We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The people are wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tropicana Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Tropicana Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1540 S Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Norton, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The people are wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We had nothing but wonderful people to deal with, from reservations on up. It is an older hotel, but clean and comfortable. We rented 5 rooms for a wedding in the area and was very pleased. A short walk to Disneyland and close to ihop so my family was happy!

Room Tip: Book early, rates change fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, Manager at Tropicana Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Catlinn2014,

We are pleased you and your wedding party group enjoyed their stay at the Tropicana Inn & Suites. It's guests like you that make our jobs enjoyable and rewarding. We look forward to having the privilege of extending our hospitality to you on your next visit to the Disneyland area.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    289
    113
    40
    34
See reviews for
366
73
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

It was our annual Disneyland trip. The Best Western was booked so we booked our rooms at theTropicana next door. The rooms are smaller, but clean. The convenience store underwent renovations and is very nice including a coffee shop with just about anything you may need or forgot. It's right across the street from the main entrance so convenient. Just wish the rooms were a little bigger. They know families are cramming themselves in these rooms. If we needed a roller bed, it would not have fit unlike the rooms at the Best Western. Would I stay there again...only if I couldn't find accommodations elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, Manager at Tropicana Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your honest review....We take comments such as yours very seriously. Rollaway beds do get tight in some of our guest rooms. The square footage in our guest rooms do vary and we apologize that you were less than satisfied. Other than the size of the room we hope you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Tropicana Inn & Suites and had a great vacation making a lot of Disney Memories to cherish.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I always check trip advisor before booking a hotel and I have stayed at several hotels near Disneyland over the years but this trip I was looking for an affordable hotel that was close to the park as I did not want a long walk or to take the ART. I booked through southwest vacations and so my choices were limited to what they had available. I was a little hesitant in booking this hotel due to some of the reviews I read. Let me just start off by saying that I would stay here again. I stayed here for 3 nights with my family of 5. Some say the rooms are small and yea they aren’t huge however it was plenty of room for my family (we had a double queen room and our kids range 5-12), it’s not like you spend a lot of time in your room. The room was clean and I have an eye for detail with that stuff. When we first got into our room I noticed there was no shower curtain so when we left for dinner I mentioned it to the front desk, they apologized and when we came back there was a shower curtain. The next morning the toilet was leaking a little bit and the tub was having a hard time draining. We mentioned it when we left for the park and they asked if it would be ok to send maintenance in, we said no problem and when we got back it was all fixed and there was never any issue with it. Little things like this are bound to happen and I was very pleased with the quick and efficient response time. All of the staff from the front desk to the housekeeping was all very friendly and nice. We used the pool several times and it was clean and nice as well. There was one time we used the pool and there were no towels when we got there but within 5 minutes here came a big refill of towels, so they keep an eye on that stuff. Also I have seen reviews of housekeeping not coming in and cleaning up while people stayed and we never had that problem, obviously they probably do the rooms that people are checking out of so that they can get new people in first but we always got ours cleaned with new towels etc. My only complaint is that our room was right outside of a smoking area and you could smell smoke through the AC unit which I didn’t care for. I’m sure if I had said something we likely could have been moved but it wasn’t worth moving our stuff. I just know next time I stay I will ask to stay away from any smoking areas. I also did not hear any noise from any other rooms (we were on the first floor). Our refrigerator and microwave worked great. If you are looking for an affordable place with close proximity to the park I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, Manager at Tropicana Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Cecilia,

It is always a pleasure to receive comments such as yours and we greatly appreciate the time taken to write this review highlighting on the quality of service you and your family experienced during your most recent visit. Our guests are of the utmost importance and we strive to assure that each guest checks out of the Tropicana Inn & Suites with pleasant and fond memories.

Our Designated Smoking area is located on the ground level at the front of the property on a small patio. I would like to suggest for your next visit to "Happiest Place on Earth", one of our third floor rooms that offer a fantastic view of the famous fireworks presentation from the outside corridor.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to have the privilege of seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Enjoy your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The location is great, right across from Disney - fair walk across the street. The rooms are a bit small for 4 people. Beds are comfortable. Place is quiet and clean. McDonalds is right around the corner for a quick breakfast before going to the parks. We'd be happy to come back here the next time that we go back to Disneyland.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, Manager at Tropicana Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive and memorable experience during your most recent visit to the Tropicana Inn and Suites. We are glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we look forward to being of service to you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, NSW
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed at the Tropicana Inn & Suites for 3 nights in May. The motel is extremely handy for Disneyland as it is just across the road from the main gates. The room was a good size with a comfortable bed, a good bathroom and fridge and microwave. There is a store attached to the motel which sells a good range of items and there are plenty of restaurants within a stones throw of the rooms.

I may be going back to Disneyland in the not too distant future and would be very happy to return to the Tropicana Inn and Suites

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, Manager at Tropicana Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Customer service is extremely important to us here at the Tropicana Inn and Suites and we enjoyed the privilege of extending out warm hospitality to you during your most recent stay. We value your comments and look forward to being of service to you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My daughter and I recently stayed here. This was our second time at this property having stayed here with the whole family 14 years before. The location, across the street from Disneyland is the best! We had no complaints at all about the motel. Check in was smooth, our room was basic but very clean, we had two queen sized beds and we were very comfortable. The room was quiet, we never heard our neighbours, above or beside us. The little store at the front of the motel 'The Cove' is awesome, providing basically anything you may need and good coffee. In the room we had a small fridge and a microwave which was very convenient. Our room was cleaned daily at an appropriate time and there were always lots of fluffy large towels provided. The pool was great, especially on the hot days while we were there to cool off in. Overall a very positive experience and I would recommend this property to anybody who doesn't need fancy and is looking for good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, Manager at Tropicana Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
It's always a pleasure to read such complimentary comments. We are glad to hear you were able to enjoy taking a dip in our pool and getting snacks at The Cove Market. We value your comments and hope to see you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights while on a dance around the world trip in April 2014. Its very handy just across the road from Disney but the rooms are so basic. There are 2 double beds rather small but comfy there is a small bathroom with toilet and shower in the bath and then the sink is outside the bathroom which was strange. Tiny room. we had to jam a fold away bed in the corner next to the a/c unit so we couldn't turn that on at night as that person froze to death so it got really stuffy. We were also charged about US$27 per night for that crap foldaway, you could buy one for $50!! I would not recommend this hotel, look at the others first.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, Manager at Tropicana Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We appreciate your comments. The Dance Around the World group had preassigned rooms so that everyone could be together. All of our rooms have 2 Queen Beds with the exception of two ADA rooms with roll in showers that do have 2 Double beds. The remaining rooms have 1 King bed, 1 queen bed, and there are kitchen suites that have the double queen combo and single king. After reviewing the group block, all rooms for Around the World Dance had rooms with 2 Queen beds. Rollaway beds are $20.00 per night plus 17% city tax. Upon request, we would have been happy to move you to a different room away from the group in order to fit the extra bed and make it more comfortable. Please give us another try on your next visit to the states and we will personally assist you with accommodations to suit your needs.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Inn & Suites

Address: 1540 S Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropicana Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tropicana Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Inn And Suites
Tropicana Motel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.