We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Tropicana Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tropicana Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1540 S Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 112 hotels in Anaheim
Biggs, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice enough, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel is located directly across from the pedestrian entrance to Disneyland. It has the most convenient parking entrance and exit of the hotels across the street. It looks nice on the outside. The rooms are on the smaller side, but they're comfortable and cozy. The bed was very comfortable. We had the king bed room on the 2nd floor, on the side by the front desk. There is not an elevator on that side of the hotel, so we had to take the stairs (boo!). Check-in was easy and fast, as was check-out. The front desk was friendly and helpful. We had to call for more toilet paper, and they brought it up right away. This is our favorite place to stay across the street when we can get it at a good rate. Would definitely recommend this hotel. The walk to and from Disneyland is so convenient!

Room Tip: If you need access to an elevator, upon booking request the elevator side or an accessible room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    267
    109
    39
    34
See reviews for
348
66
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We booked this hotel as a launching pad for Disneyland. It worked really well for us for this purpose.

Pros:
It is about as close as you can get to the main entrance for Disneyland and California Adventure.
The staff was prompt, friendly, and helpful.
They have a room where they will store your luggage for a few hours before or after check in/out.
The rooms were comfortable and had a mini-fridge and microwave.
The pool looked nice, although we didn't use it as we spent all our time in Disneyland
There is a convenience store that sells water, snacks and trinkets more affordable than inside the park.
There are a few restaurants within easy walking distance.

Cons:
My only mark down really was the "continental breakfast".
In my opinion it was somewhat misleading. The free beverage options included orange juice, raspberry lemonade, coffee and hot chocolate. There were also whole red delicious apples, donuts and croissants. However, if you don't want to hype your kids up on a breakfast of sugary pastries or have them settle for an apple, you're gonna have to pay. Cereal and milk must be purchased. I believe they were $1.50 each. I overheard one unhappy mother complaining to the woman working the breakfast counter, and I am sure this is a complaint they hear every day.

Room Tip: The building motel style with front doors of the 1st floor opening to the parking lot. If you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just stayed in room 135. Hotel is super close to park gates, we really appreciated the short walk, however the room was just okay. The bathroom had no tub, black mold in the tile grout, and no place to put soap, etc. in the shower. Really, it needs renovation. The free breakfast was only okay: donuts, pastries, and horrible coffee. They charged for milk, cereal, and bagels. Pool was fine - the kids loved it. Don't know if I'd stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed just for 1 night in order to start a disneyland day early in the morning!
the pool was heated and equipped with clean towels!
The Jacuzzi was clean too and nice to have that after a long day!
The parking in the hotel isn't free of charge for the guests but it has some advantage.
If u plan to park at the disneyland parking it will cost u more money and then u'll need to take a shuttle to the entrance which is right across the hotel.
Therefore, either way u need to pay for a parking spot so it's better to in the hotel and have your car right next to your room.
The room itself was clean + good AC and great shower facilities

Room Tip: It was nice to get a room on the first floor to have fast access to the swimming pool in the middle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Pool was warm, mini market sold plenty of refreshments and Disney was super close. Perfect for our quick family mini vacation to Disney. The breakfast was the only complaint...very limited and the apples were always brown inside although appeared very fresh from the outside.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Had handicap room, if I had a wheelchair it would of got stuck. They shouldn't offer free breakfast when they charge for majority items they have, try it you'll see. Internet charge. My bill charged to my credit card is about $40 more than next door. (Free breakfast, Internet, same size beds in room and larger room that is not handicap accessible.) Kids had fun reading the emergency evacuation notice - stating do not use elevator in emergency. We are on the ground floor. What if we want a better view? Might stay here again only if nothing else was available. Cost 1 star. Room size for being a handicap room 1 star. Breakfast 1 star. Internet 1 star. Closeness to parks 5 stars. Staff friendliness 5 stars. Overall 1 star. It doesn't matter how friendly or how close something is (in my opinion) I don't expect half a breakfast paid Internet and half a room for more. The only problem I have with this review is if they change anything for the better or worse I won't be able to update my comment...but then again they had their chance when I stayed there the first and only time for a better review, just saying.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Tropicanan is one of the best locations to stay if you are going to Disneyland. Right across the street it's not a long walk after an entire day in the park. The rooms are nice, clean and have refridgerators, microwaves and coffeemakers. We were only there for one night and did not have a chance to take advantage of the pool but it looked like a lovely area. The big complaint I have with this hotel is, they charge $10.00 a day parking to their guests that are staying in their hotel! That just ticked me off when they told us that at the front desk checking in. At that point what could we do about it? We had come in late Tuesday afternoon and our son was driving up from San Diego to meet us and go to the park the next day. We were happy to find out that even though we were checking out Wednesday morning that the hotel would allow us to leave our car in the parking lot while we were in the park. We were fine with paying the $14.00 fee for that but have to pay while we were a guest was just not right.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Inn & Suites

Address: 1540 S Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 112 hotels in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropicana Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tropicana Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Inn And Suites
Tropicana Motel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.