We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Disney Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate to your Saves list
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 S Clementine St, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #21 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Woodinville, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family Disney Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel to stay in while visiting Disneyland. It's not a fancy hotel, it is like staying at your own small, well-kept apartment, but it's a great price for what you get and the staff is friendly, competent and helpful. Unlike many other Residence Inns which only have a stove-top and microwave this hotel has a full oven too which makes it convenient to stay for a few days and not have to eat out for all meals. It is clean enough and as long as you aren't the type like me who looks for details (dust in the windowsill, older dishwasher that works just fine but doesn't look shiny and new) it is great. And I know I'm a little over-the-top with the details so normal people will find this hotel comfortable and clean! It's also very convenient to Disneyland. The front desk person said it is exactly a half mile from the hotel to the entrance. It's a short walk and a good way to wind down after a full day. But if you aren't up for that walk there are shuttles straight from door to door for a very small fee. It's also nice and quiet because it is two blocks off the main drag. And right across the street are all sorts of restaurants from fine dining to family friendly Johnny Rockets. Oh, and for no fee (just the cost of groceries) the staff will go and buy your groceries for you while you're at Dinseyland and you can come back to a fully stocked kitchen! And the free breakfast is great with so many options to choose from - all of which are really good. Three days a week they have evening snacks too - like Nachos and BBQ. If you want to do late check-out it is free for an extra hour (noon) but if you want to do later you have to check first thing in the morning your last day to see if it's possible because it is a very busy hotel. They can't guarantee it up front. But the extra free hour is nice to have a little more time to swim in the pool before leaving (the pool is a bit small but very clean and fun for the kids! Hot tub too!) This is our choice of hotel to stay when we come to Disneyland!

Room Tip: Try to request a room on the second floor if you need early morning quiet. There are a lot of famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Julia M,

Thank you for your review. Your description of our hotel being like staying in your own well-kept apartment is absolutely correct. Many of our guests say that it creates a feel of being home away from home.

Thank you for mentioning the convenient shuttle service from our hotel to Disneyland. The ART shuttle, run by the city of Anaheim, picks up from our property about every 20 minutes. They charge $5 for an all day pass for adults and $2 for an all day pass for children. We are the middle stop out of 3 on route 7 of the ART shuttle, so whether you choose to take the shuttle, or endure the short ½ mile walk, we are just a short ways away from “The Happiest Place on Earth”.

We do our best to accommodate late check-out requests. Our check-out time is 11am, but for guests who would like to request a later check-out time, it is best to contact the front desk the morning of your departure and we will see what we can do for you. As you mentioned, we are happy to allow an extra complimentary hour, as long as our availability allows us to do so. We are also able to store luggage for guests who would like to continue to explore the area the day they leave, and guests with vehicles are more than welcome to leave their cars in our lot even on their departure date.

Thank you again for your great review. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Anaheim!

Rachel Smith
Guest Service Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    399
    106
    41
    27
See reviews for
730
69
6
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This place is an amazing place to stay while in Anaheim! We loved it here. The rooms are huge. Our room had a queen bed with a pull out couch and a full kitchen. Our room was absolutely spotless. It was a very nicely decorated room. Internet was speedy. Pillows were very very comfortable. The beds were comfortable too.

The hotel has a pool and a hot tub. The pool is heated. The hot tub was extremely nice for the feet and body after a full day at Disneyland. The pool and hot tub is open 24 hours a day.

The staff is incredible! When they found out we were travelling with family, they put us in a room right next door to our family. Also, one of the staff overheard that it was a family member's birthday and they ordered a cake and had it delivered the family's room, no charge. There also was a pad of paper in the room that you could write down any groceries that you needed and the staff would go grocery shopping for you and bring it back to the room. They would charge the groceries to your room. It was a wonderful service that was used while we were staying there. There was also social nights for anyone who stays here. Monday night was nacho night and Wednesday night was BBQ night. All for free.

The breakfast was great! So many choices. There was eggs, ham, bacon, fresh waffles, french toast, yogurt, fruit, toast, bagels, cereal, juice, coffee, tea, and milk.

The hotel is close to the Anaheim Garden Walk, a mall with some great stores and restaurants. We loved Bubba Gumps restaurant, based from the movie Forest Gump. There is also a P.F. Changs, Cheesecake Factory and a California Pizza Kitchen.

