We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 S Clementine St, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #21 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Residence Inn was comfortable and a short stay away from Disneyland. The room was clean and the breakfast was good. The shuttle service to the resort was also convenient. Our room was close to the pool and clubhouse and i was worried it may be noisy but it was very quiet. The staff were extremely courteous as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Anith R,


Thank you very much for your short and sweet review! It’s great to see that you enjoyed our complimentary full hot buffet breakfast. This meal is full of a selection of meats, eggs, home-style potatoes’, hot/cold cereals, make your own waffles and much more; it is also bound to get families up and energized for a long day at Disney.


Thank you again for your wonderful comments and we cannot wait to see you back very soon!


"Suite" Regards,


Kimberly Rosales
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    385
    104
    40
    27
See reviews for
712
67
6
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Likes:

Warm Swimming Pool (in December)
Free Breakfast
Units with Kitchen
Unit with Multiple Beds
Can take Pumba Shuttle to the Park
Can walk to the park
There's a good safe in the room.

Dislikes:
About 200 Yards farther from the park than would make it super convenient.
Getting a little old (though I like Residence Inn, and would probably stay again)
Sketchy Wi-Fi

Details:
The free Wi-Fi is a nice amenity, but it is a little sketchy, could use an upgrade.

It's close to the Garden Walk Mall. We never went there because we were either in the parks or out and about. We went to see a movie at the Block at Orange instead of the theater at Garden Walk (or walking to Downtown Disney).

The finishings are not top of the line. It loks like a hotel that needs a makeover (to be in the top tier of Residence Inns). They don't treat this like a business location so it is a bit threadbare.

The cleaning staff were very nice and did a good job coming in to clean late (when we went to the parks) every day except Xmas eve.

I never got to enjoy the breakfasts (I was sleeping-in on vacation). My wife brought back some fried potatoes but we really had better food in the room anyway.

We brought some of our own kitchen supplies because we live within driving distance. We went out and bought a decent knife at Walmart, though a sharpener might have done the trick.

Can you walk to Disneyland from here? Sure, but it takes 15 minutes. You can take the Pumba shuttle back if that lot is open (busy days at the park). One day we did a drop off at the park with our car and it saved a few minutes.

So would I stay here again, yes, but, I would look at the other options too. For a room with multiple beds and a kitchen walking distance to Disneyland, it was the best I could find.

Room Tip: We found the rooms near the lobby/check-in to be the best location, near the pool and breakfast etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear hscohn,


Thank you very much for your information filled review. I appreciate you taking the time to list some of the likes and dislikes of your stay. With that being said, I would like to take this time to address some of the dislikes that you mentioned:

• Distance to Disney: Our property is about a short 10-15 minute walk to the park which is equivalent to a half of a mile. We understand that the walk can be tiring after a long day at the park which is why the city of Anaheim offers shuttle transportation that runs daily at a small fee of $5 for adults and $2 for children ages 3-9 years old.
• Property: Because our hotel is over 30 years old it is clear that the property has experienced its share of wear and tear. That being said, our preventative maintenance team is taking the time to treat rooms that are beginning to show their age. We are currently working on ways to improving our property for the sake of the hotel and our guests.
• WIFI: The complimentary WIFI that we offer is a secure network that is called Ethostream. We recently switched networks from an open line which was called Residence Inn to a secured network which is now Ethostream. Often times guest get the networks mistaken which causes the mix-up in connections. Rest assured that I will notify my team to be more clear on which networks to connect to in the future.


I hope that some of the information I explained above clears any concern or confusion. If you have any other questions or concerns please feel free to contact me at krosales@rimhospitality.com


“Suite” Regards,


Kimberly Rosales
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

So this place was clean, however it was also well used. Furniture was ripped and stained, the decor was dated and if you stay on a lower level it is quite noisy!!! For familys I understand the appeal but for couples not so much. The free breakfast was like the rest I have had and would not recommend. The pool was fairly clean and they also have laundry. The location is still to far to walk to disneyland and the ART stops right beside the hotel every 20 minutes or so. All in all it was ok.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Loloey,


We appreciate your recent stay with us. It has become clear to us that our property has experienced much ware and tare throughout the years. With that being said, our management has set up an improvement plan for our property in 2013. This plan will address some of the issues you have discussed as far as our rooms.


