We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Disney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate to your Saves list
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 S Clementine St, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #23 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good for Disney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

While it is close to the main gates, you won't be walking unless your kids are older or you brought your stroller with you (Disney rents good strollers for $15/day). Is about a 15 min walk so we chose to take the shuttle bus (ART) instead. You can buy the passes for the shuttle at the Disney desk in the lobby, which is much cheaper than the cash option. Some people use the free parking at the hotel and pay the $10 to park at Disney to avoid the 20 minute shuttle schedule.

We stayed in a one bedroom unit two queen beds (#1421), which was upstairs. We could see the Disney fireworks from outside the front door.

Ours featured a kitchen, bathroom, dining room, small living room and very small deck. Handy to have the kitchen, though we only really used the fridge and heated up leftovers once. They will do your grocery shopping for free if you give them your list by 9am for same-day service! A cool perk we didn't take advantage of.

As for the rooms: it is a well-used family hotel - the room décor was outdated and on the worn side, but given the high traffic of families this isn't entirely unexpected. We chose it for the location rather than the rooms. The hide-a-bed was not comfortable for an adult to sleep on if you plan on using it.

On the big plus side: it was clean! There is only one bathroom and they cleverly put the sink and vanity separate from the tub and toilet to better accommodate multiple users. There were towels for all four guests in our room.

The included breakfast is buffet style and gets quite busy after 8am. They had a good selection of kid-friendly food: yogurt, granola, fruit, toast, cereal, eggs, usually ham (rarely bacon, which was a point of contention for the bacon fiends in our group), pancakes or French toast plus a make-your-own waffle station. Aside from the scrambled eggs, all pretty sweet stuff and not much choice for a healthy adult eater or a no-carb plan. No plain yogurt or drinking yogurt, not much for veggies (like avocado or fresh salsa), no cheese, fruit was mainly melon and tended to run out. It is free, the kids will be happy though and it is handy not to have to pack up to go elsewhere.

It has a smallish pool, a tiny kiddie wading level pool and a hot tub with towels right there. There is also a basketball/volleyball court with balls available from the front desk. The small gym is cardio equipment, no weights or stretching area. There is an outdoor BBQ area as well.

The staff were helpful and friendly. There is free wifi but it is on the slow side. There are also two computers and a printer for use, you need a code from the front desk. They call it their "business centre". Works in a pinch though it won't print pdf documents as it turns out, the staff had to print those for me.

A good choice for a Disney stay with beaches only 30 mins away and lots of restaurants close by. Wouldn't be my first choice if you're looking for some solid pool/resort time.

Room Tip: The buildings are all two story units and the upper floors are only accessible by stairs so if you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    431
    118
    47
    31
See reviews for
790
79
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel was very convenient for our 2 day stay at Disney. It was a little tricky to navigate exactly where it was compared to walk-in entrance to resort, but fee parking was a bonus.
The hotel itself was nicely laid out with each unit feeling very private and secure. Common areas and pool were all well maintained and clean as would be expected. Free breakfast also very good.

the quality of the rooms was in my opinion significantly below the standard that is most often seen of Mariot hotels. They were tired and felt a little dirty. the quality of the bed linnen etc was poor if compared to usual Mariot standards.

The resort allows pets, and I was pleasantly surprised witht he cleanliness as a result of this.

Overall, I would stay her again, it was very good value, very convenient for Disney and perfectly adequate, however lacked the luxury that one often finds in less popular destinations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Susie T,

Thank you for your review! I am glad that you found our hotel to be of great value and convenience.

We are aware that our property is beginning to show its age, and we are just as excited about our upcoming renovation as all of our guests are. You can rest assured that our rooms and linens do meet the Marriott standard. We understand that every guest has different preferences when it comes to what they are looking for in their hotel stay. What’s great about the Marriott brand is that there are many different options for the many various types of travelers. There are several to choose from that are located right here in Anaheim. Guests seeking a luxury hotel may enjoy the full service Anaheim Marriott located just down the street. Our hotel caters more to the leisure travelers. Because of that, we have a more casual atmosphere and are a great option for guests who are looking for the feel of being “home away from home”.

