We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by the pictures on the internet” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Anaheim Maingate/At the Park

Save Saved
You added Ramada Anaheim Maingate/At the Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Anaheim Maingate/At the Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #50 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the pictures on the internet”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I booked this hotel with a recommendation from a friend and after reviewing the website saw the pictures and could see that it looked ok - it wasn't a 5 star resort, but for the amount of time that we would be in our room it would do. We ended up taking an 'upgrade' to a 'suite' and what we got was probably worse than if we had just stuck with the 2 queen beds - it was basically the same size as a regular room but with a wall dividing the two beds. My sister also took this 'upgrade' and her experience was just as bad as ours - but she had ants in hers. The carpets are disgusting, the bedding feels dirty, the room smelled like a musty old folks home, our faucets in the shower constantly dripped and after trying to tighten them as much as I could the entire tap screwed right off and then the water constantly ran. We had a crib in our room, which didn't come with any bedding, we basically had to put a towel down underneath our son.There is a free continental breakfast, which consisted of donuts, toast, cereal, apples and oranges, and biscuits and gravy. It would have been nice to see more 'healthy' food, and not just rely on fruit.

We saw that they were renovating some of their rooms but I think we were in the block of rooms that hadn't been touched in a very long time. I feel like with taking the upgrade we lost out on getting a half decent room. When we wrote our review directly to the Ramada they came back with a response of 'the next time you come and stay we will ensure you are in one of our renovated rooms'. I'm sorry, but we won't EVER be back to stay at that hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJO, Assistant General Manager at Ramada Anaheim Maingate/At the Park, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. As you mentioned, the room type booked is scheduled for renovation. I wish you had expressed your dissatisfaction with the room during your stay, as our front desk staff would have happily moved you into a more recently renovated room if we had this available. The hotel is currently working to renovate all guest rooms, with approximately 80% of this project completed. I would love to talk with you in detail regarding your reservation, and also how we may help to replace this unpleasant experience with a positive one. Please reply to my email if you would be interested in giving us another opportunity to serve you. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    614
    743
    472
    202
    105
See reviews for
1549
248
37
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Point, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Our family has been using Ramada Maingate for about a year now and they have never let us down in terms of service, price or clean rooms. I've been a Disneyland traveler for 37 years and have stayed at all kinds of shady hotels...Maingate is NOT one of those hotels. The Lobby staff are all friendly and helpful and also very accommodating. Since we have a toddler, we are often back in our room around 2-3 for naps and when we first started coming our rooms had not been attended to. A simple call to the front desk asking for earlier room service fixed all that.

The 6:30 AM continental breakfast has anything you need to keep you from blowing $50 at the park right off the bat. Coffee that is completely tolerable, donuts, muffins, fresh fruit and even cereal and juice is available all for free. It's not the best meal but we use it every morning and the quality is all acceptable.

For kids, there is a great pool with TONS of shallow water to run around in and if you can get in there the hot tub is to DIE FOR.

But the BEST reason to use this hotel is LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!! It's literally across the street from the park (parallel to Tower of Terror) and it's a 5 minute walk to the Entrance turnstiles. No more waiting for shuttles, buses or any of that.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

My fiancé and I have stayed at this location 4 separate times and have always had a great experience with this hotel. The prices are great, the rooms are clean, and you can't beat the location either!

But our most recent visit here at the time of booking there was a misunderstanding with our room reservations. When we called to book the room we were told we had the King Room with Jacuzzi. When we called 2 days prior to our reservations to double check everything, the told us we have the Standard King room. We were a little confused at that time on the phone since we were told earlier that we were getting the King Room with Jacuzzi. But the young lady on the phone put us on hold for just a few moments and came back to tell us that we were going to be getting the new King Suites with Jacuzzi. We were blown away by the amazing customer service that was given to us. And we were also amazed by the newly remodeled King Suites as well.

They have free parking which is really convent for those who have vehicles. The free WiFi is great for those who have electronic devices. And the newly updated breakfast was great as well. I couldn't get enough biscuits and gravy!

We will keep coming to this Hotel many times in the future and will be booking with them again very soon for our April trip.

