We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% Disney Magic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disneyland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Disneyland Hotel to your Saves list
Disneyland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 West Magic Way, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“100% Disney Magic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are so magical and just Disney! They have very decorative rooms. The beds have a light up castle with fireworks above, and they have pictures hanging all over the place. There are 3 buildings/towers (the Fantasyland, Adventureland, and Frontierland Towers) each with their own theme. The pool is very cool and decorative, especially the slides, which are shaped like the monorail. The food at Goofy's Kitchen is scrumptious, and the atmosphere is very colorful and playful. It makes you think that you are in a cartoon. It is so neat and fun when Disney characters come up to your table. Overall the Disneyland Hotel is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    557
    189
    67
    32
See reviews for
1,114
182
19
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

After staying at The Howard Johnson Hotel for the first few days of our trip, we decided to stay at The Disneyland Hotel for the remaining 3 days. While the facility was clean and the pool was great their customer service was lacking (especially after paying over $600/night) as they had the following issues:

- All Refrigerators were not working in the hotel rooms
- Subpar Valet Service

As previously mentioned, after staying at the Howard Johnson hotel, you expect that the customer service at the Disneyland Hotel would be a step up, considering the price difference. This is definitely not the case. We are a family of four with a 5 year old and a 10 month old. As the 10 month old is still receiving breast milk, it's vital that a refrigerator is available to store breastmilk. Upon check in, we were told that every single refrigerator in the hotel doesn't work due to a refrigerator recall. I made it a point to ask upon booking this hotel that a refrigerator would be available but between that time and check in for some reason all refrigerators at the Disneyland Hotel didn't work. As I explained that this was unacceptable, the manager was able to find a working refrigerator....but only after complaining and asking for a manager. This is something you shouldn't have to do when you are spending over $600/night. The next day my wife noticed that all the breast milk we stored in the refrigerator was warm. It turned out that the refrigerator they gave us broke. All the breast milk in there was ruined and couldn't be used. I called the front desk and all they said was, "We're sorry, we can give you a laundry bag to put the breast milk in". Really a laundry bag??? Compare this to the Howard Johnson where the staff offered to put the breast milk in their refrigerator on the last day of our visit there since checkout at Howard Johnson was 12:30 and Check-in at Disneyland Hotel was 4:00PM.

When it came to check out I called down to have the valet bring our car. The valet says, "It's really busy right now and we're not offering call downs". Really??? Okay, I get it, you are busy on Sunday mornings so I head down to get the car. I present the valet ticket at 11:05....at 11:15 I ask how much longer the car will take as we have a flight at 1:30 out of SNA. Long story short....we didn't get the car until 11:40 because the valet lost our keys. Waiting 35 minutes to get my car with a 10 month old and a 5 year old is just not acceptable.

In summary, while the facilities were nice, the customer service is terrible. One positive out of this hotel is the e-ticket club was convenient and the employees working the e-ticket club were first class! As long as you know that you won't be receiving 5 star service even though you are paying 5 star prices, the Disneyland Hotel is a good place to stay. Now that I've stayed at this hotel compared to the Grand Californian, the Grand Californian will have my business the next time I"m in Disneyland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Lovely room with comfortable beds. Great light up display with music for the headboards. Terrible noise control - could hear the elevators go up and down all night and every peep from the people next door. Toilet ran all night and with an intense high whine one night. When called to report it was fixed immediately - great attentiveness!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My mom and I go to Disneyland every July for a little mother/daughter vacay and we have always stayed at the Paradise Pier Hotel. This year we decided to splurge and stay at the Disneyland Hotel and we are glad we did! The proximity to Downtown Disney and the parks is great and the decor is stylish with nice touches of vintage Disney. Check in was easy and we were upgraded to a room with a view of the pool. We stayed in the Adventure Tower in a room right next to the elevators, which was handy. We could hear the elevators from time to time, but it wasn't a distraction for us. We stayed for 7 nights and only had to share the elevator 3 times...we rarely saw other guests and we definitely didn't hear any. Every aspect of our stay was wonderful and we have decided to stay at the Disneyland Hotel again next year. Yes, it is more expensive than the Paradise Pier and good neighbor hotels, but for us the price is well worth the benefit of being so close to the parks and the extra hour in either Disneyland or California Adventure each morning.

Room Tip: Adventure Tower is very close to Downtown Disney
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel was built with kids in mind 100%.

* Room had headboard that would light up and play the Disney theme, kids fell asleep to it every night. Sadly, we could hear EVERYTHING in the room next door. The hotel seriously needs to invest in better door / walls for a little bit of privacy.

* Food was to be expected, cheap and simple. For kids was perfect though, as they ate and loved every basic meal they had. Don't expect anything fancy.

* Customer service was excellent, the front desk staff helped us with anything we needed. The elevators in the morning were always full, like rush hour traffic. You would have to wait for several sometimes to go past before you (in lineup) would be able to get on.

* The worth of this experience came from the convenience of getting into Park earlier then people staying at other hotels, which means grabbing the monorail directly into hotel and avoiding the long lineups. Other then that, the Disneyland characters wandering around was another added bonus.

Room Tip: If you as for a room facing parking lot, you can watch the fireworks from your window (if high enoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna niguel caalifornia, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Not a fan. Stayed in the Adventure Tower. Rooms about the quality of a Holiday Inn without a breakfast bar...with apologies to Holiday Inn. This place has nothing to commend it. It makes Vegas look attractive. And I don't much like Vegas.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We recently returned from a trip of a lifetime. Our trip included a four night stay in Disneyland before a week and a half in Hawaii. We stayed at the Disneyland Hotel during our Disneyland portion.

Our friends had arrived prior to us and had arranged for us to get a room with a balcony and view of the parks. WOW! These rooms are amazing. We had stayed here prior to all their refurbishments and this hotel has kept with the nostalgic feel but takes advantage of all the modern conveniences and technologies. We loved the decor and the rooms were spotless.

Staff were extremely friendly, helpful and courteous during our entire stay.

The convenience of being "in the magic" cannot be stressed enough! Walking from the shopping/food area and to either park is quick, efficient and enjoyable.

Cost of this hotel is quite high. For all the reasons I listed (convenience, service, location, decor). This may be a deciding factor in staying here in the future.

Being from the East coast, the West coast stopover what a terrific idea as it's a long way to Hawaii. We would probably do this in reverse next time though and fly to Hawaii first and stopover for a few days on the way back. The time zone changes are killer! :)

All in all...one amazing trip! Great location, great friends and Disney magic!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.2 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 587 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#12 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,099 reviews
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disneyland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disneyland Hotel

Address: 1150 West Magic Way, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disneyland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 973
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay and see all that is new! Now with more luxurious rooms, new pools and waterslides, themed dining and more, the transformed Disneyland Hotel is a vacation destination in and of itself. This transformation has earned the hotel the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Hotel rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Amex, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Disneyland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel Ca
Disneyland Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disneyland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.