We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disneyland Hotel

Save Saved
You added Disneyland Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Tingo.com
and 4 more sites!
Disneyland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 Magic Way, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was the first time we stayed at this hotel and as far as location it was perfect. I expected to see more Disneyland Motive throughout the hotel, and although the rooms were a little dated (bathroom)the view was awesome to the pools etc. I thought with a three year old in the room there may have been a few surprizes for him but the light up headboard was all there was. A mentioned before, the wow factor wasnt really there. The lobby especially. I know there had been renovations done but again thought it may have had more atmosphere.

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor, very quiet overlooking the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    512
    323
    100
    42
    19
See reviews for
646
103
11
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Lovely hotel, great location for the Disney parks and excellent rooms. Light up headboard was a nice touch! Make sure you head to Trader Sams tiki bar for great cocktails and atmosphere! Would definitely stay again, also good for extra magic hour in the parks

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Hotel was in a good location with easy walking distance to Downtown Disney and the two parks.
The room was quite a good size for a family of four and we had a good view of the pool. The lightup headboard was a nice touch. Guest services were helpful. Whilst this was a good hotel, there was no wow factor and for this reason I think the accommodation is overpriced. Being our very first visit to Disney in Anaheim it would have been good to have been told at checkin that its best to book your dining with characters well in advance and other restaurants as we had trouble booking as they were well booked. Whilst the character breakfast and character dinner were quite good only for seeing the characters as the food was average for what you paid. I didn't like the fact that you had to pay for your dinner first and that the bill included a gratuity of 18%!!!!!!!! This equated to approximately $20!!!!! Whilst I don't mind leaving a tip, I don't like being told how much to tip, as that should be at my discretion and for that reason I asked them to take it off as it wasn't actually compulsory. The pools were fabulous and the kids loved the slides. Would stay here again but only if the cost was cheaper.

Room Tip: Book your character dining the day you check in and book other restaurants in Downtown Disney as soo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband, four year old and I stayed at the Disneyland Hotel for two nights in April. We weren't sure at first about spending that much money when we could stay at a neighboring hotel for less. We were very glad that we decided to stay here.

We checked in with Cynthia and she was fantastic! She told our son that Mickey had left him a special delivery and she gave him a signed photo of MIckey. She also gave him his own room key, which of course he thought ws the greatest thing ever and a 1st Visit button, which was also a big hit!

They had a room for us even though we were checking in early. We were in the Adventure Tower overlooking Downtown Disney. We had just gotten to the room when Goofy called to talk to our son. He was so excited about everything it almost brought tears to my eyes! The room was decent size with two queen beds. Behind the beds is a carved, wooden peice of art that spans the entire wall. The carving is of the castle with fireworks and there is a button you can push to make the fireworks light up and plays When You Wish Upon A Star.

There are subtle Mickey's and classy Disney touches throughout the room and the hotel. It was nice and not over the top. My son loved "finding" the MIckey's.

We had a view of the Disneyland fireworks from our room and we could see parts of California Adventure's World of Color as well. We were able to watch in our pajamas, which was great since the shows are so late.

The room had a refrigerator and a coffee maker.

The pool area looked great, unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate so we never got to use the pool.

We did the character breakfast at Goofy's Kitchen. I had made reservations for Monday morning at 7:40 am and it was a good thing. By 9:00 am that place was packed and there was a huge line to get in. The breakfast was really expensive ($100) for three of us. It is a large buffet with plenty of items to choose from. The characters come to your table so it is nice to just sit at your table, realx and let them come to you. There were lots of characters: Goofy, Pluto, Chip & Dale, Aurora, Baloo and Rafiki.

It was an easy walk to the parks. We walked through Downtown Disney to enter the parks through the main gates. We also walked to the Grand Californian to enter California Adventure through the resort special entrance. We entered Disneyland via the monorail that is right outside the Disneyland Hotel. There were lots of options and all were easy enough.

We did the Extra Magic Hour at California Adventure on Monday morning. We attempted to enter through the Grand Californian, but the line was crazy long! They actually encouraged people to go to the main gate since there are more workers at that gate so it would be faster to get in. I did not expect there to be such chaos on a random Monday.

There are plenty of places to eat and shop throughout Downtown Disney, but be warned nothing is cheap!

I highly recommend this hotel, great experience!

