We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Anaheim Maingate/At the Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Anaheim Maingate/At the Park to your Saves list
Ramada Anaheim Maingate/At the Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #64 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Santa Maria
1 review
“Wonderful Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

We had a wonderful time. Location convenient, Room, small but clean. Pool was great children friendly. breakfast could have had more choices in fruit. Over all we had a very nice stay.

  • Liked — Location, and Pool
  • Disliked — Breakfast choices could have had more
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    814
    561
    243
    138
See reviews for
1,769
285
41
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

We did not get a room in the hotel we wanted to stay in. So we booked this thinking this could be as close to DL. It had free breakfast and parking. How bad can it be, right? Well...it was okay, with some problems.

First, make sure you have a confirmed reservation if you book throught their website.
Story---
We got there early AM to be told that they did not have our reservation for that afternoon! Apparently the screen that says "Email yourself this reservation" (or something to that effect) is not the final one. They had only one choice (two doubles) and for only one night. (In retrospect, it was a good thing.) The price was $20 higher than what we had "booked", but we wanted to get to DL gate on time, so we took what they had. They were nice enough to hold on to our bags while we spent the morning at DL till our room was ready.

Second - the location is not super-perfect for pedestrians esp with kids, but still livable with.
Story--
The hotel is bang opposite the DL maingate and perfect if you are driving into the park. We prefer to walk - and its some 3-4 buildings away from the DL entry/gate which leads up to the ticket office/turnstiles (Best Western and Park Vue Inn are right at the traffic light to cross over). So its not really, really the closest if you were to walk over to DL.

Third - The room was small, musty, and tired. Definitely not worth the money - even in peak season!!

Fourth, get to breakfast early.
Story--
The breakfast hours are 6:30 to 9:30. Its really good in that if you had a day of Early Entry (Magic Morning, to use the Disney term :)) this would be a good perk to have. Most other hotels don't start breakfast until 7 or even 7:30. BUT, when our party got tthere (you pick the food up from a small room and sit outside by the pool -and you may not find a spot during peak traffic time) at 9 am, much of the stuff was gone. But when notified the front desk they did deduct a small amount off the room bill (though it cost us more to eat BF inside DL since we did not want to waste time sitting around in IHOP or someplace)

We did not have a chance to check out their pool/jacuzzi, the coffee shop in front, or their minimart, but did see quite a few people in each of these places.

It was not a "horrible" stay (no roaches, thankfully) as in like a horror movie, but we will not return.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laveen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

Anaheim, California -By Disneyland
We had a wonderful time staying at the Ramada inn maingate. We were planning this trip for about a year now and made it for the whole family. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The location of the the hotel was perfect. It was directly across the street from Disneyland, the theme park was a short walk away from our rooms. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and courteous. We would definitely return back on a future vacation.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

Ramada Maingate is very close to Disneyland so it the most convenient place to stay and it is economical. Personally i enjoy the look of it because it is relatively small, not a high rise, and has an old school look with the swimming pool in the middle and tons of palm trees and birds.

The palm trees and birds are part of the vacation feel so it really is so important for me to always stay at this hotel when I go to Disneyland. Actually next time i may stay an extra couple days and just relax at the pool.

Breakfast is nice because of course you are eating out by the pool and have to share your food with the birds. The employees are always friendly and clean and efficient.

I really do love it there. I have tried other places but never again will i waste my time and money. The Ramada Maingate is it for me and my family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, DE
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

Make sure that you don't stay in the building closest to the front office. We stayed in Room 179 (i think) and the laundry room was right behind our room. Not only could we hear the machine noises throughout the evening but we could hear the cleaning staff, too. I would recommend that the hotel advise their staff to not talk about their customers or their personal lives, even if it is in Spanish. The bathroom was also dirty. There was a terrible stay hotel smell. The carpet was dirty. I was wearing white socks, which were clean and bleached white when I started, and after walking around the hotel room in the socks, they were a nasty-looking grey on the bottom. The carpet needs to be shampooed! The bed was extremely uncomfortable. Then one morning, a cockroach came crawling into the bathroom. Yuck! It's possible that the rooms in the building way in the back are much better, but the rooms in the building next to the lobby are horrible!

