made this myself. But, the chowder was under seasoned and I needed to fiddle with the salt and pepper to pep it up. Same with the chicken, huge serving and less so on taste.

But, come anyway, especially if you are tired of tiny $25 lunches and $40 dinners at the theme parks. You will have attentive service, lots of food and change in your wallet. I was solo, but it looks great for families and kids.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    85
    42
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Overly salty, over priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were told of this place by our hotel's staff. The other recomendations they had made were quite good, so we gave this place a shot.
The guy who answered the phone for our order was polite. Beyond this, there is not much positive I can say about this place....
Ordered a pair of pizza's and something called Mozza Garlic Bread.
Pizza was absolutely terrible. Food was salty beyond description- the only thing that you could taste beyond that was the excessive bready-ness of the pizza. The little bit of sauce that came on the pizza, by itself was not too bad, but was constantly overwhelmed by the excessive salty meat, obtrusive crust and overloaded cheese.
The garlic bread with the mozza was worse. It looked like they bought a loaf of bread from a local bakery, dumped a few scoops of cheese on it, and topped it with oregano. Was not even worth eating after the first bite.
To top this off, our meal ended up costing us about $35, and wasn't worth a cent.
We will likely not eat at this place again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice price, decent Italian in Anaheim”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We drove over to Anaheim on a friend's recommendation, discovered Marri's is actually related to the old Long Beach restaurant. It was a nice surprise: once we got past the religious quote at the front door, we found the room warm, inviting and lit nicely for a Saturday night. We love checkered tablecloth, classic family Italian joints and Marri's did not disappoint. Marinara sauce was tasty, bread and salads were good. Spaghetti with mushroom sauce was terrific and abundant at only $11. Lauren's cioppino was great, with crab, shrimp, fish, scallops and calamari. The side of spaghetti marinara was enough for lunch the next day! Overall, a tasty, inexpensive experience ... The Spumoni at the end was outstanding but a bit pricey at $7 ... Still dreaming about it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Might not expect much by outside location but its really neat place inside with a nice atmosphere and good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

This was great pizza, and everything was huge! It is kinda pricey but worth it. We have family if 6, ordered two medium pizzas, one cheese calzone and a ceasar salad. We ate on this for three days. It all tastes so fresh, and they are not shy with their cheese which would explain the price a little! We loved the good and would go back. My husband says it was the best pizza he ever had!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great take-out food delivered to our hotel room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

this restaurant was one suggested by the front desk at our hotel during our stay near disneyland. we were told they would deliver to our room. having arrived late, we didn't have time to go out, so thought we'd try this. the food arrived at the time they indicated when we ordered, the portions were large and quite tasty. we ordered 2 pasta 'dinners' which came with a roll and salad. the mixed salads were a good size. the pasta portions were huge and quite good. we also appreciated that we could choose the type of pasta (spaghetti, linguine, penne, etc) with the sauce of our choice. we enjoyed the pesto and the house mushroom-marsala sauce. we had enough leftover to eat the following day, which helped our budget, too. would definitely recommend and try again if we return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marri's Pizza & Italian also viewed

 
Anaheim, Orange County
 

Been to Marri's Pizza & Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marri's Pizza & Italian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.