Disneyland is located about a half of a mile away which is equivalent to a 10-15 minute walk. The Anaheim Resort Transit plays a huge part in transporting guests from here to the park. At only a small fee of $5 for adults and $2 for children ages 3-9 the all day pass is perfect after a long day at Disney.


We hope to be able to accommodate you in the near future.


“Suite” Regards,


Kimberly Rosales
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our family of four (2 kids, ages 7 and 4) stayed at the Residence Inn Maingate for five days in July 2012 for our very first family vacation, and our sons' first time at Disneyland.

Check-in was quick and easy (a plus for 4 VERY tired travelers), allowing us to get to our room fast so that we could relax and unwind. The room was sparkling clean and fully stocked with more than enough pillows and blankets for everyone, and extras for the sofa-bed. We loved that the cupboards were full of glasses, mugs, dishes, pots and pans and even tupperware. Another unexpected benefit was the shopping service, which we used once. For no extra charge, you can leave a shopping list on the table in your room, and when you get back at the end of your day at Disney, your groceries are put away and ready for you :)

The breakfast was absolutely outstanding!! It was definitely busy, and we highly recommend getting there bright and early. The selection was amazing for the three days we were there. We enjoyed each morning with make-your-own waffles fresh from the hot iron (the kids LOVED this!), scrambled eggs, hash browns, sausage patties, ham slices, pancakes, fresh fruit, bagels, muffins and other pastries. There was even a large bowl of strawberry fruit topping (the canned variety) which I used on my waffles :) There was plenty of other toppings available, including cream cheese spread, butter, jam and of course maple syrup. There were cold cereals (corn flakes, frosted flakes, Cheerios and honey-nut Cheerios when we stayed), hot oatmeal with nuts and raisins for topping, and cold milk, as well as a coffee station with creamer, sugar and sugar substitutes of various sorts. Everything that was supposed to be hot was piping hot, and the pastries and bread items were fresh and never hard or stale. We really can't say enough about the breakfast here--it really was a big plus for us to start each day before heading into the Disney parks, even for a very picky 4-year-old. I can't thank Residence Inn enough for this amazing breakfast :D

The shuttle to Disneyland comes about every 25-35 minutes, and was very nice :) The wait time for the shuttle at closing time was not bad at all, and we were able to drag our tired selves back to our room in little time at all when we were through with a day of fun! The beds were VERY comfortable and clean, and were always made up for us when we returned at night. Our boys enjoyed the pool and hot tub area, which was very clean.

The entire property was very well kept and clean, which we loved :) The lobbies were also sparkling clean, and the sitting area by the business/internet desks was very comfortable and quiet. There is on-site laundry facilities, which we used to wash all our clothes before heading home to Oregon. Our room also included a fire-log in the fireplace, so on our last night there we made up the sofa-bed, lit a fire and our boys snuggled up and watched Disney shows and had popcorn. This was our very first family vacation, and it couldn't have been better! Thanks again to the staff of the Residence Inn Maingate for helping to make our stay truly magical. Our boys had a fabulous time, and they won't ever forget it. We'll definitely stay here again next time we head to Disneyland!!

Room Tip: Get a room close to the main office, and you can walk to the property's edge to view Disney'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear ChristinaWard_2012,


This was such a wonderful review to read! It truly sounds like your family enjoyed an amazing first vacation together. How did your sons enjoy Disneyland?


It seems as though you enjoyed our complimentary full buffet breakfast. This amenity is one of the most popular out of all the suites that we offer; that is because it saves families a great amount of money a day. Another reason is because of the wide selection that we offer, I suggest trying the “make your own” waffles!