There is a bus stop (ART) right on hotel property that takes you straight to the Disneyland gates. For $5.00 a day (for an adult) you can get a ART one day pass. The bus (Route 7) comes every 20 minutes. You can buy the bus passes right in the lobby of the hotel.

We absolutely loved this hotel! We highly recommend it to everyone! We will definitely be staying here the next time we go to Disneyland!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear cf_travellers,

Thank you for your exceptional review! What an excellent job you did in giving such accurate details of advantages that come with staying at our hotel, as well as mentioning some of the many great amenities our hotel has to offer. You made my job that much easier!

As you mentioned, our hotel offers many complimentary amenities; breakfast every morning, evening social hours twice a week, parking, wireless internet, and a grocery shopping service. We also have our fully heated pool and hot tub open 24 hours, and an on-site coin operated laundry facility.

For any guest who would like more information on any of our services feel free to contact me directly at rsmith@rimhospitality.com, or call the front desk at 714-533-3555.
Thank you again for your incredible review. I am glad that our hotel and staff have exceeded your expectations, and that we were able to celebrate your family member’s birthday with you! See you next time!

Rachel Smith
Guest Service Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Location was spot on for Disneyland - close enough to it and also restaurannts meant that we never once needed the shuttle (kids aged 10 and 12).
Room was functioanl but could hear everything above .... Would recommend an upstairs room. Breakfast was average, as mentioned here get in quick as it gets very busy.
Staff were really good and helpful in all ways.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Davejlewis,

Thank you for your review of our hotel! We are located ½ a mile from the main gate of Disneyland, which takes most guests about 10-15 minutes to walk from our property. There is also the option of the ART shuttle as you mentioned, for guests who choose not to walk. The ART shuttle which is provided by the city is $5 for adults and $2 for children for an all day pass. The shuttle picks up directly on our property about every 20 minutes and will take you right to the main gate.

We know that each of our guests have different preferences when it comes to room location. Some prefer an upper level room to have a more quiet experience, while others prefer a lower level room for ease of access to the grounds outdoors. We are happy to note any special requests from our guests regarding room location. Feel free to contact me directly at rsmith@rimhospitality.com, or call the front desk, and we are more than happy to see how we can best assist you.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope to see you on your next Disneyland trip!

Rachel Smith
Guest Service Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee WI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

When we first drove up, we were pleasantly surprised by the property. It looked to be cozy and relatively close to Disneyland. The staff at check in was pleasant. When we got to the room, we were a bit apprehensive. The rooms are definitely dated. While everything was very clean, it just looked tired. We were there over Easter/spring break, so the hotel was packed. We were also concerned about the noise from the neighbors and the traffic. However, that turned out to not be too bad. Given how busy the property was, breakfast was a ZOO! Kudos to the staff to always keep calm and pleasant. They worked really hard to keep up with waves and waves of guests. The walk to Disneyland was about three blocks. We thought of using the Anaheim Resort Transit, but decided to walk to the park. My seven year old needed a piggy back ride at the end of the day which was manageable. Overall, good property in terms of location and staff. The rooms need some updating.

Room Tip: I think if you get a room facing Disney Way & Clementine, you'd be able to see the nightly f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Calvynz,

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that our staff was a pleasant aspect of your stay. As you experienced, spring break is a very busy time for us. For your convenience, we allow guests to enjoy the sunshine and have their breakfast out in our patio area, poolside, or even take breakfast back to your room. Thank you for your recognition of our breakfast staff doing an excellent and speedy job in getting tables cleaned and ready for the next guests.

Since we are one of the more popular hotels in the area we do our best to keep our rooms in great shape as we see waves of guests come in and out. We have preventative maintenance procedures that our engineering staff takes on to avoid any potential problems that could occur anywhere on our property while we await our upcoming renovation. We appreciate your patience in this area.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you on your next trip to Anaheim!

Rachel Smith
Guest Service Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Grounds are attractive and nicely maintained. Rooms lived up to what I normally expect from the Residence Inn. Nicely decorated, good lighting in all the rooms, room insulated from noise and really clean. Bed was very comfortable. Pull out sofa bed was even reasonably comfortable. Internet worked at a decent speed so I could work in the evenings. Breakfast buffet had a large spread with hot food items including three waffle makers. Property had a pool. Items in the on site store were normal prices. So close to Disneyland there are a lot of families. Hotel offers an handy service of making a grocery run for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear christineo_sd,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am glad that you found our hotel to be a great place to stay whether your trip to Anaheim is for work or for pleasure.

