We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate to your Saves list
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 S Clementine St, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #23 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Forks, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

we were very happy with this property. We have a family of 5 and the room fit us well. Room was very clean. Staff was very nice and helpful. Bought our City Pass at their Disney Desk. We did not walk to Disney and just used the ART shuttle. We never had to wait more than 5 min for the shuttle and it was easy to use. We took advantage of the grocery shopping. Was nice to come back after a long day and have snacks and treats for everyone. Breakfast was perfect and also was able to use the evening social one night which they served nachos. Saved us $$ not having to buy dinner that night. Also loved the pool is open 24hrs. After a long day on our feet we took advantage of the hot tub and pool. Many other hotels close their pool area at 10pm. Close to car rentals and Gardenpark which has a very nice movie theater and great resturants. Would recommend this hotel for any family heading to Disney.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear my3sons2439,

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you regarded our hotel as a great choice for your visit to Disney. As you mentioned, we have a Disney-employed representative in our lobby from about 8am-8pm every day who can assist you with all of your Disney needs, from purchasing your Disneyland park-hopper tickets and your ART shuttle tickets, to purchasing your Southern California City Pass.

I’m glad you were able to take advantage of our complimentary grocery shopping service during your stay. It is a great opportunity to utilize the full size kitchens you have in your suite, and save some money by purchasing items from the grocery store rather than the resort itself. We go to Albertson’s every day and are happy to shop for our guests who need groceries. We will even drop it off in your room for you so you can have your items waiting for you when you get back from a long day.

Thank you again for your great review, and we hope to see you again soon!

Rachel Smith
Guest Service Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    435
    122
    49
    31
See reviews for
809
79
8
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great value for family within blocks from Disneyland! In fact, it was so close and convenient that we came home for lunch everyday. Since it is a Disney hotel, you are eligible for magic mornings which is a plus. You can also avoid the lines at Disney and purchase your Disneyland tickets right at the hotel.

ATA Disneyland shuttle runs every 20 minutes for $5 per day for adults. With hot breakfast included ( watch the hours though... Ends at 9:30am during week), and kitchen, it is a great option to save a few dollars without the high priced Disney food. The pool, hot tub, and laundry room are all in good working order. Kids can sign out basketballs at front desk to play on small court.

We liked the "feel" of this hotel.... It was more like an apartment without the high rise elevator situation.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room away from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Rubenesque17,

Thank You for your excellent review of what we and many of our visitors affectionately call our “Home Away from Home.” As you mentioned, our condo-style, garden resort hotel is specially designed to provide comfortable and rejuvenating stay for all of our guests.

In addition to these great features, we are also an official Disneyland “Good Neighbor Hotel.” Because of our strong relationship to our Disney partners, we have special perks that include 1) On-site Disney Representative to answer all your resort questions, 2) Special Disney ticket options, including the unique “Magic Morning” entry tickets, 3) ART shuttle passes, and more!

Thank you for being our guest! We are happy you had a good experience and enjoyed the “feel” of our hotel.

Rachel Smith
Guest Service Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked this hotel last-minute after backing out of another hotel, and we're glad we did. While it is a little further from Disneyland than most, this allows the hotel to be quieter and more updated. We had a studio suite and had plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 kids. The kitchenette was awesome and the hotel overall was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is awesome and, while we were there, they also served dinner 2-3 times a week. The service from all the staff was great. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear NP839,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased to hear that our Studio Suite offered your family of four plenty of space, and that you had an overall great stay.
I am glad you had the opportunity to enjoy our evening social hour during your stay, which takes place every Monday and Wednesday from 5-7pm. We offer a nacho bar on Monday evenings and a BBQ of hot dogs, hamburgers, chips, and potato salad on Wednesday evenings.
We appreciate the opportunity you have given us to serve you, and I look forward to seeing you next time!

Rachel Smith
Guest Service Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western part
Level Contributor
218 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I had a difficult time rating this property because some things they do very well and some things they do very poorly.
If your purpose is to visit Disneyland, and particularly if you have a family, this hotel is a good choice. If you are going with your family and have to get work done over the net while they are having fun, then you might wish to re-examine your options.

Check in:
This hotel appears to be very busy and the housekeeping staff is very busy. Early check in is not likely unless you have been assigned a room that happens to have been cleaned, and early check in means 1:30, not in the morning when your plane arrives.

Breakfast:
Certainly adequate, but below what I've come to know as the "brand standard". They do not put quite enough batter in the cups for the waffles. This is not a horrible problem, but one wonders why they haven't figured this out yet.
There are other things available, including juice, cereals, breads, etc. Don't expect yogurts or individual chocolate milks. It is a reasonable breakfast, but pales in comparison to the Residence Inn near Disney World.

Rooms:
Dated but functional. This is an older generation Residence Inn. However, the housekeeping was superb (I did tip the housekeeping staff every day). The water pressure is a little less than optimal but generally good enough. However, with the Southern California water shortage, I expect a lot is wasted in getting hot water. There is a full sized fridge, oven, stove, microwave, toaster, etc. Some dishes were not clean and the ice tray was not clean. I fixed that, but do check!

Pool:
Not that big but seems to be adequate.

Transportation:
Anaheim Resort Transit has a stop right at the hotel (Route 7). It is also within walking distance of Disneyland.

