We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing but the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disneyland Hotel

Save Saved
You added Disneyland Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Disneyland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 Magic Way, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Alberta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nothing but the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Pros: Proximity to parks and monorail, perks, early entry everyday of your stay, recently refurbished, nice pools, outstanding service.

Cons: Price


For those of you who hesitate between the Grand Californian and the Disneyland hotel: We stayed at both and perfer the Disneyland hotel simply because the rooms are larger and newer. Also, the Disneyland hotel is closer to the monorail. The only thing "grand" at the Grand Californian is the lobby.

For those of you who hesitate between a good neighborhood hotel or one of the 3 official Disney hotel: Splurge and go for the Disney hotel if you can afford it! Well worth the extra cost. This was our 4th visit to Disneyland and we stayed in good neightborhood hotels before which are advertised to be "across the street". They are close but not close enough to go back for a jacket, the sunglasses that you forgot in your room or an afternoon nap. The Disneyland Hotel is close enough that you can do that.

Also, the early entry to the park is a great perk if you are planning on visiting "Cars land". We took advantage of the early entry to California Adventure (reserved to hotel guests only) and by the time the park open to general public, the wait time to spring racers was already over 1 hour and people were lining up for the fast pass. All fast passes were gone less than 1 hour after official park opening! We were able to walk right into the ride with no wait using early entry.

The Disneyland hotel is steps away from the monorail which is another great way to beat the crowds from the main entrance in the morning. The monorail takes you directly to Tomorrow Land.

The Disneyland Hotel would be our one and only choice for future visits.

Room Tip: Chose premium views if you can afford. Ask for Adventure Tower which is closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    398
    135
    54
    22
See reviews for
803
125
14
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have not stayed at the Disneyland Hotel for about 6 years. It was a surprise to see all the updates to the hotel that had been made. The hotel now looks new, clean and bright. We stayed in the Frontier Tower, in a suite on the 9th floor and had a spectacular view of the parks and the to the east. We watched the fireworks display every night from our balcony, with the music channel on the TV. The headboard in our bedroom was carved with disneyland and lights that looked like fireworks and music that would play when you turned it on. All the fixtures in the bathroom had some Mickey design, such as the handle on the tub, tiles, lights, etc. The first night turn down service included a plate of mickey & minney cookies with a carafe of milk. The following nights with chocolates on our bed and our room straighter up. (new towels and trash emptied) The kitchen/breakfast area was spacious and we had a wet bar and a refrigerator. Service staff was wonderful and always pleasant.

Room Tip: check for rooms that will have a view of the fireworks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mill valley, ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Disneyland Hotel is a great spot to stay when visiting the theme parks. It's convenient to EVERYTHING - parks, Downtown Disney - but the best part is having early access to the theme parks on alternating days. Service was very Disney-friendly; staff was courteous and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We spent two nights here in early November. We were able to check in at 7am with no problem so we could have early access to California Adventure that day. The rooms were recently re-done, and the lights over the beds (like fireworks) were a big hit with the kids. Our room faced Downtown Disney (Adventure Land) and was very accessible to walk to the parks in the morning (about 5 minutes). We slept 5 comfortably with the 'transformer' bed. We would stay here again, but we definitely paid for the convenience with little discounts available (that we could find anyway). The one disappointment was that the monorail slide was closed :( and the park openings were a bit late for this east coast family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

While the Disneyland Hotel price is much more then the many other surrounding "good neighbor" hotels for us this was the perfect place to stay! We are frequent visitors to Walt Disney World and love being "immersed in the magic." Being able to walk every where and being on Disney property the whole time is exactly what we were looking for.

The rooms were very nice, contemporary/modern and plenty of space for us. We loved the little design touches in the rooms and throughout the buildings.

We were in the Frontier Building, while it is probably easier to be in the main building we did not mind the walk, although did not eat at the hotel restaurants and only stopped in the gift shop twice.

If you are looking for a wonderful place to stay and have the entire Disney experience - this hotel will not disappoint! If we visit again we will definitely be staying at the Disneyland Hotel again!

Room Tip: Fantasy Tower/Main Building will keep you close to the shops and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We visited the Disneyland Hotel for a long weekend and had a ball! We had a larger party so we had a "2 room suite" which was a bedroom with a living room and a connecting standard bedroom. Room was very clean, had a refrigerator, microwave and kitchenette. The decor was amazingly beautiful and the headboards play when you wish upon a star and have LED's on it that look like fireworks. Great place to stay! The food at Disneyland Hotel, however, left a lot to be desired unless you want to pay a lot for a character breakfast, you are better off going to Downtown Disney.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Wendy at check-in was fabulous! Very informative and took the time to tell us about the resort and Disneyland. There are 3 Towers at Disneyland Hotel. We stayed in the Frontier Tower, room 2593. The view wasn't that great. We backed onto the parking lot....but how long are you really in your room? The queen size beds were very comfy and the kids adored the sleeping beauty headboard that light up fireworks. Separate shower/toilet area from the sink which was great when you have 4 in the room. Not as many hidden Mickey's as I was expecting though. Kids loved the pool but the slides and one hot tub was down for maintenance so we never got to try the slide out. I cannot recommend the onsite restaurant next to the pool. We had dinner there first night. BBQ chicken sandwhich that was so dry we couldnt cut it with a knife. The last evening of our stay, our 4 year oldcaught the stomach bug, throwing up. Housekeeping was quick to respond with changing beds and front desk was so sweet to send up a surprise of Mickey balloons and an autographed picture of Minnie Mouse. We had a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disneyland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disneyland Hotel

Address: 1150 Magic Way, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disneyland Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay and see all that is new! Now with more luxurious rooms, new pools and waterslides, themed dining and more, the transformed Disneyland Hotel is a vacation destination in and of itself. This transformation has earned the hotel the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Hotel rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Disneyland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disneyland Hotel Ca
Anaheim Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disneyland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.