We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away at Disneyland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate to your Saves list
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 S Clementine St, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #26 of 114 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Home away at Disneyland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We recently stayed at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate during our trip to America in December 2012. The hotel is in a good location and is only one block back from Disney Way and is a short 15 minute walk to Disneyland and California Adventure Park. We stayed in the Loft room which was a 2 storey room with a King Bed upstairs and 2 Queen Beds in the second bedroom and had 2 bathrooms.If you have an upstairs room you can open the windows and let in fresh air, they have a lock on them so they can be left open at night also. We were able to prepare our own meals if we felt like it as we also had a full kitchen with oven, microwave and full size refrigerator.They also provided cutlery and crockery. The only complaint we had was that the table only had seating for 4 and we were a party of 5. We also had advantage of a dishwasher so no one had to stand and do dishes. The free Wi-Fi is also quite good.

Breakfast was included daily and we had a good selection of food from cereals to pancakes, waffles and french toast, bacon and eggs, toast and bagels. You are also able to take the food back to your room and eat at your own leisure, not a bad idea as sometimes the dining room got quite crowded.

We walked to Disneyland from the hotel but they do offer a shuttle bus that takes you to the gate also for a fee.

During the week on Mon, Wed and Fri the hotel organises theme nights and put on Pizza nights, Hot Dog nights etc, a chance to meet other guests.

Our room was near the pool and spa, but the noise did not affect us. We were also able to see the fireworks from Disneyland from our front door which was nice to watch each night.

There are some nice restaurants near by and we had dinner at The Cheesecake Factory one night which is very nice if a bit pricey but still reasonable.

If you are into shopping the Orange Outlets is the place to go, a large selection of shops with great prices.

We would recommend this hotel to our friends and would most likely stay there again for the convenience of the self catering and able to have 5-6 people in the room which is not always available at most hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs as you can then leave the windows open to let in fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear samprejumpa,


How did you enjoy your trip to America?! It sure looks like you were able to check out a lot of what the Anaheim Resort area has to offer. Thank you for mentioning some of the amenities, restaurants and shopping guests can do when they visit our location. What many guests, like yourself, really enjoy are the complimentary social hours that we host on Mondays, Wednesdays and every other Fridays. These snacks include nachos, hotdogs/hamburgers, salad, potato salad, cheese and crackers, veggie and dip, soft pretzels and much more.


I also noticed that you mentioned the Orange Outlets just down the way from us. This mall offers a large amount of stores to shop from as well as a movie theatre and a few eateries. However, the Gardenwalk which is located just across the street from us has a variety of restaurants such as California Pizza Kitchen, Cheesecake Factory, Bubba Gump Shrimp, P.F. Changs and many more.


Thank you for all of your future recommendations. I hope that you will take a trip back down here very soon!


“Suite” Regards,

Kimberly Rosales
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    423
    112
    47
    30
See reviews for
767
77
7
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

This was a great place to stay for our recent trip to Disneyland. There was a Disney desk right inside the lobby where we purchased our park tickets and shuttle tickets. We originally planned to walk to the park, but saw how convenient the shuttle was to take. It was $14 for unlimited trips per day for 2 adults and 2 kids. It was well worth it!! Breakfast (included in room rate) at hotel was super busy, but so nice to have before heading over to park. Room was great. Definitely will stay here again when we come back to Disneyland!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Fuzzle6,


Thank you so much for your review on our hotel. It seems that you found many of the amenities offered on property very helpful during your stay. The Disney Representative that is on property has information about the Disney parks and sells tickets for: the shuttle, Disney dining and the parks themselves. Although there is no price difference between here and the park, the convenience of the desk saves a lot of time instead of having to wait in long lines.

Thank you again for your review!


We can’t wait to see you back for your next vacation!


“Suite” Regards,

Kimberly Rosales
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Residence Inn was comfortable and a short stay away from Disneyland. The room was clean and the breakfast was good. The shuttle service to the resort was also convenient. Our room was close to the pool and clubhouse and i was worried it may be noisy but it was very quiet. The staff were extremely courteous as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Anith R,


Thank you very much for your short and sweet review! It’s great to see that you enjoyed our complimentary full hot buffet breakfast. This meal is full of a selection of meats, eggs, home-style potatoes’, hot/cold cereals, make your own waffles and much more; it is also bound to get families up and energized for a long day at Disney.


Thank you again for your wonderful comments and we cannot wait to see you back very soon!


"Suite" Regards,


Kimberly Rosales
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Likes:

Warm Swimming Pool (in December)
Free Breakfast
Units with Kitchen
Unit with Multiple Beds
Can take Pumba Shuttle to the Park
Can walk to the park
There's a good safe in the room.

Dislikes:
About 200 Yards farther from the park than would make it super convenient.
Getting a little old (though I like Residence Inn, and would probably stay again)
Sketchy Wi-Fi

Details:
The free Wi-Fi is a nice amenity, but it is a little sketchy, could use an upgrade.