Thank you for the comments on the up keeping of our property. We take maintaining the grounds of our property very important. There is a landscaper on site every day making sure everything is well kept. All team members also play a huge part in the tidiness of the hotel in every department!


It is a pleasure to read that you will be back to our property the next time you visit Disney. We cannot wait to see you again!


“Suite’ Regards,


Kimberly Rosales
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We checked in late because we found traffic driving from San Francisco.

We really wanted to go to bed as soon as possible to enjoy the park rides the day after.

We booked the room on Expedia for 4 people, 2 adults and 2 children, 14 and 9. The second bed of the room that we were given was not prepared. We pulled it out from the sofa and there were no blanket and no pillow anywhere in the room for the extra bed. It was about midnight so we gave our kids our pillows and then called the front desk for two pillows. After three calls and an in person visit to the front desk, we got the pillows 40 minutes later. During the day it would have been OK, but after 8 hours drive at midnight it wasn't fun to wait 40 minutes for the pillows. The pillows were delivered by a handyman who was carrying another two pillows and a blanket. No cart, nothing, everything "hugged" by him with his hands (you get the scene). We thought that the blanket was for us, and he said: what are you talking about? And left immediately. I went back to my car and took our own blankets.

In addition: hotel is way overrated. I have trusted Tripadvisor in the past, but for this hotel the rating is flawed. The bathroom is pathetic, hospital-like plastic floors, seat and bathtub. The main bed (remember, we booked a suite) is a full bed (not even a queen). The JFK airport makes less noise that the air conditioning around the property. So if you have difficulties sleeping I do not recommend this hotel.

Location is great although not within walking distance to Disneyland. Suite floor space is decent although once the sofa bed is opened moving around becomes challenging.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Giovanni B.,

I am sorry for the confusion with your accommodations. I see your reservation is for the Studio Suite, which has one queen bed and one full size sofa sleeper. The queen bed comes with three pillows, a set of sheets and a comforter. The sofa sleeper comes equipped with a set of sheets, but the pillow and blanket are set in the front closet. I apologize for the delay in the delivery of your extra pillows. I have spoken with our laundry attendant about the importance of delivering guest requests in a timely manner. On that note, according to our request log your request was only for pillows so the blanket the attendant was carrying must have been requested by another guest. Had you requested extra blankets we would have been more than pleased to send them to you.

As for your issues with your room, per our conversation this morning we have found you another suite on the top floor that better meets your request for a quiet room. The room you had last night had an accessible bathroom, but the room we have relocated you to this morning has the standard tub without the seat.

You also commented on our proximity to the park. We do not mean to mislead anyone. Our hotel is located a half mile from Disneyland. This distance translates into a 10-15 minute walk for most guests. Some guests prefer not to walk the half mile so they choose to utilize the Anaheim Resort Transit, which picks up on our property every 20 minutes.

Seeing as though you are scheduled to be a guest with us for the next three nights, I want to make sure the rest of your stay is more accommodating to your needs. If you have any additional requests please notify the Front Desk or contact me directly at extension 219.

All the best,

Roger Rodriguez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We are from Warwick, Queensland Australia and we stayed here 3 years ago and we have just stayed here again between 2nd and 8th December 2012. This time we had a bi-level penthouse suite for our family of 3 plus our parents. We had ample room to all move around freely and still have privacy when we needed it. The breakfasts were great and kept us going well for our days at Disneyland. It is located conveniently to Disneyland only a 5 minute walk, quiet away from the main road where the other hotels are located so that there are always people and traffic to contend with. At this hotel we had none of this. The staff were brilliant, our son came down with the flu and we asked about locations for medical assistance. When we got back to our room later that day there was a care package on our table from the girls at the front desk with chicken noodles, a cold pack and pack of cough lollies for him with a note hoping that this would help him feel better. Not many hotels would think of helping out like that. I suggest that you do yourself a favour and stay at this hotel when visiting Disneyland we will certainly be back again in the future. Well done Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, keep up the great work!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Venice N,


Wow! What a great review to read! First and foremost, I hope that your son is feeling much better; it is an unfortunate feeling to under the weather during vacation. It brings me great pleasure to know that my front desk team went out of their way to make sure your son felt better. It is in our best interest to go above and beyond your expectations!


