We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "original" Disneyland Hotel !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disneyland Hotel

Save Saved
You added Disneyland Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Disneyland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 Magic Way, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The "original" Disneyland Hotel !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Our family recently returned from our annual Disneyland trip here in California. It started 28 years ago with our first born and now is a new tradition with our first born grand baby who is now
4 years old, by the way it was his second trip and was tall enough last year to ride ALL the rides except Indiana Jones AND he rode them all "the big white mountain" (Matterhorn) was his favorite last year this year it was Star Tours :-)
When we started our tradition 28 years ago it started with the "Disneyland Hotel" over the years we have stayed at the Grand Californian Hotel as our family grew we also tried the Hyatt Hotel down the road both very nice.
However this year We decided to go back to the original "Disneyland Hotel" AMAZING!!! The rooms were recently newly renovated, one of the MUST mention change in the room is the headboard over the bed, one push of a button on the light on the nightstand AND AMAAZINGLY the headboard lights up with FIREWORKS AND A SOOTHING musical song plays, you can leave the fireworks on as a nightlight, the music only plays for a little while long enough to relax after a very exciting day at the parks, LOVED LOVED LOVED!!! The room is so clean, the new pools and hot tub were perfect after walking from opening to closing of both parks!
I have to say making reservations were so easy and the staff so helpful including directing me to a trip planner to help make this trip as special as our first one EACH time we go :-) I asked if there was anything they could suggest to make this trip special for our grandson? They suggested different ideas, BUT I want to share the one we choose. First it does cost an additional amount however if your able to do this it was well worth it for us as grandparents.
We purchased the Birthday welcome package it included the following and so much fun to send our grandson Myles down the hallway to find his room on his own AND find it he did very easily. There it was a beautiful Welcome banner across the door ( made from felt and satin) as he walked into the room there were Micky's footprints all over the floor were Myles could see Mickey had been in the room preparing to welcome him. There were balloons with one Mylar that when Myles touch it, it sang Happy Birthday. On the window another banner saying Happy Birthday with a Tinkerbell flying over it lit up with an led light, on the nightstand a Happy Birthday Mickey Mouse ear hat with "Myles" stitched on the back,a book autographed and personally signed "To Myles, from Mickey and all the other characters" with a pen for Myles to take to the park with him also a HUGH beautiful box on the bed a present from Mickey and his friends for Myles with a picture frame with Mickey on it along with spinning Tinkerbell light toy, a find the hidden Mickey's in the park book AND a large plush MICKEY MOUSE with a light up lanyard draped over his
neck for Myles! The reaction of watching our grandsons face light up and him saying " Whaat? This is from Mickey for me?" PRICELESS!!! Thank you Disney planning staff for the recommendation.
I also want to thank the Disneyland Hotel for trying to get us into our room early due to one of our family members having a migraine, because you were able to at least get one room for our party of seven our family member was able to lay down for a little while and was able to get rid of her migraine so we ALL were able to have a fabulous vacation!
We will choose "Disneyland Hotel" for many years to follow in the future as our family continues to grow along with our families annual traditional trip to Disneyland and memories continue to grow :-) !!!

Thank you to the staff of the Disneyland Hotel, planning department and of course Mickey and his friends! :-)

Room Tip: All the room are great if you don't have the view of the park ask for the view of the pool beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    573
    368
    119
    49
    21
See reviews for
733
113
14
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prosper, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which is actually a 1 bedroom suite with an adjoining room. The living room was very spacious with plenty of room for all of us (5 adults) as well as pack n play for baby. Bathrooms were super clean with great smelling bath products and great plush towels. Adorable Mickey fxtures added a special touch to the elegant rooms. Beds and bedding were very comfy and nice. Light up firework headboards were a special touch. Stayed in fantasy tower and had great view of the evening fireworks from our room. Easy walk to Disneyland or California Adventure. Many restaurants and lots of shopping. Only minus is there is not much lighting (but there is plenty of space) for putting on makeup outside of bathroom. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: For good viewing of fireworks: fantasy tower 4th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Pros: Proximity to parks and monorail, perks, early entry everyday of your stay, recently refurbished, nice pools, outstanding service.

