We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-Rated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Peacock Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Peacock Suites to your Saves list
Peacock Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1745 S. Anaheim Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92805   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Sale - 25% Off
Ranked #35 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jose
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Over-Rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

We stayed for 2 nights at the Peacock Suites. From the moment we arrived, we could tell the brochures we had received and the online photos completely over-rated this place!

Parking - The worst ever. They are 2 parking garage levels each with about 20 parking spaces. The problem is they reserve one of the levels for "valet" parking. Also, any overflow parking outside of the garage near the lobby is coned off and marked "valet" also. They charge you $8.00 a day to valet park. There is honestly no reason for this property to have valet parking at all considering how small it is. The last night we were there, we were unable to find a parking spot in the free garage. I literally handed my keys over to the valet, he drove my car 20 feet and parked it for me to the tune of $8.00.

Pool area - 2 nice jacuzzis. The pool is very, very small. Small sun deck located on 4th floor.

Room - We had a 1 bedroom suite with 2 queen beds. It was nice to have a seperate sitting area so the kids could have their own space and own TV. The room has a refrigerator, toaster, can opener & safe. There is a also a VCR. The layout of the room was a little strange. The vanity/sink area is right as you enter the room. If anyone walks out the door as you are trying to get ready, anyone in the hallway can see you standing there. The room was OK. Nothing great. We had to deal with the people above us who had kids that were jumping up & down so loudly we thought they were going to crash through the ceiling.

Free breakfast - Definitely nothing to write home about. Your standard muffins, cold cereal, juice & coffee.

Location - Not good. It says 2 blocks from Disneyland. Plan on walking a long, long way. These are city blocks, folks! There is a seedy night club across the street. I had read a previous review about a noisy laundry facility located next door. The property sits directly next to this place and I can see why noise would be an issue. Thankfully we stayed on a weekend so they were closed.

Reservations - Called the property twice and each time was told someone would have to call me back. The first time I did not get a call back, the second time someone finally did call back.

Check-in: Very quick and efficient. Because this is a timeshare property, they ask you to speak to the concierge who will validate your parking for you. The concierge give you a package of information (maps, brochures, etc.) for the area and also give you times and location for their timeshare presentation. She was very friendly & helpful (provided maps to Hollywood for us)and not pushy at all. You do not have to attend the presentation.

You can find something better in the Disney area that is much closer and much cheaper! The going rate for our room was $149.00 per night and it is definitely not worth it. If this is what Shell Vacation Club has to offer, I would never consider purchasing a timeshare with them.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    228
    95
    48
    27
See reviews for
355
72
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

We stayed at the Peacock in early August, and used the hotel as a launching point for our daily trips to Disneyland. This is what the majority of the other folks at the Peacock are doing as well.

The hotel is close to I-5 and relatively close to Disneyland. A bit too far if you have young kids to walk. Might be do able in the morning when everybody is fresh and excited, but too far to walk back after spending a long day walking around Disneyland.

For $3 a day pp you can purchase a shuttle pass from the front desk. The Peacock is the third stop on the route to Disneyland, so if alot of folks have gotten on at the first two stops, the shuttle can get really full, especially at peak times, i.e. after breakfast. If you are lugging a stroller, you will be squished! The ride is only about 5 minutes to the park.

Free parking is very limited at the Peacock. Not enough to handle a sold out crowd. It's $8 a day to valet. Overflow parking is at a hotel nearby on a space avaialble basis. Not sure what happens when that fills up...

We had a suite (#232), which was rather small. Carpet was stained, toaster broken and bathroom sink cracked (leaked on your feet!). It was nice to have the refrigerator and microwave.
As we tend not to be overly picky folks, we could live with those minor distractions.

The major distraction was the water line that fed the above rooms. The water line ran through the wall right next to the bed. Everytime someone ran a bath/shower in the room above us, the valve in the wall would open and the noise was extremely loud. It was very difficult to get a good nights sleep. The noise blocked out everything else, road noise, our TV, normal converssation, etc. This would not be a big deal if the folks above us did not use the shower late at night, but if they do (as happend to us) it's not so easy to get to sleep. If you have younger kids and do not stay until the park closes at 11pm, this may be a factor if the folks above you do - and want to shower when they return.

I spoke with the front desk about this issue, but they were sold out, so no room changes.

As for the front desk, the girls (especially Yvette) were extremely nice and friendly. They went out of their way to help us with little requests. The service they gave was indicative of a much nicer hotel.

Pool was small. Continental breakfast was a non event. Standard gas station type danish and cereal served.

If we had to do it again, with small kids, I really think we would try to find a deal to stay on the Disneyland property. This saves the hassle of the midday shuttle run back to an off-site hotel for mid day naps and to escape the heat.

If we were staying off property, we would not return to the Peacock. It just wasn't that nice of a place to stay, even with the great service from the girls at the front desk.

Yes it's true that we were there to visit Disneyland, but that does not mean we can't expect a comfortable hotel room/suite.

