We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but mostly worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disneyland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Disneyland Hotel to your Saves list
Disneyland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 West Magic Way, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Creek, Ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Expensive but mostly worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed 4 nights and really splurged with a 2 room suite. Since my bedroom had 2 queen beds I took turns with each of the kids.The parents had their own bedroom and there was a pull out couch in the living room The kids (5&7) loved the musical lights they could turn on in each bedroom. There is a refrigerator and we did bring bowls and spoons so we could have cereal and oatmeal 3 of the mornings. (It would have been nice to have a microwave too) The coffee machine in the room was one of the worst i've ever seen and we never got a really good cup of coffee. If you are there in the off-season or leave the hotel early there is no line at the Monorail so that is a good way to get to Disneyland. Didn't find a short-cut to Adventureland however. There are 3 outdoor pools and one with a waterslide that the kids loved. If we did go back I would consider staying again, but would also look into some other property that would be much cheaper.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    558
    189
    67
    32
See reviews for
1,118
182
19
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We spent four nights at the Disneyland Hotel at the end of October. We met our son and his family and stayed as part of his military rate. The hotel staff was wonderful, and gave us two rooms connected by a foyer — closing the outside door, and keeping the two inside doors open we had a suite and our two and four year old granddaughters were able to wander back and forth. It is expensive to stay on-site at Disney, but the visit is so much nicer and more fun when you do.

Room Tip: We were in the Fantasy Tower, and we had no complaints!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Disneyland Hotel in September and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a room on the top floor of Fantasy Tower which overlooked the carparks, but as we were so high up our view was predominantly of the hills beyond that. There was also a partial view of Disneyland, and although we weren't in the room for the fireworks, I'm pretty sure you would be able to see them from there room. The room was adequate, not large but comfortable. Our girls, aged 6 and 2, were thrilled with the room, particularly the bedhead once they discovered the switch to turn on the lights and music. They turned it on every night before they went to bed. There are Disney motifs everywhere, from the Mickey Mouse hands wrapped around the lamps in the bathroom, to the carpet design reminiscent of Mickey's ears. In the public areas of the hotel, there is piped Disney music. If Disney reminders everywhere are not your thing, then this hotel is not for you!

Staff were mostly friendly, and check-in was efficient. I received a badge when I mentioned we were here to celebrate the 6yo's birthday, which saved a queue in Disneyland for one. Housekeeping and other management staff gave the girls stickers and chocolates when we saw them in the corridors.

The hotel facilities are excellent. The girls loved the swimming pool, and insisted we leave the park for a few hours in the afternoon so they could jump in for a swim. There are laundry facilities on-site which is very handy, although the laundry room in a separate building to the hotel rooms, which makes it a little inconvenient. The cost is reasonable, $1 for laundry powder, and $2 each for the washing machine and dryer. It gets busy in the evening, best to wash on a free morning. I had a problem with the washing machine, after I put in the coins the machine wouldn't start. I rang the front desk for assistance who promised to send someone out immediately, but 30 minutes later no help had arrived. I had to ring again and all up it took 45 minutes for someone to come. Not how I wanted to spend my time, and no apology was tendered. The only dampener on our stay and one of the reasons I've rated not rated this hotel higher. We had both breakfast and dinner at Goofy's Kitchen. Dinner wasn't planned, but we ended up there without a booking but there wasn't a queue. A few days later we had breakfast which had been booked before we left home, and it was much busier and not as nice as dinner. I preferred the food at dinner, and there were more characters at that time too. Handy to have a character dining experience on-site.

We liked the location of the hotel. There are no roads to cross to get to Disneyland, and the walk is not long, no more than 10 minutes at a leisurely pace. The walk back to the hotel is through Downtown Disney with more Disney music all the way! There are buskers and other musical entertainment in the evenings which makes the walk back to the hotel very pleasant.

