We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Classic Disney Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disneyland Hotel

Save Saved
You added Disneyland Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Disneyland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 Magic Way, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A Classic Disney Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

It had been over 30 years since my last stay at a Disney property. As a special treat, my husband and I chose to stay at the Disneyland Hotel for New Years Eve. I chose the DH over the other two Anaheim properties because of the nostalgia. Strangely enough the worst part of the whole stay was finding the hotel parking entrance! Once we did find the self-parking lot there was plenty of room--even on New Year's Eve. The hotel has been beautifully updated and the front desk service was excellent.

One of the goals of our stay at the hotel was to be able to see the fireworks from our room and I didn't quite comprehend what the front desk clerk said when I asked her if our room would be able to see them--she said not to worry, that we had been upgraded--THAT was an understatement.

We found ourselves sent to the 11th floor of the Frontier tower (the tower farthest from the main Fantasy tower). Up we went to our floor, following the room numbers as they continued down the hall to the very end where we were met with a set of double doors. We had been upgraded to a corner suite! I stood in awe as I looked at the one bedroom, two bath apartment with balcony and 'kitchen'.

We decided there and then that we were NOT leaving the room unless we had to! We had both our New Year's Eve dinner and New Year's Day breakfast delivered to the room (the food and service were pricey but excellent) and watched both sets of the night's fireworks from the warm comfort of our 'own' couch and living room. An unexpected bonus was watching the other midnight fireworks shows all over Orange County from the balcony!

Our stay was flawless and we were able to leave our car at the hotel parking lot while we enjoyed the Park for New Year's Day--the $15 saved barely covered one dessert from the night before, but every little bit helped! :-)

My unexpected upgrade experience not withstanding, would I stay at one of the Disney properties again? Yes. Although they are very expensive, there is certainly a time-saving and convenience factor. It's a true treat to be able to stay at a Disney property and one I hope to repeat in less than 30 years!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    401
    136
    54
    22
See reviews for
806
126
14
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The Disneyland Hotel is a very nice.
It's located close to downtown Disney and the park. You can enter California Adventure park through the Grand Californian hotel, with your Disneyland Hotel key, which is nice.
The rooms have recently been renovated and they look very nice!

My only critique... We got a two bedroom suite, which is of course pricey, but not nearly as pricey as a suite at the Grand Californian, which we also really enjoy.

At the Disneyland hotel, our suite consisted of a one bedroom suite that shared a common hall (that is key operated, not open access) with a basic hotel room, which doubles as the second bedroom. So, essentially our kids were across a hall. We had to keep both (hotel room) doors open with door stops. To the maintenance and cleaning crew, this is just a hall, so they would just open the door, but to us, this was the hall separating us from our kids, 1 and 8... A little uncomfortable hearing somebody opening the door without knocking.

Other than this, we had a great time!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

You're going to pay a lot for this hotel yet it's worth it to get the full Disney experience. If you stayed here before the renovations you'll be impressed with some of the new touches. The hotel is very classic Disney and has been updated to be even better then before. The new pools are great and include some impressive slides. The location is good and very close to the monorail or you can walk the 5 minute walk through the Grand Californian Hotel into the California Park. The entrance to Disney, if you don't take the monorail is a 15 minute walk through Downtown Disney. It can be a tough walk after a long day at the park with little ones. The monorail is not always reliable so the walk sometimes has to be done. Definitely take a stroller if you have kids that need them. The restaurant at the hotel are great and not terribly overpriced. Goofys Kitchen is on the hotel grounds and a must if you have kids younger than 6 and never done it before. It's not cheap but it's more than just a meal. Your kids will not forget hanging out with the characters and helping Goofy make his cake will the whole restaurant dances to his music. There are a couple "normal" restaurants too. The rooms are small but nice and have some great TV channels exclusive to the park including bedtime stories that we used every night to help get the kids to bed. Nice touches in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, Minnesota
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Booked through Disney vacations and got a decent deal for New Year's. guest services was always reachable by phone and helpful prior to departure. Arrived and was helped to find a room on New Year's Eve although it was not check in time yet. We actually got upgraded. The hotel was clean, room was in a quiet wing, had a very nice view from the 10th floor that overlooked the pool area. Bathroom was big and lavatory section had its own door. Bathroom had its own door as well which works really well for privacy if more than one/two persons are in the room. Of course the hotel was only a short stroll away from Downtown Disney. Most staff at all amenities were friendly and helpful. How can they not when this is the "happiest place on earth".

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walled Lake, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stays on the property for the early entry to Disneyland and California Adventure. It worked out great, we were able to ride many rides in that hour, before the public was allowed in. The hotel pool was 78 degrees, which is awful in December when the weather is only 62 degrees out. You would think for $435 dollars per night they could afford to heat the pool to 88 degrees because of course the kids demand to swim anyway.
If you're a Disney regular or live nearby, I would stay across the street and save some big bucks.
In Orlando there are nonstop character sightings in the common areas of the hotels. Not so in Disneyland, we never saw one in 3 days.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed 4 nights on the concierge level of the Disneyland Hotel in a room with 2 queen beds overlooking Downtown Disney. The room itself is very clean and comfortable. We had no issues with the cleanliness of the room, but the bathroom needed some work. The sink was fine, but the shower had no water pressure although being hot and the shower head itself looked like it had a few years of mineral deposits on it. The bottom of the tub also had some dirt, but it looked like you would need some heavy duty scrubbing to get that off. The other issue we had was that the room AC unit was not working for either heating or cooling.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and there was one of the pluses of the hotel. Being so close to the parks was also a big plus along with the Extra Magic Hours. Without this, it would also be impossible to get a ride on Radiator Racers without a 90 minute wait for the ride or Fast Passes.

The club room was a nice place to stop by for a small bite or drink, but I honestly did not feel that there was enough value in this and would not get it again. The breakfast is mostly just a continental breakfast and I would rather have my eggs, bacon and toast.

Room Tip: Ask for a Downtown Disney View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

An average score for what could have been an amazing stay. Its lacking that attention to detail which you come to expect from Disney, that special je ne sais quoi .... On the plus side, it is safe and comfortable for a short stay and although not incredible value for the cost, it is Disney and our family all enjoyed the vacation.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disneyland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disneyland Hotel

Address: 1150 Magic Way, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disneyland Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay and see all that is new! Now with more luxurious rooms, new pools and waterslides, themed dining and more, the transformed Disneyland Hotel is a vacation destination in and of itself. This transformation has earned the hotel the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Hotel rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Disneyland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disneyland Hotel Ca
Anaheim Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disneyland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.