We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disneyland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disneyland Hotel to your Saves list
Disneyland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 West Magic Way, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 114 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal location but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

No tourist trip to so-Cal is complete without hitting Disneyland at least once. Or in the case with my friends, twice. So we decided to splurge and book a room at the Disneyland hotel. That way we could take on a full day of Disneyland, drag ourselves back to the room, and awaken ourselves to the character breakfast and enjoy another full day of Disney and perhaps California Adventure.

Being so close to Disneyland, California Adventure, and Downtown Disney is the hotel's greatest advantage. The place is clean and the service is friendly. We didn't notice the spa.

The character breakfast buffet is perfect for kids and the kids in all of us. My main complaint is how bloody expensive it was, but it's a rare trip so why not?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KValentine42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Anaheim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We travelled from New Zealand for the Disneyland experience "First timers" not knowing what to expect. We spent hours reading reviews, trying to decide the what would be the best acoomadation for our family " 2 kids 8 and 5" finally booked the Grand Californian after reading about how great the Hotel was with the direct park entry and all the goodies blah blah blah. Finally got there after months of planning, hour of review reading. After the YouTube videos and the google images it felt like we had been coming here for years.

The arrival!
Amazing. I would never ever bag this hotel, purely based on it's structure. This hotel is amazing. It's like being in a luxury ski lodge. It's grand lobby reaching out to all 6 floors is a life changing experience on it's own. The service is incredible. This place is great! But for kids maybe not :0(

ATTENTION ALL PARENTS

We had pre booked 8 nights at the Grand Californian with a 5 day park pass. After 3 nights and only 1 day at Disneyland the kids were starting to wonder where they were ? We were still adjusting to the time difference and trying to avoid the parks on the weekend! OMG SO BUSY!

We had pictured in our minds a Hotel full of Mickey and Donald running around" AKA DISNEY
MAGIC" This wasn't really the case!

DISNEYLAND HOTEL!
So one hot Sunday afternoon (TODAY) we decided to check out the Disneyland Hotel.The original- where it all started! We walked in to the Lobby "my kids favorite place" and boom straight into a hop skip and jumping Goofy. Well my kids eyes popped out and there Disney dreams came alive. This place is the true Disney adventure we were where we should have been all along. Everything is Disney here. The lobby and hallways are full of Disney history "Walt Disney would be proud of the memories portrayed here, it's great for the kids to know how it all started even if they think it's boring. The rooms are so nice & then the watersides and pools sealed the deal. This is Disneyland said the kids and we were straight up to reception asking to get a transfer. Big ups to the Disney travel company for organizing the transfer, and the lady at Reception for helping us. Thanks Disneyland Hotel for making the dream came true and I hope this review helps people share the magic of Disneyland and it's Hotel. There is no better place to be.:0)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank ChrisholidayAnaheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was the first time we stayed at this hotel and as far as location it was perfect. I expected to see more Disneyland Motive throughout the hotel, and although the rooms were a little dated (bathroom)the view was awesome to the pools etc. I thought with a three year old in the room there may have been a few surprizes for him but the light up headboard was all there was. A mentioned before, the wow factor wasnt really there. The lobby especially. I know there had been renovations done but again thought it may have had more atmosphere.

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor, very quiet overlooking the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Lovely hotel, great location for the Disney parks and excellent rooms. Light up headboard was a nice touch! Make sure you head to Trader Sams tiki bar for great cocktails and atmosphere! Would definitely stay again, also good for extra magic hour in the parks

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SocialJunkieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Hotel was in a good location with easy walking distance to Downtown Disney and the two parks.
The room was quite a good size for a family of four and we had a good view of the pool. The lightup headboard was a nice touch. Guest services were helpful. Whilst this was a good hotel, there was no wow factor and for this reason I think the accommodation is overpriced. Being our very first visit to Disney in Anaheim it would have been good to have been told at checkin that its best to book your dining with characters well in advance and other restaurants as we had trouble booking as they were well booked. Whilst the character breakfast and character dinner were quite good only for seeing the characters as the food was average for what you paid. I didn't like the fact that you had to pay for your dinner first and that the bill included a gratuity of 18%!!!!!!!! This equated to approximately $20!!!!! Whilst I don't mind leaving a tip, I don't like being told how much to tip, as that should be at my discretion and for that reason I asked them to take it off as it wasn't actually compulsory. The pools were fabulous and the kids loved the slides. Would stay here again but only if the cost was cheaper.