I am glad that you enjoyed your overall stay, and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next Anaheim Resort visit!

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Room was smaller than expected, but hey, didn't spend much time there anyways! Staff super helpful and friendly. Breakfast is a bonus. Ground well maintained. Kind of far to walk, would suggest the shuttle. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear dburkley,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It’s always great to hear from our guests how helpful and friendly our staff is! As you mentioned, there is a shuttle that is run by the city that takes guest to the main gate of Disneyland & California Adventure. The shuttle is $5 per adult and $2 per child for an all day pass, and comes to our property about every 20 minutes or so. The walk to the main gate is about ½ a mile, and generally takes guests 10-15 minutes. Thank you again for your review, and for keeping us in mind for your next visit to Anaheim. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My in laws arranged this hotel along with three days at Disneyland as a gift for our family. When we arrived we were given the keys to room 1112. It was a one bedroom "suite". The room was located at the lower corner level of unit 11. The room was dark and smelled musty when we arrived. I opened the curtains in the living area and the view was a water heater, garbage can with a sack of garbage on top of it. I opened the only other living room window and saw a utility closet, stairs and the cleaning and laundry facilities. The bedroom window faced the sport court. The first night although the sport court was "closed" at 9:00 people played well into the night. It was very loud. I called the front desk twice and was assured that the game would be stopped. At midnight a loud party woke us up either in pool area or the laundry room. Again we called the front desk. They said they would "take care of it". The party was still going loud and strong at 3:00. The breakfast was not fantastic. Both mornings the tables were sticky and dirty. The first morning the dining room ran out of of napkins and put rolls of paper towels out on the buffet tables. It was gross. Our front door opened to the cleaning crew staging area and so we always walked through carts piled with dirty laundry. Our sink area always had a slight stink to it. The bedroom with two queens was tight and when I reached down behind the bedside table to pug in my phone it was dirty. My advice is to try another hotel or at least stay away from room 1112.

Room Tip: If you must use this hotel I would only use a top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Vickiczyk,

My name is Rachel Smith and I am one of the front office supervisors here at the hotel. I remember speaking with you regarding some of the concerns you had during your stay.

First and foremost I would like to apologize for all of the issues you encountered during your stay with us. I appreciate that you came down to speak with me to make us aware of the noise issue you experienced with guests at the pool. I assured you that I would have our night auditor keep a close eye out for the noise level to make sure that your sleep would not get disrupted again. As we discussed, our pool is open 24 hours with quiet hours from 9pm to 9am. We give one verbal warning, and then will ask guests who do not contend with our quiet hours to leave the pool area. During our conversation, the gentleman I spoke with declined the offer to move to a quieter area of the hotel. Since it is difficult for us to eliminate all noise and guests have varying sound sensitivities, we found that the most effective solution in this case would be room relocation.

We encourage our guests to make our staff aware of any discomforts they experience during their stay so that we can take immediate action. When you and I spoke, there are many items mentioned in this review that were not discussed in person. I wish we would have had the full description of your stay so that we could have the opportunity to solve the many details that comprised the overall negative impression you perceived of our hotel.

Once again I would like to apologize for all of the inconveniences during your stay at our hotel. Thank you for the feedback that you have given. Rest assured that we have printed out your review and our Rooms Divisions manager had it read aloud to make sure these problems were corrected, and to bring awareness to the staff.