Room Tip: High up rooms in the Adventure Tower overlook Downtown Disney and have views of the fireworks. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our family of 4, a 13 year old girl and 16 year old boy, stayed at the Disneyland Hotel for 2 nights at the beginning of April. One of the reasons that I chose this hotel is the location and being able to go into Disneyland 1 hour earlier than it opens to the public. The location was great! We could walk to both parks, downtown Disney or take the monorail.

The pool was quite nice but busy and there weren't many loungers around the pool. We waited until someone left and got a lounger later in the day. It was nice to have a server around the pool taking orders for drinks.

The rooms were not very big, especially for 4 people. Luckily we found a spot for all of our suitcases. I didn't like the shower room much either because there was nowhere to put my clean clothes while I showered.

It was nice to have a small fridge and a desk. The view of the parking lot was not appealing.

I guess for the price we paid, I expected a lot more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We picked this hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. The overall experience was very good. We did Valet parking & checked in quickly at 4:30pm. We had a 10th floor Concierge Level Room in the Adventure Tower with a Park View. In my opinion, the room was very small for the price but it was clean enough. The view was great – you could see right into Downtown Disney with a view of both parks and the mountains in the distance. Unfortunately, there are no fireworks during the week - only weekends. We were very disappointed – especially on the first night when very loud, blaring music came from Downtown Disney until 10pm. If you have small children, this will be a problem - we had 2 sound machines going and it didn't make any difference...we could not sleep until the music stopped!

Our room had a mini-fridge, lighted headboard, LG flat screen TV with DVD player already hooked up, safe, coffeemaker, blow dryer, 2 Queen beds, 1 chair, a desk and sofa. There was also a Pack-N-Play in our closet. The room service staff were very friendly but we had to make sure we told them in the morning that we were leaving so the room was ready in time for naptime. The one time we forgot - we returned to a dirty room. They gave us a lot of delicious chocolate coins every night…

The Concierge Lounge access was great because there was always some form of food available at all times. There is a large refrigerator stocked with soda, juice boxes (fruit punch) water and cranberry juice. Each day, they provide (light) breakfast, lunch and dinner options – and desserts are there too. It wasn't a huge spread but it was a good variety. They offer adult drinks in the evening but the Chardonnay is terrible....the lobby had better wine.

In the main building, there is a store that has some diapers (swim ones too), wipes, medicines, hair spray, wine & beer, water, chocolate & strawberry milk, autograph books, clothing, etc... My children loved the pool but it was full of kids so that might be an issue if you're not traveling with any.. We only had 1 instance of loud children running through the halls and it did not last very long.

Room service was very mediocre but quick, Tangeroa Terrace was just ok and Goofy’s Kitchen was really great for the kids. The breakfast at Goofy's Kitchen had a huge variety of foods and we met 8 different characters while we were there.

The location of the hotel is perfect - a 3 minute walk to the Monorail or a 8-10 minute walk through Downtown Disney to the front entrance of the parks. The Downtown Disney area is vibrant with music and shops and food. There is lots to see and because the weather is so nice, kids will enjoy looking at everything (there's awesome Legoland structures & Build-A-Bear). I would definitely recommend bringing your own stroller.

Everyone we encountered at the hotel was friendly and professional. We will definitely return but we will be sure to face the pool next time.

Room Tip: If you have small kids to put to bed early, do not face the parks!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I recently attended a week-end business conference headquartered at the Disneyland Hotel. We knew the meetings were going to be long and opted to stay at the hotel for convenience rather than fight LA freeway traffic. We have never stayed at any Disney property before. I had my doubts but was pleasantly surprised. We were assigned a room in the Frontier Tower - a short walk across the pool area from the Main Tower. Our room was immaculate, the bathroom separated into Shower/Commode in one room and Sink/Mirror another. Very convenient when two people are trying to get ready for meetings! The hotel was quiet (I had been expecting screaming and/or noisy kids/families) and the staff friendly. The bed was very comfortable, big windows for nice light, desk to set up laptop, refrigerator to store our own supply of soda and snacks . . . very comfortable accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disneyland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disneyland Hotel

Also Known As:
Disneyland Hotel Ca
Anaheim Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel Anaheim
Address: 1150 Magic Way, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#7 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disneyland Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay and see all that is new! Now with more luxurious rooms, new pools and waterslides, themed dining and more, the transformed Disneyland Hotel is a vacation destination in and of itself. This transformation has earned the hotel the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Hotel rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Venere, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Disneyland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disneyland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.