Noise:
There was only one party during the stay. It went on for hours, including at 2 AM and they were aware of it but did not seem well equipped to deal with it at all.

Laundry:
Machines good. Supplies not well stocked. A fellow guest was helpful and shared hers.

Internet:
This hotel has one of the most screwed up internet setups I've ever encountered. They have Wi-Fi in the gatehouse which works well enough. They also have individual SSID's (wireless network names) for EACH ROOM. Apparently you are supposed to log into the one for your room, but if that doesn't work, you can log into anyone else's. They don't tell you this so if the node you are supposed to log into doesn't work then that's what you do. The thing is that most hotels with bad internet at least know their internet is bad. These guys think they have fixed it. Yes, it is nicely fast when no one is in the hotel. However, it is very bad when the hotel is full. I think people have given up complaining, the expected norm is bad internet in a hotel.

Anyway, it is a comfortable hotel. I liked the housekeeping staff. There are some things the hotel could improve, which is why I don't give it a top rating.

Room Tip: You will feel the fireworks in the rooms near Disney but it isn't in the middle of the night. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate is a great hotel for a family vacation to Disneyland. It is within walking distance of the park (about 15-20 minutes door-to door). A bus shuttle is also available every 20 minutes. They cater to families. The day begins with a great morning breakfast buffet. And then on to the theme parks. They also have a nice family pool. This is the second time that we have taken our grandchildren to this resort. The first time we had a two bedroom, two bath, one story living space with a kitchen, patio and family room. The second time we rented a two bedroom, two bath, two story penthouse living space. Both can sleep up to eight people. The staff is friendly and hard-working. I would recommend this hotel to families wishing to visit Disneyland.

Room Tip: For a large family, I would recommend the one story two bedroom room over the two story penthouse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Greg078,

I would like to start off by thanking you for coming back for a second visit!
It is great that you had the opportunity to experience our largest room types: the Penthouse Suite, and the Two-Bedroom suite, and that both were a great fit for you and your family.

As you mentioned, our complimentary hot buffet breakfast is a great way to start of your day; whether you are spending the day at Disneyland, heading over to the convention center, or whatever your plans may be, we are happy to help you start your day off right!

I also want to thank you for acknowledging the hard work and friendliness of our staff. We do our best to get to know our guests, so it is great to hear that we have exceeded your expectations in this area.

We appreciate your recommendations, and can’t wait to see you and the entire family for your third Disneyland trip!


Rachel Smith
Guest Service Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The suites are roomy, the service was great and staff were friendly. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk to Disneyland. The rooms were a bit on the pricey side, but worth the free breakfast and kitchenette which allowed us to prepare quick meals and snacks. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear R0TaNa,

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that our friendly staff and roomy hotel exceeded your expectations.

Although the price of our hotel may appear to be extravagant at first glance, we offer many amenities that come complimentary for our guests’ convenience. We offer complimentary breakfast every morning, complimentary on-site parking, complimentary wireless internet, a complimentary grocery shopping service, and a bi-weekly evening social hour, where we serve various evening snacks. Our rates are seasonal, and often fluctuate based upon the time of year and our expected occupancy.

Thank you for recommending us to your family and friends, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!


Rachel Smith
Guest Service Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed 7 nights, March 16-23 we had two minor complaints: 1. I booked this very early with only one request, early arrival. Wen the family and i arrived, our room was not ready, w were told to come back at 4... We made a little (very little) fuss and someone check that our room was actually ready so we were happy! 2. the times the cleaners come are early some days and latter others, we have a small one that needs naps so we tried to request a early cleaning one day, it was not possible to do this and it seamed like there was no communication between the staff (mostly front desk from what I can tell) The two problems we had were special request that are hard to do some times, We understand that, that is why I still will give this an EXCELLENT review. All the cleaning staff were the best! the free breakfast was good. We went to the three snack nights too, very nice extra. The room was perfect! Our kids loved the grounds! so nice to be able to walk to Disney in just 10 min. I would not stay anywhere else, this place is perfect.

Thank you to all the staff! we had a great time staying with you. :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear, andrewferg,

Thank you for your excellent review! We do our very best to accommodate early check-in for guests who request to do so. Please contact the front desk directly the morning of your arrival so that we can take a look at which rooms will be checking out, and can coordinate with housekeeping to accommodate your requests as best as we can.

I apologize for your difficulty in receiving assistance with your special requests. I assure you that is not typical of our staff. We appreciate your feedback as it gives us insight on what areas we can improve on from a valued guests’ perspective.

Feel free to contact me directly at rsmith@rimhospitality.com for assistance with any special requests you may have with your future stay. I look forward to seeing you and your family on your next visit to Anaheim!


Rachel Smith
Guest Service Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Anaheim Maingate
0.4 mi away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Anaheim - Resort Area
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate

Address: 1700 S Clementine St, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique all suite condo style hotel located 1/2 mile from Disneyland. All suites have fully equipped kitchens & full size pull out sofa sleepers. We offer suites that can accommodate up to 8 people. We offer the following free amenities: breakfast, grocery shopping services, social hour, parking, internet, business center usage. Our guests have access to purchasing exclusive discounted park tickets through our on property Disney Desk. On property fire pit & BBQ Grills. Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.