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

After trying to check in at the other nearby Residence Inn we learned that our reservation had been bumped and they were trying to move us to the Sheraton thanks to Expedia.... This was unacceptable because we had booked a room w/ a full kitchen and they wanted to give us a plain hotel room. After a few words w/ the RI desk clerks (which I'll have to say kept their cool pretty well)... they moved us here which was not what we had booked but ended up working ok... and they gave us a free nights stay for the future and a $50 voucher.
The room was very clean, beds comfortable, and TV was nice. The next morning we awoke and went over to get breakfast and enjoyed a great complimentary breakfast with Hash browns, scrambled eggs, breakfast sausage and biscuits...it was a perfect place for our day at Disneyland. We stayed one more night, washed some clothes the next morning, and were off to Huntington Beach, but all in all this was a very nice place. Thanks Residence Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear R8DERMAN,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear about the complications you experienced with your original hotel booking. Although our hotel was not your first choice of stay, I’m glad that we were able to accommodate your families’ needs and that we ended up being the “perfect place” for your stay at Disneyland!

Thank you again for your review, and I hope that we have become your new home away from home the next time you return to the Anaheim Resort Area!

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

As a marriot platinum member i was not impressed. Not what i expected room was big but very dirty. Had to ask for room to get cleaned. not worth the money. only good thing was location could walk to downtown disney and nearby chessecake factory food was so so

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear larryandbonnie,

I am sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations. I would appreciate if you would take the time to email me at rsmith@rimhospitality.com to discuss the details of your stay. Your feedback is important to us, and it helps us know what areas of our hotel need improvement from your perspective.

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burien, Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We just returned from a five-night stay at the Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate. Our family of four (4 adults, 1 child) found this property to be exactly what we were looking for. I had requested an upstairs one-bedroom suite if possible, and that is just what we got upon arrival.

The living room was large with a fireplace, although we didn't get a chance to use it, as well as a fully equipped kitchen with two dining tables, a nice sized bathroom area, and a bedroom with two comfortable queen beds. As other reviewers have commented, the furnishings need updating or replacement. The dresser in the bedroom had falling off handles and there were some stains on the living room furniture although they were not anything that would keep me from staying there again! We realize that because this is a property so close to Disneyland, it is going to get a LOT of use. We never used the pool/spa area as we were at Disney nearly all day and night till closing but it seemed well taken care of and there were many adults and kids using them.

The free breakfast has a wide variety of food to select from. To be honest, breakfast always seemed extremely chaotic with tons of guests going back and forth for food, but the attendants were very friendly and given how many people use this hotel, it was fine. We did contact the hotel today because I accidentally left two items behind in the dishwasher (a Disney travel mug and scissors) and am hopeful the hotel might be able to send them our way!

We did not use the shuttle service because we drove to Anaheim and parked at Disneyland every day for $16. At the Residence Inn, there is plenty of parking and we found the property relatively quiet and peaceful although you will definitely hear the Disneyland fireworks each night at 9:30 p.m.! All in all, we loved our stay here and will not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear dawnzascorp,

I am thrilled that your stay at our hotel met all of your expectations, and our amenities were just what you were looking for. It sounds like you had a great time at Disneyland as well which is also wonderful to hear!

As you mentioned, because of our popularity, we see many families coming in and out of our rooms, resulting in our hotel showing its age much quicker than most. We have a renovation approaching in our near future which will address any necessary updates. We appreciate your patience during this time.

Due to our location, guests have several transportation options to get to Disneyland and California Adventure. We are located about ½ a mile from the main entrance, so it takes most guests 10-15 minutes to walk to the main gate of either park. Guests may also choose to take the ART shuttle which is run by the city. The cost is $5 per adult and $2 per child for an all day pass. Another option is for guests with vehicles to park in the Disneyland parking lot for $16 per day with in and out privileges, just like your family did. Thank you for making us aware of the new parking price at Disneyland!

Thank you again for your review of our hotel and for all the helpful information you provided. I am so glad that you loved your stay here, and I look forward to seeing you the next time you return!

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate

Address: 1700 S Clementine St, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#24 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique all suite condo style hotel located 1/2 mile from Disneyland. All suites have fully equipped kitchens & full size pull out sofa sleepers. We offer suites that can accommodate up to 8 people. We offer the following free amenities: breakfast, grocery shopping services, social hour, parking, internet, business center usage. Our guests have access to purchasing exclusive discounted park tickets through our on property Disney Desk. On property fire pit & BBQ Grills. Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.