The hotel is not cheap but it was a great introduction to Disneyland. We are thinking of returning to Disneyland when the children are older and staying for longer. If the price is right, we would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor (11th floor) have higher windows and are bright. Naturally, they also have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our first time staying in a resort hotel. We booked through Costco and got lots of freebies with our room (free ride pic, $20 gift card & free Character Dining for everyone in our party). THAT alone was $200 worth of stuff. We picked DH because our kids are young (8 & 4) and we were celebrating the youngest turning four. We figured it would be the most "magical" for them.
We stayed four days & had a great time. We arrived EARLY (8:30 am). We were so excited when we pulled into parking, that parking attendant gave us a Most Excited Car (or something) certificate that gave us free valet parking the whole trip! Awesome! Check in was easy, our room was ready & they gave my son an autographed pic of Mickey for his birthday.
Our room: got a pool facing upgrade because of the birthday (yay!) but I don't think it had been used for months. It was very dusty and had no refrigerator. We had to call twice to ask for one, which was frustrating because we'd brought perishable items with us to store. I think the room could have been better cared for. They told us they would move us, but who wants to schlep four people's worth of unpacked stuff to another room/floor/building? Overall it was fine and the kids loved the magical headboard!
Loved the pools - kids had a blast. It was so hot we wanted to jump in at first sight!
We took advantage of the guests only stuff, like early appointments at the car building store and Disney 365 (highly recommend for girls too old for Bibbity), the early entrance, and the Ride Scavenger Hunts. Be sure to ask for those when you check in - they are very fun and you will learn a lot!
Our only complaint was the room (at first) and the actual distance to the park entrances. It's a lot longer walk than you think it will be & they don't let you take the park strollers back to the hotels, so get your shoulders ready for tired kids.
Overall a great stay & already looking to stay again next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The recent renovations make a huge difference! Room was clean and modern. In fact, because most of the hotels in Anaheim look quite dated, this hotel seems to be one of the most modern ones. Recommend!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We go to Walt Disney World multiple times throughout the year and always stay in Deluxe hotels on property. Our first time at the Disneyland Hotel was in July 2013 and it is as good or better than the best at WDW, including the Grand Floridian! The pools at the Disneyland Hotel are great, Trader Sam's is wonderful, and our family had so much fun that when my wife and I went to Las Vegas for a conference in September, we decided to leave Vegas early and go to Disneyland and stay at the Disneyland Hotel. We weren't disappointed! Just wish it was closer to Michigan :)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Firstly, I was completely aware I was going to be fleeced for every cent when visiting the Disneyland resort, but I was a little surprised at the $3.50 charge because we asked for a few bowls and spoons (the room does not hold any cutlery or crockery). This obviously was a daily occurrence as housekeeping would remove them during their clean up.

Goofy's Kitchen on the grounds of the hotel was fun for the kids, and the food wasn't too bad. Just be aware of the charge as it is expensive. The Tiki bar was far more affordable, but the food was pretty average.

As for the hotel, there weren't many complaints. From check in which was efficient and helpful. The staff brought my daughter's buttons when they mentioned their birthday's which was a nice touch. We also received our requested room, which in fact was better than requested as it was not only in the correct tower, but also on the Downtown Disney side where the fireworks were visible.

We had 2 adults and 3 kids in one room and weren't really falling over each other. Suites with independent bedrooms are preferable, but also expensive, as is booking two rooms. The bedheads with the lights and music were also a hit with the kids.

The location is fantastic. Yes the hotels on the other side of the road are just as close to the parks, but you also have to cross a main road, then cross through the thoroughfare between the two parks if you want to get to Downtown Disney. The Disneyland Hotel is extremely convenient to the restaurants and bars in Downtown Disney. The pool area is also fantastic, especially for the kids.

The walk to the park is pretty easy and took no more than 10 minutes, if we strolled. The monorail station is also only a few hundred metres from the hotel which gives you good access to the Disneyland park.

The other bonus is the extra magic hour every day, which includes days not featured on the multi day tickets.

Overall I would definitely stay here again. It's great if you want to totally immerse yourself in the Disney experience.

Room Tip: Adventure Tower, facing Downtown Disney - higher the floor the better the view of the fireworks,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.2 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#12 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disneyland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disneyland Hotel

Address: 1150 West Magic Way, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disneyland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 973
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay and see all that is new! Now with more luxurious rooms, new pools and waterslides, themed dining and more, the transformed Disneyland Hotel is a vacation destination in and of itself. This transformation has earned the hotel the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Hotel rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Amex, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Disneyland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel Ca
Disneyland Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disneyland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.