We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer a hotel snob!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tropicana Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Tropicana Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1540 S Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“No longer a hotel snob!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I must admit that this was my very first experience staying at a non-brand hotel (ie, hilton, marriot, sheraton, etc.). i didnt know what to expect except from all these reviews which were all impt to me up to the day of arrival. i was even ready to bring my own pillows and sheets.

However....this place was AWESOME! id look no further than here. i feel silly to have thought of all those negative things about this place. sleep is very impt to me esp after a day of nonstop activites (we left the room around 9am and didnt come back until 10p). so i was very worried. was the bed going to be too hard or too soft, etc.? but the bed was perfect, the pillows and sheets were clean. and thank goodness for the fast working heater. the house keepers even kept our air conditioner on warm to assure that the room would be comfortable instead of freezing cold upon our return back to the room. and they even had a turn-down service, so when we came back to the room the kids could just go straight to bed if they wanted to.

the bathrooms were clean as well. id always look forward to that warm shower after a long day. and our room was always well stocked with clean towels everyday.

location is key! this part is a given. you cant get any closer than Grand California. i think this location is the same distance as the Disney Pier hotel and closer than the Disneyland Hotel. i really wanted to get the "Disney" experience by staying on property and since the Disneyland Hotel was just renovated I thought it'd be worth it. Im so glad I decided not to because i didnt have to deal with the monorail or shuttle. we just walked right across the street. there was no depending on anyone else or waiting in line for transportation. id see the lines for the shuttles, esp when the park was closing or right after the firework show or World of color show. it was madness. it was nice to walk past all of that. im sure we were back in our room first before those people. also, if youre waiting for the hotel buses, forget that...youd be waiting for at least 15-20 min before they actual depart the bus station. no way...just walk right across the street!

one night the kids used the pool. i thought it was crazy to go swimming at 9pm in 30degree weather. but the kids had a blast, the temperature was perfect in the pool and jacuzzi. perfect ending to a long day at Disney. we even ordered pizza and they delivered it to the pool area.

FOOD:
we ordered pizza from Marri's Pizza. omg, it was SO good. be careful, their large is an XXL pizza. i think 18 slices. i wish they told me cuz i had enough food to feed everyone at the pool that night. but the room has a micowave, so it was perfect to have another slice after swimming.

we ate at IHOP for a quick dinner upon arrival to the hotel (we checked in at 1130p). it was within walking distance late at night (i was worried walking that late, it was just me and my 2 young kids, 9 and 7, but it was fine because the path was well lit). i thought the prices were decent, however i later found out that their prices are higher than the other restaurants near by. but for the convenience i guess its worth it.

i was desperate for real food. i was tired of chicken nuggets, fries, turkey legs, hot dogs, and churros. the little extra walk to Mimi's Cafe was well worth it. it was cheap and good!! this place is a must. they had a dinner special, (1) soup or salad, (2) dinner entree, and (3) a dessert all for a whopping $14! you cant go wrong. i didnt think i was gonna eat all that food, but it was our first real meal on the trip. perfect!

we tried their continental breakfast one day. everything on the counter is free (danish, croissant, fruits, coffee, hot choc, and juice). it was perfect for us because my kids only wanted fruit and cereal. it was only a couple dollars more for it. and they were nice enough to toast my croissant. its a small room of maybe 6 round tables. so if you have a large party, you may not all be able to sit.

i didnt go to Denny's, but its also walking distance. just a little further down the street.

i inquired about nearby restaurants, ie Cheesecake Factory. they said it was walking distance. no way, it was far from the hotel. your best bet is to go to Mimi's Cafe.

MISC:
i wanted to do laundry while the kids were sleeping. i wish i knew the laundromat closed around 10 or so. i thought it was 24hr. my friend was able to do her laundry there. she said it was cheap and fast (dryers worked really well, she pulled out her clothes much sooner than expected).

Room Tip: if you have young ones in a stroller, ask for the 1st floor or a room in the tower with the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    285
    111
    39
    34
See reviews for
362
71
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

As several have mentioned, the Tropicana is right across the street from the main entrance to the facility--go left to Cal Adventure, and right to Dizzyland. The motel is nothing fancy, but is clean & tidy, nothing smelled, everything worked, etc. We have 2 very active sons, 9 and 11, and were in the room very little, except to collapse after full days of running around. This is a Motel, not a resort, and I rate it as such, but delivers good value and great location. Very family oriented so expect excited kiddie's voices outside your room starting around 7 or 7:30am. Other than some gratis sugary "danish" rolls and Hostess-style "donuts" you pay for everything else. This is OK, given the reasonable room rates. We bought fruit, yogurt, juice, cereal etc & snacks about a mile along Harbor (heading away from I5) at Target, & other grocery stores further down. Snag some plastic/paper bowls/cups/utensils and extra napkins and eat in your room, or by the pool. Not surprisingly, gas is MUCH cheaper as you out Harbor into Garden Grove, away from I5.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanaway, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

What can I say, good location, really nice peoople working there. The front desk was a really good help. We did our booking with Disneyland.com and our tickets were waiting for us upon check in.
Now, it is a really old place with old furniture and old... well, everything

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Finally, my family and I found a hotel that's just right. Tropicana Inn and Suites is a great place to stay in especially for a family who loves to go to the happiest place on earth. Location is great! It's just across the main entrance of Disneyland. There are restaurants near it and some mini marts if one needs to buy emergency personal needs. Parking was not a problem and we didn't mind the fee at all. There is someone who usually makes it sure that all cars entering and exiting the hotel are really their guests. With the bad experience my family had in the past hotel where we stayed in, this one's a welcome experience for us. Water pressure is not a problem also. Room smells like fresh laundry (a welcome treat for a family who travelled more than 5 hours--so relaxing/ so welcoming!). There is also a heated pool and spa located in the center of the hotel..Great hotel for families. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Location ! Location ! Location ! Very few can fault the location. Opposite Disneyland entrance and so close to the bus stop.

The motel is a well maintained but old building. Don't expect a Resort Hotel and you will not be disappointed. There's a heated pool and Spa, free breakfast (very basic), and on-site shops. A fridge and a microwave round out the positives of this Motel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We selected this motel for its location right across from the entrance to Disneyland. The rooms were nice enough, but nothing fancy. We could not see the Disney fireworks from our room but it looked like a lot of others could. Parking is $9 a day while you are there. In addition we had to pay another $14 to park for the rest of the day after we checked out at 11 am. The check in and out times are not good. Check in is at 4 pm and check out is 11 am. If you want to park before or after, they will charge you additional. I didn't eat breakfast there based on the other reviews that say there is an extra charge. If I am going to pay for breakfast, i will walk the block to Denny's or IHOP. There is a mini mart and small take out cafe on site, which is nice. Wifi costs an extra $10 a day if you want to use it. If you are looking for a place right at the Disneyland entrance for a good price (so long as you stay away from the nickeling and diming), then you won't go wrong here.

Room Tip: If you want to be able to see the Disney fireworks, get a second story room that you can look toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Tropicana Inn and Suites is fantastic for young families on a budget and who want to be near Disneyland. The breakfast is okay at best. It's good for an average croissant, orange and cup of tea. You can have cereal or a bagel for $1-$2. I remember when cereal used to be included - not anymore. Parking isn't free either. You'll pay $9 a day which is one of the reasons why I didn't give a 5 rating. The "extras" are not explained well when booking and you're really stuck once you show up.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Inn & Suites

Address: 1540 S Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropicana Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tropicana Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Inn And Suites
Tropicana Motel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.