It's close to the Garden Walk Mall. We never went there because we were either in the parks or out and about. We went to see a movie at the Block at Orange instead of the theater at Garden Walk (or walking to Downtown Disney).

The finishings are not top of the line. It loks like a hotel that needs a makeover (to be in the top tier of Residence Inns). They don't treat this like a business location so it is a bit threadbare.

The cleaning staff were very nice and did a good job coming in to clean late (when we went to the parks) every day except Xmas eve.

I never got to enjoy the breakfasts (I was sleeping-in on vacation). My wife brought back some fried potatoes but we really had better food in the room anyway.

We brought some of our own kitchen supplies because we live within driving distance. We went out and bought a decent knife at Walmart, though a sharpener might have done the trick.

Can you walk to Disneyland from here? Sure, but it takes 15 minutes. You can take the Pumba shuttle back if that lot is open (busy days at the park). One day we did a drop off at the park with our car and it saved a few minutes.

So would I stay here again, yes, but, I would look at the other options too. For a room with multiple beds and a kitchen walking distance to Disneyland, it was the best I could find.

Room Tip: We found the rooms near the lobby/check-in to be the best location, near the pool and breakfast etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear hscohn,


Thank you very much for your information filled review. I appreciate you taking the time to list some of the likes and dislikes of your stay. With that being said, I would like to take this time to address some of the dislikes that you mentioned:

• Distance to Disney: Our property is about a short 10-15 minute walk to the park which is equivalent to a half of a mile. We understand that the walk can be tiring after a long day at the park which is why the city of Anaheim offers shuttle transportation that runs daily at a small fee of $5 for adults and $2 for children ages 3-9 years old.
• Property: Because our hotel is over 30 years old it is clear that the property has experienced its share of wear and tear. That being said, our preventative maintenance team is taking the time to treat rooms that are beginning to show their age. We are currently working on ways to improving our property for the sake of the hotel and our guests.
• WIFI: The complimentary WIFI that we offer is a secure network that is called Ethostream. We recently switched networks from an open line which was called Residence Inn to a secured network which is now Ethostream. Often times guest get the networks mistaken which causes the mix-up in connections. Rest assured that I will notify my team to be more clear on which networks to connect to in the future.


I hope that some of the information I explained above clears any concern or confusion. If you have any other questions or concerns please feel free to contact me at krosales@rimhospitality.com


“Suite” Regards,


Kimberly Rosales
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

So this place was clean, however it was also well used. Furniture was ripped and stained, the decor was dated and if you stay on a lower level it is quite noisy!!! For familys I understand the appeal but for couples not so much. The free breakfast was like the rest I have had and would not recommend. The pool was fairly clean and they also have laundry. The location is still to far to walk to disneyland and the ART stops right beside the hotel every 20 minutes or so. All in all it was ok.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Loloey,


We appreciate your recent stay with us. It has become clear to us that our property has experienced much ware and tare throughout the years. With that being said, our management has set up an improvement plan for our property in 2013. This plan will address some of the issues you have discussed as far as our rooms.


Disneyland is located about a half of a mile away which is equivalent to a 10-15 minute walk. The Anaheim Resort Transit plays a huge part in transporting guests from here to the park. At only a small fee of $5 for adults and $2 for children ages 3-9 the all day pass is perfect after a long day at Disney.


We hope to be able to accommodate you in the near future.


“Suite” Regards,


Kimberly Rosales
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our family of four (2 kids, ages 7 and 4) stayed at the Residence Inn Maingate for five days in July 2012 for our very first family vacation, and our sons' first time at Disneyland.

Check-in was quick and easy (a plus for 4 VERY tired travelers), allowing us to get to our room fast so that we could relax and unwind. The room was sparkling clean and fully stocked with more than enough pillows and blankets for everyone, and extras for the sofa-bed. We loved that the cupboards were full of glasses, mugs, dishes, pots and pans and even tupperware. Another unexpected benefit was the shopping service, which we used once. For no extra charge, you can leave a shopping list on the table in your room, and when you get back at the end of your day at Disney, your groceries are put away and ready for you :)

The breakfast was absolutely outstanding!! It was definitely busy, and we highly recommend getting there bright and early. The selection was amazing for the three days we were there. We enjoyed each morning with make-your-own waffles fresh from the hot iron (the kids LOVED this!), scrambled eggs, hash browns, sausage patties, ham slices, pancakes, fresh fruit, bagels, muffins and other pastries. There was even a large bowl of strawberry fruit topping (the canned variety) which I used on my waffles :) There was plenty of other toppings available, including cream cheese spread, butter, jam and of course maple syrup. There were cold cereals (corn flakes, frosted flakes, Cheerios and honey-nut Cheerios when we stayed), hot oatmeal with nuts and raisins for topping, and cold milk, as well as a coffee station with creamer, sugar and sugar substitutes of various sorts. Everything that was supposed to be hot was piping hot, and the pastries and bread items were fresh and never hard or stale. We really can't say enough about the breakfast here--it really was a big plus for us to start each day before heading into the Disney parks, even for a very picky 4-year-old. I can't thank Residence Inn enough for this amazing breakfast :D

The shuttle to Disneyland comes about every 25-35 minutes, and was very nice :) The wait time for the shuttle at closing time was not bad at all, and we were able to drag our tired selves back to our room in little time at all when we were through with a day of fun! The beds were VERY comfortable and clean, and were always made up for us when we returned at night. Our boys enjoyed the pool and hot tub area, which was very clean.