Room Tip: Join their mailing lists for great discounts and room rates!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJO, Assistant General Manager at Ramada Anaheim Maingate/At the Park, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
We look forward to seeing you again in April! Thank you so much for
your kind praise of our staff! We do our best to ensure that all of
our guests have an experience as lovely as yours! Sorry that there was
a mix-up with your room type, but I'm happy to hear that we were able
to remedy that and get you into one of our newly renovated rooms at
that! With so many hotels in the area, we realize that you have
options, and we very much appreciate your loyalty to our hotel! Can't
wait to see you again soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I wanted to review this hotel simply because I had read all the reviews for hotels in the area and it seemed as though no matter how many hotels you look at, there are always a few people that are just never happy. I was coming to Anaheim not for Disney (although Disney is easily within walking distance) but for a convention. The staff at the hotel was extremely helpful and pleasant and the room I stayed in was exceptionally clean. It appeared that the people that did come for Disney with there kids were having a great time as well, not only in the pool but with the proximity to Disney. There are many places to eat and shop both inexpensive and expensive depending on what you're looking for within walking distance. The hotel has a gift shop a pizza place and a convenience store where you can grab just about anything. They have a free continental breakfast (mostly hard boiled eggs, bagels, cereals coffee and juice) and free internet. The one thing you have to keep in mind is that at this price point this is not a Sheraton or Hilton but someplace that the whole family can enjoy. Think about how much time you spend at the hotel, at the end of the day you're probably looking for a comfy bed, in a clean room and that's exactly what you'll find here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrae, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

This has been approximately the 12th to 14th time I have stayed at Ramada Maingate over the last 8 years. This is a great bargain, with a perfect location, friendly and helpful staff, the best pool around, and all of the amenities needed for a trip to Disneyland.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJO, Assistant General Manager at Ramada Anaheim Maingate/At the Park, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
I wish that all guests came to visit us as often as you do! :) Thank you for your continued patronage! It's a real treasure to have such dedicated return guests and we’re pleased that we are able to keep you coming back each time you’re in the Disneyland area! We cannot wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The location was perfect, close to Disneyland and restraunts. The employees were great and more than happy to accomadate any of the needs we had. Great service at the front desk and the rooms were very clean every day. We were very pleased with our choice and would book it again. I would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Given the ramada name I was a little surprised by the state of the motel. It definitely needs some serious renovations to the outside - I understand they are in the process of reno'ing the actual rooms. Although, I do have to remember it is only a 2 1/2 so perhaps my expectations were too high.

The rooms were basic and a pretty good size. Would have been nice to have more than 1 small garage bin the main area as it filled up quickly. Fridge and microwave in room were great and well used. Close convenience store for snacks and water.

I was very impressed with the staff. Always friendly and very helpful.

Basic contential breakfast - be sure to get a try and take your food back to your room as it can get quite crowded. Patience is a must as people are coming into the small area from both the entrance and exit.

Great location as it is very close to Disneyland and there are some nicer restaurants at the Gardenwalk around the corner (if you want a break from the Denny'and Ihops found next door).

Only odd thing was when trying to make a phone call, to confirm my airport shuttle, I could not connect. I called the front desk and was told that I needed to make a deposit to use the phone which I found unusual as generally this would have been done when we checked in.

Overall, this is a good location and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJO, Assistant General Manager at Ramada Anaheim Maingate/At the Park, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your hotel experience with fellow travelers. Happy to hear that you liked our location, and as you mentioned, we are in the process of renovation, with approximately 80% of our guest rooms completed. I was pleased to hear that our front desk staff was consistently friendly and very helpful! I apologize that trash bin was not adequate … we do have one in the bathroom and one in the guest room, and we’d be happy to have our housekeeping staff empty these upon request. Also, I would like to clear up the confusion regarding a deposit. Although it is customary for us to collect a deposit upon check in, there are rare instances that we are unable to do so at that time. In this scenario, we tend to not bother the guest as a courtesy; however, our phone system does require a deposit prior to calls being placed. Hope this was not too much of an inconvenience! We look forward to welcoming you back into one of our more recently renovated rooms during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Anaheim Maingate/At the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Anaheim Maingate/At the Park

Address: 1650 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Anaheim Maingate/At the Park 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within Walking Distance of Disneyland. If you are searching for an accommodation near Disneyland, the Ramada Maingate At the Park is a great option. At the Ramada Maingate at the Park you’re in the heart of all the fun and excitement of the Disneyland® Resort. The accommodation is located across the street from Disneyland, so there is no need to take a shuttle. Your family’s choice for an Accommodation near Disneyland. Staying here is convenient and enjoyable for all families seeking an accommodation near Disneyland. We have made many changes that are not seen in most other Ramada locations, specifically designed to benefit parents and children. For example, we offer a poolside complimentary breakfast. There is no more perfect combination; this allows parents to eat their breakfast while children play in the pool. Rollaway beds and cribs are provided with no extra charges or limitations. Rooms feature comfortable beds designed for quality sleep. There are fridges and microwaves in each room, so you can keep snacks in the room. There is also free complimentary WiFi for visitors to enjoy surfing the web. Unwind in a room that includes all comfort. After you’ve hit all the sites and snapped all of those magical photos, you’ll find a stay at the Ramada Maingate at the Park is just what you need to unwind. With rooms as inviting as our service, we are waiting to make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ramada Anaheim Maingate/At the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Maingate - At The Park Hotel Anaheim
Ramada Inn Anaheim
Disneyland Park Anaheim
Ramada Anaheim
Ramada Inn Maingate Disneyland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Anaheim Maingate/At the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.