We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disneyland at your doorstep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tropicana Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Tropicana Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1540 S Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Disneyland at your doorstep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

3 gal-pals and I went on a road trip to Disneyland. We wanted to stash our car and be able to walk into Disneyland, California Adventure, and the Downtown Disney District. The Tropicana Inn & Suites was ideal. A short walk (100 yards?) to main crosswalk into the 3 parks, yet far enough to feel removed from the hustle & bustle. The rooms were clean, spacious (though 4 women and one bathroom was a bit of a scheduling nightmare), and the pool/hot tub was lovely after a long day of walking on concrete. Tropicana does not have a breakfast, but there are a handful of restaurants nearby or there's always something in a park. TV, fridge, coffee pot, etc.

Room Tip: The best rooms are away from the street. We were on the ground floor which worked for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    289
    113
    40
    34
See reviews for
366
73
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biggs, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel is located directly across from the pedestrian entrance to Disneyland. It has the most convenient parking entrance and exit of the hotels across the street. It looks nice on the outside. The rooms are on the smaller side, but they're comfortable and cozy. The bed was very comfortable. We had the king bed room on the 2nd floor, on the side by the front desk. There is not an elevator on that side of the hotel, so we had to take the stairs (boo!). Check-in was easy and fast, as was check-out. The front desk was friendly and helpful. We had to call for more toilet paper, and they brought it up right away. This is our favorite place to stay across the street when we can get it at a good rate. Would definitely recommend this hotel. The walk to and from Disneyland is so convenient!

Room Tip: If you need access to an elevator, upon booking request the elevator side or an accessible room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We booked this hotel as a launching pad for Disneyland. It worked really well for us for this purpose.

Pros:
It is about as close as you can get to the main entrance for Disneyland and California Adventure.
The staff was prompt, friendly, and helpful.
They have a room where they will store your luggage for a few hours before or after check in/out.
The rooms were comfortable and had a mini-fridge and microwave.
The pool looked nice, although we didn't use it as we spent all our time in Disneyland
There is a convenience store that sells water, snacks and trinkets more affordable than inside the park.
There are a few restaurants within easy walking distance.

Cons:
My only mark down really was the "continental breakfast".
In my opinion it was somewhat misleading. The free beverage options included orange juice, raspberry lemonade, coffee and hot chocolate. There were also whole red delicious apples, donuts and croissants. However, if you don't want to hype your kids up on a breakfast of sugary pastries or have them settle for an apple, you're gonna have to pay. Cereal and milk must be purchased. I believe they were $1.50 each. I overheard one unhappy mother complaining to the woman working the breakfast counter, and I am sure this is a complaint they hear every day.

Room Tip: The building motel style with front doors of the 1st floor opening to the parking lot. If you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just stayed in room 135. Hotel is super close to park gates, we really appreciated the short walk, however the room was just okay. The bathroom had no tub, black mold in the tile grout, and no place to put soap, etc. in the shower. Really, it needs renovation. The free breakfast was only okay: donuts, pastries, and horrible coffee. They charged for milk, cereal, and bagels. Pool was fine - the kids loved it. Don't know if I'd stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed just for 1 night in order to start a disneyland day early in the morning!
the pool was heated and equipped with clean towels!
The Jacuzzi was clean too and nice to have that after a long day!
The parking in the hotel isn't free of charge for the guests but it has some advantage.
If u plan to park at the disneyland parking it will cost u more money and then u'll need to take a shuttle to the entrance which is right across the hotel.
Therefore, either way u need to pay for a parking spot so it's better to in the hotel and have your car right next to your room.
The room itself was clean + good AC and great shower facilities

Room Tip: It was nice to get a room on the first floor to have fast access to the swimming pool in the middle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Pool was warm, mini market sold plenty of refreshments and Disney was super close. Perfect for our quick family mini vacation to Disney. The breakfast was the only complaint...very limited and the apples were always brown inside although appeared very fresh from the outside.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Had handicap room, if I had a wheelchair it would of got stuck. They shouldn't offer free breakfast when they charge for majority items they have, try it you'll see. Internet charge. My bill charged to my credit card is about $40 more than next door. (Free breakfast, Internet, same size beds in room and larger room that is not handicap accessible.) Kids had fun reading the emergency evacuation notice - stating do not use elevator in emergency. We are on the ground floor. What if we want a better view? Might stay here again only if nothing else was available. Cost 1 star. Room size for being a handicap room 1 star. Breakfast 1 star. Internet 1 star. Closeness to parks 5 stars. Staff friendliness 5 stars. Overall 1 star. It doesn't matter how friendly or how close something is (in my opinion) I don't expect half a breakfast paid Internet and half a room for more. The only problem I have with this review is if they change anything for the better or worse I won't be able to update my comment...but then again they had their chance when I stayed there the first and only time for a better review, just saying.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Inn & Suites

Address: 1540 S Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropicana Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tropicana Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Inn And Suites
Tropicana Motel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.