Since you have to take the shuttle bus anyways, the location of the hotel is not a big deal. Good luck!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2006

We just returned from a weeks stay at PeacocK Suites. We have only wonderful things to say about this resort. We are RCI members and this was an exchange for us. We've been in RCI for 20 years and this resort is every bit as nice as most of the resorts we've traded into. We had a three bedroom suite and a two bedroom suite for our extended family. The rooms were very spacious and each had a area with a microwave, toaster, can opener, small frig. and a safe. Each unit had a small living room with large TV, a couch and table and chairs. The beds were all either king or queen size and each unit had two full bathrooms. In the three bedroom there were slide glass doors to seperate the sleeping areas. The beds were made for you everyday and you received clean tiles. Upon arrival we received a welcoming basket and fluffy white robes. Two of the nights we received mints on our pillows. There is a really nice gift shop that is very resonablely priced and also has supplies of things you might have forgotten. Every morning they serve a continental breakfast with juices, coffee, toast, donuts, danish, muffins, and hard boiled eggs. We felt that was a nice touch. Some hotel have continental breakfast but this the first timeshare we have ever receive free breakfast. The location is fantastic. We were minutes from Disneyland & Knottsberry Farm. We dove one day about an hour to Legoland. It's the only Legoland in the United States. Also close by is Universal Studios and many other attratctions. The staff at the resort couldn't have been more helpfull or freindly. The printed our boarding pass for our plane trip home for us and even mailed our postcards using their postage meter for us. They arranged for a limo to pick us up and take us to an Italian restruant free of charge. They really made our vacation extra special. I don't know when we will go back to CA but if we are in the area we will deffinally stay at Peacock Suites Resort again!!!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2006

Rooms were large, and beds were comfortable. Carpets and furniture were old and stained. Housekeeping staff did a good job. Everything was just OK. The one thing that I did not like was lack of security. All of the rooms were acessible by hallways, which were in turn acessible by anyone. One end of the building by the office required room cards to enter, but the other end was open. It looked like the start of a good idea they never finished.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2006

We had a family of 6 and were very impressed with our room and stay. It was better than we expected.We had 2 queen beds, with a second separate room with a sofa bed, 2 tvs. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. We heard no noise from other hotel guests as other reviews complained. We took the shuttle from the hotel everyday to Disneyland, very smooth no hassle. Only thing I can suggest is the complementary breakfast could have a few more options, and the front desk as friendly as they were seemed short staffed.We had an excellant time and plan to definatley stay again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2006

I am a Shell Vacation Owner. I stayed at this location since I have family in California and travel all the time usually staying at the Staybridge, Embassy Suites South, Westin or Wyndham. I read all the horrible reviews and I must agree that this hotel is exactly how it is described. First arriving at the hotel, check in was ok and quick to charge a $35.00 to my CC for incidental charges. However I did not have a room available. I cruised around for nearly 2 hours. The room was ok nothing special, a window view of the side of a building with a palm tree to try to beautify the view. I did not like the counter with the toaster and coffee maker. The refrig. was below with a microwave nearby and a safe for all your valuables right below it. The carpet had lots of stains and wear visible. The bed was just ok. I stayed on the 2nd floor. Their were children running and jumping on the 3rd floor until the early morning hours 2-3 am each and every day. I contacted the hotel staff several times. Nothing done to correct the issue at hand. Room Service was ok. Parking was horrible. I have a Avalanche truck and it could not fit perfectly into the small spaces. If you leave late at night you may not even find a space when you return. Continental breakfast is the worst. Toast, Oranges, and Juice. Overall all this place is for families with small children.

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2006

My son and I stayed at the Peacock Suites for 3 nights and those 3 nights were the best nights sleep I've had in years. The bed and pillows were very very comfortable. The room was very clean as well and very spacious. It is true that it is about 2 blocks from Disneyland, however those two blocks end up being in the neighborhood of a mile, so it is best to use the local transit which stops right in front. You can purchase a pass at the Disneyland park or from the driver for about $3 per day or less for multiple days and runs about every 20 minutes. It is also true that they will try to get you to attend a timeshare presentation (across town). However, this is not mandatory if you made your reservations through an online service or on your own. This only applies if you came there through their club on a special. There is a 7-11 about two blocks away (2 real blocks, not miles) but past that there isn't anything within walking distance. We had a fabulous time staying here but would only come back because the rooms were wonderful. Next time we'll probably stay somewhere a bit closer, since we didn't have a car.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Peacock Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock Suites

Address: 1745 S. Anaheim Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#25 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Peacock Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peacock Suites located walking distance from Disneyland(R) Park and the Anaheim Convention Center. Featuring spacious one bedroom accommodations which offer first class amenities and the utmost in comfort while staying in Anaheim. The property offers two whirlpool spas, a sparkling pool and a rooftop sundeck, perfect for working on your tan. In each of the suites you will find a refrigerator, a microwave oven, a coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, CD/DVD player, and queen sleeper sofas in every living room. For guests convenience you can purchase attraction tickets from the front desk. Modern amenities, a great location, and first class services ensure a wonderful Anaheim vacation experience. Come experience the magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peacock Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peacock Hotel Anaheim
Peacock Suites Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peacock Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.