We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff, Spacious Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate to your Saves list
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 S Clementine St, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #22 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Seattle WA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff, Spacious Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The staff was friendly at every turn, they made the experience enjoyable. The walk from Disney is 15 mins, though the ART(rideart.org) bus is an easy option, especially after a long day at Disneyland. We had a bi level loft suite and it was a fantastic option for the 7 of us. The daily breakfast is a bonus, especially with a large group, it is a buffet; though seating during breakfast is a challenge. The rooms were very clean and well taken care of, with great maid service daily.

The only frustration is our room was not ready. We arrived at 11am, check in was at 4pm, we understand an early check in was only "if available", however, we checked back at 1pm and were told it would be another hour, and when we returned at 4pm, actual check in time, they were still cleaning the room we were assigned. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for larger families who want the option of a kitchen with all being able to stay together. If that is not important, then stay at little closer to Disneyland on Harbor Blvd.

One more thing, this is within walking distance as well to California Pizza Kitchen, Cheesecake Factory, and PF Changs. The nearest grocery is approx 1.5 miles, however, the hotel will do courtesy grocery shopping and charge the groceries to your room bill, which is convenient.

Room Tip: No room service. Our room 224 was quiet with easy access to the street and to the main lobby which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear SeattleTravelGrl,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is great to hear that our staff had a part in making your experience an enjoyable one!

I am sorry about the miscommunication you encountered with the early check-in. We do our very best to accommodate early check-in whenever possible. Often times we have rooms ready before the 4 o’clock check-in time, but it may not be the specific room a guest may have handpicked. For any future reservations, the best thing to do would be to call the front desk the morning of your arrival, and we will see how we may be able to accommodate your request for an early check-in.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us, and that you and your family had a great time at Disneyland. I hope to see you the next time you visit the Anaheim Resort Area!

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    390
    105
    40
    27
See reviews for
715
68
6
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

You are 10-15 minutes walk from Disney's maingate, perfect. The rooms are actually more like chalet's or one bedroom apartments, with all the expected kitchen facilities - great for families and those that don't want to eat out all the time. The rooms were clean, spacious, modern with good parking and no noise from your neighbours. The central building has the complimentary breakfast room, an outdoor heated pool and a basketball/sports court. Great value for money and better than a regular hotel if you are staying several nights or longer

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Dave T,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel! You’re right- the amenities we have to offer make our hotel a great fit for families. Every suite has a full size kitchen which allows for guests to enjoy home cooked meals every now and then if they please. I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property, and I hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future!

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We recently returned after a week at this hotel. Roomy enough for 5 adults and 3 little kids. It was clean. Enjoyed the pool. Great breakfast. Took the shuttle to the park, which was convenient at the end of the day! The only complaint a little short on parking near to our room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear MTCanuk,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is wonderful to hear that our hotel provided everything your family needed to enjoy your week-long trip to Anaheim. It has been our pleasure to be your home away from home during your vacation. We hope you come back and visit us again soon!

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We just returned from a five night stay at this hotel. This is our fourth time staying here, and overall we really enjoy it. We stayed in the two bedroom two bathroom suite. One bedroom had two queen beds and a large bathroom, but did not have a tub. The second bedroom had one queen bed with a smaller bathroom but this one had a tub. We also had a good sized living room, a dining room, and a small kitchen. The layout worked really for my family with included myself, my husband our two young boys (4 and 6), and my parents. We also had a patio which overlooked the hotel playground which was great for us. I should mention the strange doors on the bedrooms. They used folding doors, which is not good for sleeping kids and parents trying to relax watching a little tv. It wasn't an issue for us since the kids were so tired they just passed out as soon as there head hit the pillow, but could be an issue if you have light sleepers in your group.

The pool is a decent size. It was even big enough for my niece to give me a lesson on my butterfly stroke. It also has a hot tub and a wading pool. There is a multi purpose court beside the pool, where we had a fun family game of volleyball. We ate the free hot breakfast most mornings. It was fine. They always had eggs and waffles, then varied some of the hot dishes. More or less what you would expect from a free hot breakfast. We also had a free dinner there one night. It was the manger's barbecue night. There were burgers, hot dogs, chili, and potato salad. The food was okay, but tasted even better after a long rainy day at Disneyland. There is also a store on site that has snacks, wine, beer, toiletries, etc. There is also a sitting area just off of the lobby with games. It was a great spot to sit and have some wine while the kids and grandparents were asleep in the room.

