We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Teeny Tiny rooms for a family larger than 3” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tropicana Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Tropicana Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1540 S Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Pollock Pines, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Teeny Tiny rooms for a family larger than 3”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed at numerous hotels along Harbor such as Howard Johnson, BW Park Place Inn, BW Anaheim Inn, Park Vue Inn, and Anaheim Inn. This is the teeniest, tiniest room I have ever experienced. I read some other reviews on this hotel and one person said on one stay they had a reasonable sized room and the next stay they had a tiny room so I am wondering if the wing with the 3 stories has the tiny rooms as I was on the 3rd floor. Perhaps you can call and ask the hotel if the side with only two stories has larger rooms. For some reason they were also having serious issues with the fire alarm going off! I believe it went off at least 4 times during our stay. Two of the times were in the middle of the night after midnight and woke me up! Very frustrating!
The Pros:
Amazing front desk help..very friendly and courteous
Rooms are very clean
During our stay we went from barely any tv channels to tons..so I think they must have upgraded
Good size refrigerator in the room
Nice thick bath towels
Comfortable bedding and plenty of pillows--6 per bed I think
Very close walk to Disneyland
Great view of the fireworks on the 3rd floor
Quiet on the 3rd floor except for the rude parents that let their kids run up and down the deck screaming--not the hotels fault--

Cons:
Very noisy air conditioner...we had to leave the lid panel open so it wouldn't keep us awake vibrating
Microwave was tiny and didn't pop popcorn well
The smallest room I have ever experienced--double queen best suited for 2 or 3 people only
The dresser they provided only had 3 shallow drawers..we couldn't unpack our whole family because you can really only fit a 3 day supply in each drawer and we were more than 3 people in our family.
Fire alarm kept going off
Swimming pool wasn't heated
Breakfast was laughable..we went to the grocery store and got our own and ate in the room

Unless they do have larger double queen rooms available I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    289
    113
    39
    34
See reviews for
366
73
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
redcliffe
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just spent a few days with teenagers & So very happy we chose to stay here for location alone!!
Arrived from Orlando having done Walt Disney World the 2 weeks prior .. OMG that was very cool but have to say Still a really big Fan of California Disneyland - it's really nice to stay till close & then walk out the exit & 2mins later your home in bed.... (Unlike Orlando Disney it's a trip & a half to get out wait for transfers/ bus,monorail etc.).... Or you can watch fireworks from hotel etc.
GOOD stuff : Great beds all slept really well, no probs with water etc.
.......great staff
NOT SO good but in no way a deal breaker: is what they call continental breakfast (coffee, donuts pastries, apple - free but have to pay for cereal/ milk ?)
But we could have got our own & had in room - but on hols so was Macca's or elsewhere. (Macca's just 2 min walk. So all good & Macca's also have free wifi another bonus )

ALL IN ALL WOULD STAY AGAIN - if not able to get booking then I opt for our other favourite JUST A FEW DOORS AWAY = PARK VIEW INN...

Room Tip: Upstairs 1st floor for view & no car park noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

3 gal-pals and I went on a road trip to Disneyland. We wanted to stash our car and be able to walk into Disneyland, California Adventure, and the Downtown Disney District. The Tropicana Inn & Suites was ideal. A short walk (100 yards?) to main crosswalk into the 3 parks, yet far enough to feel removed from the hustle & bustle. The rooms were clean, spacious (though 4 women and one bathroom was a bit of a scheduling nightmare), and the pool/hot tub was lovely after a long day of walking on concrete. Tropicana does not have a breakfast, but there are a handful of restaurants nearby or there's always something in a park. TV, fridge, coffee pot, etc.

Room Tip: The best rooms are away from the street. We were on the ground floor which worked for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggs, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel is located directly across from the pedestrian entrance to Disneyland. It has the most convenient parking entrance and exit of the hotels across the street. It looks nice on the outside. The rooms are on the smaller side, but they're comfortable and cozy. The bed was very comfortable. We had the king bed room on the 2nd floor, on the side by the front desk. There is not an elevator on that side of the hotel, so we had to take the stairs (boo!). Check-in was easy and fast, as was check-out. The front desk was friendly and helpful. We had to call for more toilet paper, and they brought it up right away. This is our favorite place to stay across the street when we can get it at a good rate. Would definitely recommend this hotel. The walk to and from Disneyland is so convenient!

Room Tip: If you need access to an elevator, upon booking request the elevator side or an accessible room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We booked this hotel as a launching pad for Disneyland. It worked really well for us for this purpose.

Pros:
It is about as close as you can get to the main entrance for Disneyland and California Adventure.
The staff was prompt, friendly, and helpful.
They have a room where they will store your luggage for a few hours before or after check in/out.
The rooms were comfortable and had a mini-fridge and microwave.
The pool looked nice, although we didn't use it as we spent all our time in Disneyland
There is a convenience store that sells water, snacks and trinkets more affordable than inside the park.
There are a few restaurants within easy walking distance.

Cons:
My only mark down really was the "continental breakfast".
In my opinion it was somewhat misleading. The free beverage options included orange juice, raspberry lemonade, coffee and hot chocolate. There were also whole red delicious apples, donuts and croissants. However, if you don't want to hype your kids up on a breakfast of sugary pastries or have them settle for an apple, you're gonna have to pay. Cereal and milk must be purchased. I believe they were $1.50 each. I overheard one unhappy mother complaining to the woman working the breakfast counter, and I am sure this is a complaint they hear every day.

Room Tip: The building motel style with front doors of the 1st floor opening to the parking lot. If you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just stayed in room 135. Hotel is super close to park gates, we really appreciated the short walk, however the room was just okay. The bathroom had no tub, black mold in the tile grout, and no place to put soap, etc. in the shower. Really, it needs renovation. The free breakfast was only okay: donuts, pastries, and horrible coffee. They charged for milk, cereal, and bagels. Pool was fine - the kids loved it. Don't know if I'd stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed just for 1 night in order to start a disneyland day early in the morning!
the pool was heated and equipped with clean towels!
The Jacuzzi was clean too and nice to have that after a long day!
The parking in the hotel isn't free of charge for the guests but it has some advantage.
If u plan to park at the disneyland parking it will cost u more money and then u'll need to take a shuttle to the entrance which is right across the hotel.
Therefore, either way u need to pay for a parking spot so it's better to in the hotel and have your car right next to your room.
The room itself was clean + good AC and great shower facilities

Room Tip: It was nice to get a room on the first floor to have fast access to the swimming pool in the middle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Inn & Suites

Address: 1540 S Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropicana Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tropicana Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Inn And Suites
Tropicana Motel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.