It is great that you were able to get work done in your suite in the evenings by using our complimentary wireless internet. We also have a business center in the lobby of our hotel which is open 24 hours for guests who need to use a desktop computer, or need to print any documents. We also have a photocopy machine, fax machine, stamp machine and scanner located in our back office if you need any work of that sort to be done.

Thank you for doing such a wonderful job of stating some of the many amenities our hotel has to offer such as the complementary breakfast buffet every morning, our outdoor pool open 24 hours, our on-site market, and our complimentary grocery shopping service. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and I hope to see you on your next visit to Anaheim!


Rachel Smith
Guest Service Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We pulled a U-turn, seems everyone does, and pulled into a handy parking stall. There was lots of parking, though later we ended up just a wee walk away, < 1 min. Open lobby with a large dining area. Staff very helpful, some of the best on our trip. We had twin Queen beds, separated from the living/kitchen area. Nice size for both. All appliances, showers, etc worked fine. Phone retrieval for messages was a bit convoluted but it was sorted out. We were assigned a bottom unit just off the main driveway in. No traffic noise, though I would request a top floor unit next time.
Pool was OK, but a bit small, and they did have a hot tub.
Breakfasts were very good, excellent assortment of items, hot and cold. I grabbed a paper and sat outside which was a little more quite, as lots of kids.
They have a small market, no a lot of items, but do in a pinch, and not expensive.
A bit pricey but we decided our last few days would be in a little more luxury.

Room Tip: Take an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Britishcanadianeh,

Thank you for your detailed review. It sounds like you stayed in our One-Bedroom Suite, and I am glad you found it to be spacious enough for your family. There were a few issues you have encountered during your stay that I would like to address.

To keep up with technology and guest privacy, we have features established to assure messages are saved for our registered guests, and are cleared upon checkout. Please know if there are any challenges in retrieving voicemails, our trained staff is happy to be of assistance.

We know that everyone is different, and has special preferences when it comes to the location of their room. Some guests prefer the convenience of the ground floor room since it provides quick and easy access to our onsite playground, sports court, pool, and lobby, while others guests are lighter sleepers and prefer a second-floor room. Give us a call the morning of your arrival and we will do our best to coordinate your preferences with what we have available.

Please feel free to contact me directly at rsmith@rimhospitality.com for any special requests you may have for your future stay with us. Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Anaheim!

Rachel Smith
Guest Service Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forks, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

we were very happy with this property. We have a family of 5 and the room fit us well. Room was very clean. Staff was very nice and helpful. Bought our City Pass at their Disney Desk. We did not walk to Disney and just used the ART shuttle. We never had to wait more than 5 min for the shuttle and it was easy to use. We took advantage of the grocery shopping. Was nice to come back after a long day and have snacks and treats for everyone. Breakfast was perfect and also was able to use the evening social one night which they served nachos. Saved us $$ not having to buy dinner that night. Also loved the pool is open 24hrs. After a long day on our feet we took advantage of the hot tub and pool. Many other hotels close their pool area at 10pm. Close to car rentals and Gardenpark which has a very nice movie theater and great resturants. Would recommend this hotel for any family heading to Disney.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear my3sons2439,

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you regarded our hotel as a great choice for your visit to Disney. As you mentioned, we have a Disney-employed representative in our lobby from about 8am-8pm every day who can assist you with all of your Disney needs, from purchasing your Disneyland park-hopper tickets and your ART shuttle tickets, to purchasing your Southern California City Pass.

I’m glad you were able to take advantage of our complimentary grocery shopping service during your stay. It is a great opportunity to utilize the full size kitchens you have in your suite, and save some money by purchasing items from the grocery store rather than the resort itself. We go to Albertson’s every day and are happy to shop for our guests who need groceries. We will even drop it off in your room for you so you can have your items waiting for you when you get back from a long day.

Thank you again for your great review, and we hope to see you again soon!

Rachel Smith
Guest Service Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate

Address: 1700 S Clementine St, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#20 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique all suite condo style hotel located 1/2 mile from Disneyland. All suites have fully equipped kitchens & full size pull out sofa sleepers. We offer suites that can accommodate up to 8 people. We offer the following free amenities: breakfast, grocery shopping services, social hour, parking, internet, business center usage. Our guests have access to purchasing exclusive discounted park tickets through our on property Disney Desk. On property fire pit & BBQ Grills. Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.