We walked every day to and from Disney. It took us about ten minutes, which isn't bad. It is also a short walk to the Garden Walk which has some great restaurants, shopping, and a movie theatre.
The upsides of this hotel are many. Great suites for families, free wifi, free parking, free hot breakfast, decent pool area, playground, and close to Disney. Although this trip we had some house keeping issues. They often missed stocking up our coffee, and toiletries. We had to call the front desk a few times to have them bring us supplies.

Overall, this is a great option for a Disneyland hotel, and I'm sure we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Adams2615,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detail review of our hotel. It’s awesome that your niece was able to teach you how to butterfly stroke in our pool!

You did an excellent job describing many of our hotel’s amenities, such as our close proximity to Disneyland and the Anaheim GardenWalk our complimentary breakfast and evening social hour, our sport court, playground, and much more.

I am glad you enjoyed your suite and it fit your family comfortably. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel during your future visit to Anaheim!

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I must say this was the great hotel to stay after tiring trip at Disney land. It surely is worth every penny, i understand it is little expensive but worth spending looking at comfort. The only worst option is limited space parking that they have, but this comes with many plus points such as
1> Shuttle to Disney land park
2> Free parking
3> I must say the best breakfast early morning provided [ this was as good as lunch for us so that we could stay comfortably till 2 to 3 pm in Disnely land without stopping
4> Very near to disney

Room Tip: please try to book the lower rooms as parking is far away and every-time you don't want to carry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Sameer G,

Thank you for your excellent review of our hotel. I am glad you found our hotel to be worth every penny, and most of all that you enjoyed your stay with us!

As you mentioned, it is essential to note all of the amenities that are embedded in our hotel rates. Our hotel is located just a half mile from the main gate of Disneyland, and is in the center of the most popular Anaheim attractions. We also offer complimentary parking, complimentary breakfast every morning, a complimentary grocery service, complimentary wireless internet, complimentary use of our business center, and a 24 hour pool.

Thank you again for your review, and I look forward to having you back on your next visit!

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We just got done with a6 night stay at the Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate and had a fantastic experience. Loved the free breakfast it was great. We stayed in the 1 Queen studio and it was just right for us. Loved the kitchen that we had. We walked to Disney each day only took 15 min and it was worth it. Will stay here again it was great and kids loved the pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Aubree L,

Thank you for making us your home for your 6 night vacation! It is excellent to hear that you had a fantastic experience during your stay with us. The kitchen inside the suites is a great convenience for guests to enjoy a home cooked meal if they please- just like home! Thank you for your review, and I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you bring your family to visit Disney!

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed in a 2-bedroom "Penthouse" for 4 nights during our Disneyland vacation. I was satisfied with the location of the hotel to the park, and the breakfast buffet had a nice selection, but the quality of our room was unacceptable for the price. It was not at all what I would expect from a Marriott. I kept smelling cigarette smoke every time I walked into our room, and now that we are home, I can really smell it on all of my clothes. DISGUSTING. This room must have been a smoking room at one point and the smell has not come out of the carpet and furniture. Speaking of the carpet and furniture, these were all stained and dirty too. If they are going to convert a room to non-smoking, it needs to be gutted, because the smell does not just go away. The floor on the upper level was extremely squeaky, and my mom and young son, who were sleeping on the main level, heard squeaking every time we walked around. The floor in the kitchen was sticky when we arrived and the carpets were not vacuumed well. The toilet paper holder in the upstairs bathroom was falling off the wall, and the walls were dirty and cracking away from the floor. The bathroom was so tiny that you could barely close the door without stepping into the bathtub first. We were also facing Disney Way with the freeway right behind it, and the walls were so paper thin that we heard traffic ALL night, which made it very difficult to sleep. We asked to move to a quieter room, but they were at a high capacity, so were unable to accommodate our request until the middle of our stay. By this time we opted out, as we would have needed all of our luggage packed up and ready for them to move before we left for the theme park early in the morning. Previous to arriving at this hotel, we stayed at a BEAUTIFUL Residence Inn in Carlsbad for 2/3 of the price of this one. I understand the location drives the price up, but this hotel needs a major overhaul if I am going to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road and freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate

Address: 1700 S Clementine St, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#21 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#27 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique all suite condo style hotel located 1/2 mile from Disneyland. All suites have fully equipped kitchens & full size pull out sofa sleepers. We offer suites that can accommodate up to 8 people. We offer the following free amenities: breakfast, grocery shopping services, social hour, parking, internet, business center usage. Our guests have access to purchasing exclusive discounted park tickets through our on property Disney Desk. On property fire pit & BBQ Grills. Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.