The entire property was very well kept and clean, which we loved :) The lobbies were also sparkling clean, and the sitting area by the business/internet desks was very comfortable and quiet. There is on-site laundry facilities, which we used to wash all our clothes before heading home to Oregon. Our room also included a fire-log in the fireplace, so on our last night there we made up the sofa-bed, lit a fire and our boys snuggled up and watched Disney shows and had popcorn. This was our very first family vacation, and it couldn't have been better! Thanks again to the staff of the Residence Inn Maingate for helping to make our stay truly magical. Our boys had a fabulous time, and they won't ever forget it. We'll definitely stay here again next time we head to Disneyland!!

Room Tip: Get a room close to the main office, and you can walk to the property's edge to view Disney'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear ChristinaWard_2012,


This was such a wonderful review to read! It truly sounds like your family enjoyed an amazing first vacation together. How did your sons enjoy Disneyland?


It seems as though you enjoyed our complimentary full buffet breakfast. This amenity is one of the most popular out of all the suites that we offer; that is because it saves families a great amount of money a day. Another reason is because of the wide selection that we offer, I suggest trying the “make your own” waffles!


Thank you for the comments on the up keeping of our property. We take maintaining the grounds of our property very important. There is a landscaper on site every day making sure everything is well kept. All team members also play a huge part in the tidiness of the hotel in every department!


It is a pleasure to read that you will be back to our property the next time you visit Disney. We cannot wait to see you again!


“Suite’ Regards,


Kimberly Rosales
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We checked in late because we found traffic driving from San Francisco.

We really wanted to go to bed as soon as possible to enjoy the park rides the day after.

We booked the room on Expedia for 4 people, 2 adults and 2 children, 14 and 9. The second bed of the room that we were given was not prepared. We pulled it out from the sofa and there were no blanket and no pillow anywhere in the room for the extra bed. It was about midnight so we gave our kids our pillows and then called the front desk for two pillows. After three calls and an in person visit to the front desk, we got the pillows 40 minutes later. During the day it would have been OK, but after 8 hours drive at midnight it wasn't fun to wait 40 minutes for the pillows. The pillows were delivered by a handyman who was carrying another two pillows and a blanket. No cart, nothing, everything "hugged" by him with his hands (you get the scene). We thought that the blanket was for us, and he said: what are you talking about? And left immediately. I went back to my car and took our own blankets.

In addition: hotel is way overrated. I have trusted Tripadvisor in the past, but for this hotel the rating is flawed. The bathroom is pathetic, hospital-like plastic floors, seat and bathtub. The main bed (remember, we booked a suite) is a full bed (not even a queen). The JFK airport makes less noise that the air conditioning around the property. So if you have difficulties sleeping I do not recommend this hotel.

Location is great although not within walking distance to Disneyland. Suite floor space is decent although once the sofa bed is opened moving around becomes challenging.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Giovanni B.,

I am sorry for the confusion with your accommodations. I see your reservation is for the Studio Suite, which has one queen bed and one full size sofa sleeper. The queen bed comes with three pillows, a set of sheets and a comforter. The sofa sleeper comes equipped with a set of sheets, but the pillow and blanket are set in the front closet. I apologize for the delay in the delivery of your extra pillows. I have spoken with our laundry attendant about the importance of delivering guest requests in a timely manner. On that note, according to our request log your request was only for pillows so the blanket the attendant was carrying must have been requested by another guest. Had you requested extra blankets we would have been more than pleased to send them to you.

As for your issues with your room, per our conversation this morning we have found you another suite on the top floor that better meets your request for a quiet room. The room you had last night had an accessible bathroom, but the room we have relocated you to this morning has the standard tub without the seat.

You also commented on our proximity to the park. We do not mean to mislead anyone. Our hotel is located a half mile from Disneyland. This distance translates into a 10-15 minute walk for most guests. Some guests prefer not to walk the half mile so they choose to utilize the Anaheim Resort Transit, which picks up on our property every 20 minutes.

Seeing as though you are scheduled to be a guest with us for the next three nights, I want to make sure the rest of your stay is more accommodating to your needs. If you have any additional requests please notify the Front Desk or contact me directly at extension 219.

All the best,

Roger Rodriguez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate

Address: 1700 S Clementine St, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#27 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique all suite condo style hotel located 1/2 mile from Disneyland. All suites have fully equipped kitchens & full size pull out sofa sleepers. We offer suites that can accommodate up to 8 people. We offer the following free amenities: breakfast, grocery shopping services, social hour, parking, internet, business center usage. Our guests have access to purchasing exclusive discounted park tickets through our on property Disney Desk. On property fire pit & BBQ Grills. Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.