We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tropicana Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Tropicana Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1540 S Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 10% NOW!!!
Ranked #44 of 114 Hotels in Anaheim
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“family holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at this Inn in early May, there were 12 of us we book 2 connecting rooms plus l room that had a kitchen, it was great, it was quite and very close to the park. Pool was good, the kitchen was new had stove, mirowave pots and pans and plates etc., so if you wanted to cook a meal you could also each room had a fridge and mirowave and coffee maker. For the price it was good value also front desk was very helpful with booking shuttles, tickets( we saw a great game of ice hockey ). Would recommened this hotel to any one thinking of coming to Disneyland with the family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    311
    120
    43
    36
See reviews for
400
82
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We just returned from our Disneyland vacation and stayed at the Tropicana for the first time for 5 nights. We usually stay further from the park, but now that we have a 4 month old baby we wanted to stay closer this time. We are so glad we chose this hotel! The location is fantastic... Literally right across the street. It was the best thing not to have to deal with the shuttle or walk a mile back and forth.... It saves so much time each day... Which means more time in the park. A couple days we walked back to our room to relax and have some lunch because it was so close. I will have to say I was a bit leery to stay so close to the park because I have heard these hotels can be over run, loud and crowded. But it wasn't like that at all. The rooms were clean and updated. The beds were extremely comfortable! The hotel was very quiet... We never really saw a lot of people around even though they were booked up. The staff was nice, helpful and answered any questions we had. They have a really nice mini mart at the entrance to the hotel. It was a lifesaver for some of things we forgot or ran out of. The rooms weren't huge but big enough to fit 5 of us (3 adults, 2 children.) The pool looked nice but we didn't have time to use it. We also didn't participate in the breakfast... We are health freaks and knew the breakfast wasn't ha ha. So we just brought our own cereal, fruit, bagels etc. I just need to say one thing.... When you visit Disneyland (especially if your die hard Disney freaks like us) you only need a clean comfortable place to stay... You are rarely in your room. Only to sleep, shower and maybe eat. So anyone who expects 5 star amenities whether at this hotel or any other place else is a ridiculous snob. Some of the reviews I have read or pictures people post just baffles me and almost makes me angry ha ha. Anyway, we were very pleased with this hotel and will be staying here again... Hopefully in October when we plan a girls only vacation to Disney!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stay was perfect. Not a fancy hotel, but clean and staff was happy to help in anyway possible. We never heard anyone above or next to us. Ice machine was next to us and we never heard that either. Staff was very polite and wanted to assist in anyway. Location could not have been more perfect for our trip to Disneyland!. We will be back and plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 114. It was lower level and at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were happy return customers to the Tropicana. We have stayed many times along with our kids and grandchildren. It's a fairly short walk to the theme parks, which is good with young ones. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are quiet. We like that there is a small refrigerator also. Every time we've stayed it seems there is always some type of upgrading or repairs being done.
My only complaint is that they charge for fruits, juices and other items at the "complimentary" breakfast. The coffee was free & good.

Room Tip: There are a number of elevators to the second floor, which makes the rooms almost as convenient as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Where to even start?! I will say that the location was amazing, right across the street from Disneyland's entrance, but that is the only thing the hotel has going for it. We stayed for 6 nights and I wish so badly I would not have booked us in advance.

When I booked we were promised a king bed, were given two queens. People must have had pets in the room before us because my allergies were terrible the whole stay. It was difficult to sleep because the other guests were very loud past midnight most nights. The staff was unprofessional and unhelpful when I asked for help on these issues.

The room itself was very dated, smelled bad, and had cockroaches. The free breakfast served croissants and donuts, can't complain since its free, but that is literally all that is served. Parking is $10/day.

Save yourself the trouble and don't stay here! Again, if we hadn't booked in advance we would have been gone after one night.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

First time trip to Disneyland, we were very happy with this hotel! Location is right across the street from the parks, so great at the end of the day or even to pop back to have lunch and a swim in the afternoon. Great little store on site with everything you need, plus a gift shop with inexpensive Disney souvenirs. Lots of places to eat closeby. Really perfect location!
Rooms are basic but clean, pool and hot tub were great. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at the Tropicana Inn for three nights in late April. This was our second stay here and all in all, it was a decent stay.

The location is what gives this hotel a leg up from other properties in the area. You are literally right across the street from Disneyland and that cannot be beat.

Our room was small but clean. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom had plenty of towels. What I did NOT like about this bathroom was that our shower was just a shower, not a shower/tub combo. Had we had young children with us, this would have been a big problem. Normally I would not mind a shower only set up however this shower had no soap dish or anywhere to set a bar of soap or shampoo bottle. So the soap just had to sit on floor which was not too convenient and kind of a mess.

The pool area is nice, its small but there is a decent amount of seating and they do have a shelf with towels which is nice as well as a very large hot tub. It was clean and very well maintained. Granted its in the middle of the parking lot but its still a nice pool area and better than some of the motels nearby. They have some potted palms and its fenced so it feels a bit separate from the parking lot! We spent a few hours there one afternoon and I enjoyed being able to hear the train whistle over at Disneyland which shows how close you are.

The employees were all nice and friendly and helpful. They have a safety deposit box in the lobby and we made use of that. I like the way they hose down the walkways and parking lot each morning. I remember from last time that you see employees taking care of this property and it shows. Its much better kept that many of the other motels right on this strip of Harbor Blvd. There is a convenience store right there as well as a little gift shop.

The breakfast is a bit of a joke but its at least something to help cut down on all the $$$ you spend at Disneyland.

I think I would stay here again. I have to say what put me off was not the hotel's fault but it does make me wonder about staying right there in that area again. We were shocked at the number of homeless people right there in front of the hotel as well as a few shady type characters asking for money. We have been to Disneyland over 20 times in the past ten years and we have stayed at this hotel and several others as well as onsite. Onsite is so expensive that we opted to stay across the street this time. We know this area well and have dealt with the "in the middle of a large city" factor before. However, having a homeless person sitting on a bench right near our hotel was one thing, but when we returned five hours later and he was still there, still passed out and had urinated all over himself and the surrounding pavement that was another thing. Talk about a magic buster. Makes me wonder about staying further up Harbor, there are nicer properties in a bit of a nicer setting (up near the Target on Harbor and Chapman) but that involves driving to the park or taking the ART, its just too far to walk. But given what we encoutered this past stay its something to think about. On the other hand, the location of this hotel and the nice employees and good rate are worth some trade off for the not so nice factors of this location. It really is a tradeoff when you stay offsite at Disneyland.

You do pay for parking but what I like about this is that the parking attendants are out there all the time and were there even late at night when we returned (maybe they are there all night). So nobody is getting into that parking lot without going by that booth. I liked that a lot and it made us feel a bit more secure with our car and just walking into the lot late as well.

So overal a good stay, the hotel has been maintained well since our last stay in 2006 and if I do return to an "across the street" motel on our next trip to Disneyland, this hotel and the Hojo top my list. But the Tropicana is cheaper and closer than the Hojo and likely it would make the cut if we do decide to return to that specific location.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the back of the property away from the traffic noise of Harbor Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Inn & Suites

Address: 1540 S Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropicana Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropicana Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Inn And Suites
Tropicana Motel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.