  • Liked — proximity to the main gate of Disneyland
  • Disliked — Noise, dirty, and cockroach
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

I cannot say enough good things about our stay at the Ramada Maingate!! My husband and I needed a romantic get-away but also wanted to enjoy Disneyland in December. Disneyland is decorated so nicely in festive Christmas decorations and have an incredible fireworks show at 9:30 pm with snow falling on Main Street afterwards. Good time of the year to go.

The hotel we had stayed at previously was already booked, so I started searching for another place to stay. Some of the more "popular" places to stay charged $15-20 a day for parking!! One of them that was 2 blocks away did not even offer a shuttle bus (a higher-end hotel).

I googled "hotels near Disneyland" and The Ramada Maingate popped up. It was EXACTLY what I was looking for! For $89 a night we got a nice, clean room that had a mini-fridge and a microwave in the room. Free Parking!!! Free Continental Breakfast. We arrived early (check-in is 3 pm) and were allowed to park in the parking lot until we checked in later. There were other patrons in the lobby checking in early also and they were allowed to store their luggage in a locked room till their check-in time also.

Added Bonus: We walked across the street to Disneyland!! It is right across the street to the Maingate of Disneyland!!! No worries about walking a couple of blocks or being on time to catch one of the shuttle buses. Awesome!!

The Ramada Maingate also has a couple of little gift stores on site as well as a place to buy coffee and a pizza place. Great for families with children. I highly recommend this place for couples and families. The staff is extremely helpful and very friendly. You would be foolish to stay anywhere else. This is the only place we will ever stay from now on.

  • Liked — location and free parking
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2008

This motel really isn't that terrible. Yes, the room we stayed in (#133) had that smell that most reviewers are talking about. And yes some things were in various states of disrepair (the drains on the jacuzzi tub kept falling off and the jets barely made a ripple in the water) but honestly, for the price, it was what I expected...until our last night. That's when the roach crawled across the headboard of our bed. I killed it & took it into the manager, who said "the cold weather brings them inside. Thank you for telling me". She also gave me a mini stocking with chocolates in it and $15 in Ramada bucks, to be spent at the nearby mini mart or coffee shop.
So here's the scoop, the location is amazing, but so is that of the Carousel, Tropicana and Del Sol Inn (they are all actually a tad closer). We've stayed at the Tropicana and Carousel before and haven't ever had bug or mildew smell problems. However, all of these motor-style motel/hotels are going to be basic and have some problems with them. It's just the nature of the beast. Cheap lodging with a perfect location. So if you are freaked out by roaches and odd smells, probably spend a little more and shuttle into Disneyland. Otherwise, this hotel will suit the needs of most people who value location over comfort.

  • Liked — location and nearby coffee shop
  • Disliked — the smell and the roach
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Anaheim Maingate/At the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Anaheim Maingate/At the Park

Address: 1650 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Anaheim Maingate/At the Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within Walking Distance of Disneyland. If you are searching for an accommodation near Disneyland, the Ramada Maingate At the Park is a great option. At the Ramada Maingate at the Park you’re in the heart of all the fun and excitement of the Disneyland® Resort. The accommodation is located across the street from Disneyland, so there is no need to take a shuttle. Your family’s choice for an Accommodation near Disneyland. Staying here is convenient and enjoyable for all families seeking an accommodation near Disneyland. We have made many changes that are not seen in most other Ramada locations, specifically designed to benefit parents and children. For example, we offer a poolside complimentary breakfast. There is no more perfect combination; this allows parents to eat their breakfast while children play in the pool. Rollaway beds and cribs are provided with no extra charges or limitations. Rooms feature comfortable beds designed for quality sleep. There are fridges and microwaves in each room, so you can keep snacks in the room. There is also free complimentary WiFi for visitors to enjoy surfing the web. Unwind in a room that includes all comfort. After you’ve hit all the sites and snapped all of those magical photos, you’ll find a stay at the Ramada Maingate at the Park is just what you need to unwind. With rooms as inviting as our service, we are waiting to make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Anaheim Maingate/At the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Maingate - At The Park Hotel Anaheim
Ramada Inn Anaheim
Disneyland Park Anaheim
Ramada Anaheim
Ramada Inn Maingate Disneyland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Anaheim Maingate/At the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.