Cons: Price


For those of you who hesitate between the Grand Californian and the Disneyland hotel: We stayed at both and perfer the Disneyland hotel simply because the rooms are larger and newer. Also, the Disneyland hotel is closer to the monorail. The only thing "grand" at the Grand Californian is the lobby.

For those of you who hesitate between a good neighborhood hotel or one of the 3 official Disney hotel: Splurge and go for the Disney hotel if you can afford it! Well worth the extra cost. This was our 4th visit to Disneyland and we stayed in good neightborhood hotels before which are advertised to be "across the street". They are close but not close enough to go back for a jacket, the sunglasses that you forgot in your room or an afternoon nap. The Disneyland Hotel is close enough that you can do that.

Also, the early entry to the park is a great perk if you are planning on visiting "Cars land". We took advantage of the early entry to California Adventure (reserved to hotel guests only) and by the time the park open to general public, the wait time to spring racers was already over 1 hour and people were lining up for the fast pass. All fast passes were gone less than 1 hour after official park opening! We were able to walk right into the ride with no wait using early entry.

The Disneyland hotel is steps away from the monorail which is another great way to beat the crowds from the main entrance in the morning. The monorail takes you directly to Tomorrow Land.

The Disneyland Hotel would be our one and only choice for future visits.

Room Tip: Chose premium views if you can afford. Ask for Adventure Tower which is closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have not stayed at the Disneyland Hotel for about 6 years. It was a surprise to see all the updates to the hotel that had been made. The hotel now looks new, clean and bright. We stayed in the Frontier Tower, in a suite on the 9th floor and had a spectacular view of the parks and the to the east. We watched the fireworks display every night from our balcony, with the music channel on the TV. The headboard in our bedroom was carved with disneyland and lights that looked like fireworks and music that would play when you turned it on. All the fixtures in the bathroom had some Mickey design, such as the handle on the tub, tiles, lights, etc. The first night turn down service included a plate of mickey & minney cookies with a carafe of milk. The following nights with chocolates on our bed and our room straighter up. (new towels and trash emptied) The kitchen/breakfast area was spacious and we had a wet bar and a refrigerator. Service staff was wonderful and always pleasant.

Room Tip: check for rooms that will have a view of the fireworks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mill valley, ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Disneyland Hotel is a great spot to stay when visiting the theme parks. It's convenient to EVERYTHING - parks, Downtown Disney - but the best part is having early access to the theme parks on alternating days. Service was very Disney-friendly; staff was courteous and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We spent two nights here in early November. We were able to check in at 7am with no problem so we could have early access to California Adventure that day. The rooms were recently re-done, and the lights over the beds (like fireworks) were a big hit with the kids. Our room faced Downtown Disney (Adventure Land) and was very accessible to walk to the parks in the morning (about 5 minutes). We slept 5 comfortably with the 'transformer' bed. We would stay here again, but we definitely paid for the convenience with little discounts available (that we could find anyway). The one disappointment was that the monorail slide was closed :( and the park openings were a bit late for this east coast family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

While the Disneyland Hotel price is much more then the many other surrounding "good neighbor" hotels for us this was the perfect place to stay! We are frequent visitors to Walt Disney World and love being "immersed in the magic." Being able to walk every where and being on Disney property the whole time is exactly what we were looking for.

The rooms were very nice, contemporary/modern and plenty of space for us. We loved the little design touches in the rooms and throughout the buildings.

We were in the Frontier Building, while it is probably easier to be in the main building we did not mind the walk, although did not eat at the hotel restaurants and only stopped in the gift shop twice.

If you are looking for a wonderful place to stay and have the entire Disney experience - this hotel will not disappoint! If we visit again we will definitely be staying at the Disneyland Hotel again!

Room Tip: Fantasy Tower/Main Building will keep you close to the shops and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disneyland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disneyland Hotel

Address: 1150 Magic Way, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disneyland Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay and see all that is new! Now with more luxurious rooms, new pools and waterslides, themed dining and more, the transformed Disneyland Hotel is a vacation destination in and of itself. This transformation has earned the hotel the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Hotel rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Disneyland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disneyland Hotel Ca
Anaheim Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disneyland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.