The Penthouse suite is perfect for large families. As you mentioned, the suite gives you not only plenty of room, but also plenty of privacy. The suite comes with a king loft upstairs and two queen beds in the downstairs bedroom. You also can’t forget about the living room area with sofa sleeper and our fully equipped kitchenettes.


Cheers to Australia and hope to see you back soon!


“Suite” Regards,


Kimberly Rosales
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We are a family of 4 and stayed for 3 nights in the penthouse suite.
It worked very well for us as we were slightly jet lagged and allowed us to have enough space and to decide when each wanted to sleep and when each couldn't!
The availability of the kitchen allowed us to buy take away from the Chinese Panda restaurant and eat in the comfort of our room, not to mention keep and reheat leftovers.
They provided pop corn in the room and the big fridge allowed us to buy milk, ice cream, and fruit for our stay. Coffee and tea were provided, Paul Mitchell toiletries and daily breakfast completed the picture.
We enjoyed the hearty breakfast provided daily. Busy as expected but no real issues getting a table and enough food. The scrambled eggs were probably made from liquid eggs but they had texture and were very tasty and smelt like eggs! The ham and bacon as well as the sausages were salty and greasy but hey! they tasted great!!!! My favourite was the self make pancakes and the lovely canned strawberries that I couldn't get enough of. Free flow juice, coffee and tea were at hand too. I don't know what more you could ask for with a free breakfast. One of the nights we had 3 extra people in the room as we had visitors from San Diego (legit as the room allows up to 8) and they enjoyed breakfast with us too, no issues.
Thought it would be too cold for an outdoor pool but they keep it very warm so we had a swim and enjoyed it thoroughly, in late NOV!
Last but not least we WERE there for Disneyland. Having the desk at the hotel was a big plus for us being from Australia. The ladies at the desk were very patient and helpful explaining all our options to us. We weren't sure if we wanted the 3 or 4 day pass and they said we could start with the shorter one and extend if we felt we needed more time, and yet pay only the price of the longer pass then. My kids who were not jet lagged took the City Pass that got them into Universal Studios and Sea World as well. Transport to both were also arranged through the desk and made it hassle free for us.
If you need transport from and to the LAX, try 4 Most Coach, a small private company that provided us with excellent service whom we found on line.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear aussiegirl14,


I am so glad you had such an enjoyable stay with us! It’s great to read that our suites accommodated your family well. The full kitchenettes allow families to save time and money by cooking in their own room. Also, as you mentioned, because there is an oven and a microwave reheating leftover foods is simple and easy!


The 24-hour pool is open 7 days a week and heated at 83 degrees! We typically see many of our friends from Canada and up north enjoying the luxury of the heated pool year round. The hot tub and kiddie pool are also very popular amongst our guests. I am also glad that the onsite Disney desk representative was very helpful. Not only do they provide plenty of information of both Disney parks but they also sell the shuttle and Disney passes as well.


I can guarantee we will expect a visit from you back soon!


“Suite” Regards,


Kimberly Rosales
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate

Address: 1700 S Clementine St, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#21 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#25 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique all suite condo style hotel located 1/2 mile from Disneyland. All suites have fully equipped kitchens & full size pull out sofa sleepers. We offer suites that can accommodate up to 8 people. We offer the following free amenities: breakfast, grocery shopping services, social hour, parking, internet, business center usage. Our guests have access to purchasing exclusive discounted park tickets through our on property Disney Desk. On property fire pit & BBQ Grills. Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.