We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Hotel, with added cost” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disneyland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Disneyland Hotel to your Saves list
Disneyland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 West Magic Way, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Family Hotel, with added cost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel was built with kids in mind 100%.

* Room had headboard that would light up and play the Disney theme, kids fell asleep to it every night. Sadly, we could hear EVERYTHING in the room next door. The hotel seriously needs to invest in better door / walls for a little bit of privacy.

* Food was to be expected, cheap and simple. For kids was perfect though, as they ate and loved every basic meal they had. Don't expect anything fancy.

* Customer service was excellent, the front desk staff helped us with anything we needed. The elevators in the morning were always full, like rush hour traffic. You would have to wait for several sometimes to go past before you (in lineup) would be able to get on.

* The worth of this experience came from the convenience of getting into Park earlier then people staying at other hotels, which means grabbing the monorail directly into hotel and avoiding the long lineups. Other then that, the Disneyland characters wandering around was another added bonus.

Room Tip: If you as for a room facing parking lot, you can watch the fireworks from your window (if high enoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    559
    189
    67
    32
See reviews for
1,120
182
19
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
laguna niguel caalifornia, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Not a fan. Stayed in the Adventure Tower. Rooms about the quality of a Holiday Inn without a breakfast bar...with apologies to Holiday Inn. This place has nothing to commend it. It makes Vegas look attractive. And I don't much like Vegas.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We recently returned from a trip of a lifetime. Our trip included a four night stay in Disneyland before a week and a half in Hawaii. We stayed at the Disneyland Hotel during our Disneyland portion.

Our friends had arrived prior to us and had arranged for us to get a room with a balcony and view of the parks. WOW! These rooms are amazing. We had stayed here prior to all their refurbishments and this hotel has kept with the nostalgic feel but takes advantage of all the modern conveniences and technologies. We loved the decor and the rooms were spotless.

Staff were extremely friendly, helpful and courteous during our entire stay.

The convenience of being "in the magic" cannot be stressed enough! Walking from the shopping/food area and to either park is quick, efficient and enjoyable.

Cost of this hotel is quite high. For all the reasons I listed (convenience, service, location, decor). This may be a deciding factor in staying here in the future.

Being from the East coast, the West coast stopover what a terrific idea as it's a long way to Hawaii. We would probably do this in reverse next time though and fly to Hawaii first and stopover for a few days on the way back. The time zone changes are killer! :)

All in all...one amazing trip! Great location, great friends and Disney magic!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights during our 10 day California vacation. It was amazing. Loved the Disneyland hotel. Even being there the week of 4th of July, it was so quiet! No noise, never ran into other guests In the hallways or elevators. We were able to see the Disneyland fireworks from our room, so great when you have young kids who can't stay awake that late. The room felt so spacious and had an excellent size fridge. We were able to keep cold drinks so we didn't have to spend a fortune on drinks at the parks. Love every single minute of our first stay at Disney, would not do Disney any other way. So close to the parks! Amazing!! Lastly I have to mention the light up headboard, carved like the castle with fireworks over it that light up and play the music "a dream is a wish your heart makes". Turned on by a little button displaying tinkerbell...our 4 year old daughter was in awe...as was I. Disneyland was a dream our hearts made and thanks disneyland hotel, resort and parks for putting all those little extra magical touches in to make our stay so special and memorable. Everything I ever expected out of Disney, the Disneyland hotel lived up to.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have made several trips to Disneyland in the past 5 years but always stayed off site. This time we decided to splurge and stay at one of the resort properties and we were not disappointed. While check in was very busy we still felt like the staff treated us like we were special guests and took the time to point out different amenities in the resort. Our mini fridge was on the fritz and not working but was replaced by a new unit by the next morning. We loved being so close to the parks and being able to go to the parks in the am and then come back and relax at the resort pool and then go back and forth to the parks so easily. We all loved the LED light display on the headboards that played "When You Wish Upon a Star". The kids got to meet many different characters at the hotel as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Of course it was very expensive, but staying in a 1-bedroom suite here was great - so comfortable, convenient, and fun. I don't give it the very highest rating because it was not perfect and, at this price, it really should be. For example, suite had fridge but no microwave, kitchen cabinets but no dishes. Also, master bath door did not stay closed and could not be locked and on our first morning there was no hot water. But space was excellent, we could see the fireworks from our room even tho we did not pay extra for view, and housekeeping was wonderful. Also, the pool area was first rate.

Room Tip: Top floor suite in Frontier Tower has fireworks view w/o extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Western, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We could only stay at the Disneyland Hotel for 4 nights, but they were the BEST 4 nights we had! We knew it was going to be expensive, but after travelling so far from Australia, it was worth every cent. What an experience. We were feeling slightly jet lagged after flying for so long to get there, but all that disappeared as soon as we walked into the lobby and were greeted by cheery smiles and..GOOFY!! My 13 and 11 year old forgot all about the long flight as soon as they were engulfed in Goofy's big hug. From then on, our stay became magical each day.
As soon as we got to our glorious room we were enchanted. The musical headboard and all the little Mickey touches just highlighted the fact we were at Disneyland at last!! Each day, we got back from LOTS of walking to find our room clean and tidy and the boy's soft toys arranged in cute positions on their bed. We delighted in having a wake up call from Mickey to get us out of bed for the magic hour early in the morning. The magic early hour is VERY worth it because at the time of year we went, the crowds and lines were long, and at this time you could enjoy a ride, and be able to race around and do it again without the lines. Disneyland and DCA were so close, if we did not feel like walking we took the monorail straight into Tomorrowland or took the GCH entrance for DCA, great ways to conserve your walking legs. We enjoyed being able to come back to the pool in the heat of the day, hubby and I loved the icy cocktails brought to us while the boys swam.
Dinner at Goofy's kitchen was a dream come true. We arrived late, and were told the characters were only going to be there for half an hour more. We went ahead anyway and were delighted to see all the characters make an effort to visit our table before they left. We got photos and autographs galore. The food was great...a buffet meant there was something for everyone.
Nikolas at the front desk helped us a lot with an issue we had and we LOVED Tony from room service enthusiastically revealing all of our dishes with great aplomb. Room service was divine, so elegantly presented and delicious, again, expensive, but this is what we had saved for, so we enjoyed every cent we spent!
Thankfully there was a small laundrette because even after just 4 nights, you still get a heap of washing to do! We stayed at the Frontier tower and I scoffed at other reviews complaining how far it was to walk...it wasn't really in the sceme of things, there was always something to look at as you walked and honestly with the amount of walking we did per day, a little trek to our room was nothing! We had a view of the car park which was not stimulating but we didn't care, we were not there for the view, anyway we marvelled at how the car park was busy any time of the day!
Would we stay here again? You betcha, the boys are saving up now as we speak, we know it will be years before we can get there again, but the magic will stay with us until we do!

Room Tip: Take advantage of the early magic hour. Even though it is very early it is worth it to beat the line...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.2 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#12 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disneyland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disneyland Hotel

Address: 1150 West Magic Way, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disneyland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 973
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay and see all that is new! Now with more luxurious rooms, new pools and waterslides, themed dining and more, the transformed Disneyland Hotel is a vacation destination in and of itself. This transformation has earned the hotel the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Hotel rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Venere so you can book your Disneyland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel Ca
Disneyland Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disneyland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.