Room Tip: Book your character dining the day you check in and book other restaurants in Downtown Disney as soo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank szjmsn30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband, four year old and I stayed at the Disneyland Hotel for two nights in April. We weren't sure at first about spending that much money when we could stay at a neighboring hotel for less. We were very glad that we decided to stay here.

We checked in with Cynthia and she was fantastic! She told our son that Mickey had left him a special delivery and she gave him a signed photo of MIckey. She also gave him his own room key, which of course he thought ws the greatest thing ever and a 1st Visit button, which was also a big hit!

They had a room for us even though we were checking in early. We were in the Adventure Tower overlooking Downtown Disney. We had just gotten to the room when Goofy called to talk to our son. He was so excited about everything it almost brought tears to my eyes! The room was decent size with two queen beds. Behind the beds is a carved, wooden peice of art that spans the entire wall. The carving is of the castle with fireworks and there is a button you can push to make the fireworks light up and plays When You Wish Upon A Star.

There are subtle Mickey's and classy Disney touches throughout the room and the hotel. It was nice and not over the top. My son loved "finding" the MIckey's.

We had a view of the Disneyland fireworks from our room and we could see parts of California Adventure's World of Color as well. We were able to watch in our pajamas, which was great since the shows are so late.

The room had a refrigerator and a coffee maker.

The pool area looked great, unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate so we never got to use the pool.

We did the character breakfast at Goofy's Kitchen. I had made reservations for Monday morning at 7:40 am and it was a good thing. By 9:00 am that place was packed and there was a huge line to get in. The breakfast was really expensive ($100) for three of us. It is a large buffet with plenty of items to choose from. The characters come to your table so it is nice to just sit at your table, realx and let them come to you. There were lots of characters: Goofy, Pluto, Chip & Dale, Aurora, Baloo and Rafiki.

It was an easy walk to the parks. We walked through Downtown Disney to enter the parks through the main gates. We also walked to the Grand Californian to enter California Adventure through the resort special entrance. We entered Disneyland via the monorail that is right outside the Disneyland Hotel. There were lots of options and all were easy enough.

We did the Extra Magic Hour at California Adventure on Monday morning. We attempted to enter through the Grand Californian, but the line was crazy long! They actually encouraged people to go to the main gate since there are more workers at that gate so it would be faster to get in. I did not expect there to be such chaos on a random Monday.

There are plenty of places to eat and shop throughout Downtown Disney, but be warned nothing is cheap!

I highly recommend this hotel, great experience!

Room Tip: High up rooms in the Adventure Tower overlook Downtown Disney and have views of the fireworks. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lasvegas11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our family of 4, a 13 year old girl and 16 year old boy, stayed at the Disneyland Hotel for 2 nights at the beginning of April. One of the reasons that I chose this hotel is the location and being able to go into Disneyland 1 hour earlier than it opens to the public. The location was great! We could walk to both parks, downtown Disney or take the monorail.

The pool was quite nice but busy and there weren't many loungers around the pool. We waited until someone left and got a lounger later in the day. It was nice to have a server around the pool taking orders for drinks.

The rooms were not very big, especially for 4 people. Luckily we found a spot for all of our suitcases. I didn't like the shower room much either because there was nowhere to put my clean clothes while I showered.

It was nice to have a small fridge and a desk. The view of the parking lot was not appealing.

I guess for the price we paid, I expected a lot more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Live4travelCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#3 of 114 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disneyland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disneyland Hotel

Address: 1150 West Magic Way, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Disneyland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 973
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay and see all that is new! Now with more luxurious rooms, new pools and waterslides, themed dining and more, the transformed Disneyland Hotel is a vacation destination in and of itself. This transformation has earned the hotel the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Hotel rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Disneyland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel Ca
Disneyland Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing